Quote from: From the Bunker on September 04, 2013, 10:53:17 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on September 04, 2013, 10:35:27 PM
Quote from: ardal on September 04, 2013, 10:00:56 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2013, 08:58:42 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 26, 2013, 11:59:02 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on August 26, 2013, 11:23:22 AM
Will all of Galway and Roscommon really be supporting Mayo in the final?

No. Neither will all of Sligo. lawnseed won't either so that's all Armagh out of the equation as well.
[/b

Lawnseed an Armagh man! Feck I always call him a Tyroneman.

First of ignore the comments about Lawnweed; I'm sure he's not from Macha's county, pretty sure he's from elsewhere.

Can anybody really see the Dubs not thrashing Mayo?

I'm an anti Dub, so have looked at Mayo for a wee few bob since the league, but shall pull the stake in now I think.

I am sure your are winding us up but I'll give you an honest answer anyway.

Most Mayo people obviously believe we can win or that we can be at least be competitive but history does point towards the Dubs having this in the bag inside 20 mins.

Personally I think we can win with a bit of luck but would still be apprehensive about the first quarter because of what happened last year and in the semi against Tyrone this year.

I'm afraid that what happened in the first 25 minutes against Tyrone was we got a game, something we only got for 15 minutes before in our game against Roscommon. By seeing this as a weakness does not give credit to a very disciplined Tyrone outfit.

I would even bother trying to justify anything we have or haven t done.

The old rule of thumb applies - ' if you have to explain stuff you re losing'.

Ye can explain all ye want but these guys will never, ever rate or respect a Mayo football team.

Quote from: moysider on September 04, 2013, 11:16:30 PM
these guys will never, ever rate or respect a Mayo football team.
I think most rate Mayo highly nowadays however a high rating won't be enough to win All Ireland.
No matter how many semi finals are won or defending champions are beaten some neutral supporters will always see Mayo as the side that lose All Ireland finals. Defeat Dublin in the All Ireland final and plenty of respect will come Mayos way. Remember respect isn't given out, it's earned.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 05, 2013, 12:03:12 AM
I think most rate Mayo highly nowadays however a high rating won't be enough to win All Ireland.
No matter how many semi finals are won or defending champions are beaten some neutral supporters will always see Mayo as the side that lose All Ireland finals. Defeat Dublin in the All Ireland final and plenty of respect will come Mayos way. Remember respect isn't given out, it's earned.

That's it! Win an AI and you can scoff at the chasing bunch! Lose and you are the chasing bunch. You may be at the top of the chasing bunch. but what good is that to you. you are still looking in with the chasing bunch.

Horseshit of the highest order. Absolute shite.
Yeah I know the old mantra. Second place is the biggest loser.

If that is your angle, so be it. People say Seán Kelly was shite on a bike because he didn t win The Tour!

If we have to beat Dublin to get respect........... Jesus wept. I think Mayo ve given a lot to the game down the years without having to go through this interrigation again. Despite a lot of smashings ( a lot of our own doing I admit) we keep coming back for more. Apart from Cork and Kilkenny how many counties get kids and a senior team into finals the same day.

Y know, I couldn t give a f**k if you never respect my county. It doesn t matter.

Quote from: moysider on September 05, 2013, 12:27:56 AM

If that is your angle, so be it. People say Seán Kelly was shite on a bike because he didn t win The Tour!

If we have to beat Dublin to get respect........... Jesus wept. I think Mayo ve given a lot to the game down the years without having to go through this interrigation again. Despite a lot of smashings ( a lot of our own doing I admit) we keep coming back for more. Apart from Cork and Kilkenny how many counties get kids and a senior team into finals the same day.

Y know, I couldn t give a f**k if you never respect my county. It doesn t matter.

If you couldn't give a f**k why the rant? it's not what i think however it's the way some neutral supporters will always see it, the Jimmy White of GAA if you will.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 05, 2013, 12:38:59 AM

If you couldn't give a f**k why the rant? it's not what i think however it's the way some neutral supporters will always see it, the Jimmy White of GAA if you will.

So Jimmy White had no respect?
This Mayo team can not win finals lost in the past. This AI is at best a 50/50 game for us. Ye can do a lot right and still lose a game like this. Does that mean the loser has no dignity? Mayo teams that lost AIs in the past still brought a lot to the game. Like the semi in 06. McDonald s displays on beaten teams. There s only one winner in any year. Is every other team muck?

The rant is because I m sick of neutrals being sick about us being there again ruining their big day out.

Quote from: moysider on September 05, 2013, 01:43:14 AM
So Jimmy White had no respect?
This Mayo team can not win finals lost in the past. This AI is at best a 50/50 game for us. Ye can do a lot right and still lose a game like this. Does that mean the loser has no dignity? Mayo teams that lost AIs in the past still brought a lot to the game. Like the semi in 06. McDonald s displays on beaten teams. There s only one winner in any year. Is every other team muck?

The rant is because I m sick of neutrals being sick about us being there again ruining their big day out.

People forget how well Jimmy White did to reach all those finals however he will forever be remembered as the player that couldn't win the big finals.

This is now Mayos seventh All Ireland final since 1989 law of average would suggest you should win one eventually and i think most All Ireland finals are 50/50. The thing is if you lose another All Ireland final you won't be seen as muck far from it however in the years ahead some neutrals will only remember Mayo for one thing.

But sure every team comes back for more every year.

As regards respect- you don't have the respect of the commentators in the media circles because you're 50 years without one.

Is Sean Kelly rated in the same vein as Roche (leaving all chemicals etc aside ;)- despite being the better cyclist. probably not if we're honest about it.

Quote from: INDIANA on September 05, 2013, 07:31:45 AM

Is Sean Kelly rated in the same vein as Roche (leaving all chemicals etc aside ;)- despite being the better cyclist. probably not if we're honest about it.

Not a great analogy, Kelly is considered better than Roche

Michael Schmeichal

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 04, 2013, 06:23:42 PM
Less chance of seeing those Hill 16 - "The City that defeated an empire" jerseys..

Sure you could ask them wearing that Jersey where the name Jackeens comes from for the Dubs as they as so fond of shouting it,

When the Queen Victoria came to dublin back in 1900, a crowd of dublin people waved union jacks as she passed through the street, and hence were given the name Jackeens!!

"When we got into Dublin the mass of people wedged together in the street and every window, even on the roofs, was quite remarkable. Although I have seen many visits of this kind, nothing has ever approached the enthusiasm and even frenzy displayed by the people of Dublin."

The same lads might also tell you that the vast majority of volunteers killed in the 1916 rising were from Dublin. The T shirts are certain;ly cringeworthy but there is an element of truth in them

You mean the rising that had (virtually zero public support and defeated nobody?
If that's the case then the t-shirt has zero truth

In fairness I think some Mayo poster should regale us with the Mayo contribution to the 1916 rising.

Quote from: Canalman on September 05, 2013, 10:11:33 AM
In fairness I think some Mayo poster should regale us with the Mayo contribution to the 1916 rising.

We already est. our own Irish Republic in 1798, with the national capital at Castlebar.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 05, 2013, 10:23:31 AM
Quote from: Canalman on September 05, 2013, 10:11:33 AM

We already est. our own Irish Republic in 1798, with the national capital at Castlebar.

Answer the question asked.