2013 All Ireland Final: Mayo v Dublin

Started by All of a Sludden, August 26, 2013, 10:16:35 AM

Quote from: Blowitupref on September 04, 2013, 08:51:24 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 04, 2013, 06:46:15 PM
moysider, the Mayo county board are distributing the tickets the very same way as last year. I've raffle tickets to sell, as do plenty other. >:(
You won't get a AI final ticket unless you sell the club raffle tickets?

Disgrace, anyone tell them there is a recession. Unfair on clubmembers to have pressure neighbours, friends and coworkers knowing many are tight on cash.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 26, 2013, 11:59:02 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on August 26, 2013, 11:23:22 AM
Will all of Galway and Roscommon really be supporting Mayo in the final?

No. Neither will all of Sligo. lawnseed won't either so that's all Armagh out of the equation as well.

Lawnseed an Armagh man! Feck I always call him a Tyroneman.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2013, 08:55:51 PM
moysider, the Mayo county board are distributing the tickets the very same way as last year. I've raffle tickets to sell, as do plenty other. >:(

Disgrace, anyone tell them there is a recession. Unfair on clubmembers to have pressure neighbours, friends and coworkers knowing many are tight on cash.

Some of the stuff I heard last year unbelievable if true.

Local business asked to stump up 2 grand for a 10 ticket package for their employees. They later dropped the asking price to 1 grand .

There was talk of the board being left with tickets they didn t manage to pimp on time.

Meanwhile this year, underage players in the club have been told to forget about any hope of a ticket. There s more to be gained by raffling tickets it seems. The board is using these AI finals to make hay while the sun shines. We all know about the debt and the costs involved in getting teams to this stage and then there s the minor as well. I m sure they ll try to justify what amounts to touting tickets but it does look cynical.

Not that, but it's kinda shite that having heard all the complaints from people last year, they're doing the same thing this year too. The club has to raise €1000 for extra 20 tickets, €2000 for extra forty etc. Stuff that only happens in Mayo.

ardal

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2013, 08:58:42 PM

No. Neither will all of Sligo. lawnseed won't either so that's all Armagh out of the equation as well.
[/b

First of ignore the comments about Lawnweed; I'm sure he's not from Macha's county, pretty sure he's from elsewhere.

Can anybody really see the Dubs not thrashing Mayo?

I'm an anti Dub, so have looked at Mayo for a wee few bob since the league, but shall pull the stake in now I think.

Quote from: ardal on September 04, 2013, 10:00:56 PM
I don't think there wouldn't be many people who don't think that the Dubs won't thrash Mayo.

Aren't those tickets 'extra' on top of usual allocation though? Clubs don't have to stump up for them... It's a way of getting additional tickets and the county board gets extra income (badly needed). The clubs can use the tickets in whatever way they want, they could even make some money for themselves.

somewhere down the line i remember many a die hard gaa county board members go on about the ethos of the amateur game, but have no problem bleeding loyal supporters dry. if the county board has problems paiding for the county team they should reduce the monines they put in, but i think the Mayo county Board money problems are down to the big stadium and pitch they got done, great facilities but if the money wasnt there, should they have been done??

Quote from: ballinaman on September 04, 2013, 10:10:00 PM
I don't think there wouldn't be many people who don't think that the Dubs won't thrash Mayo.

All this litotes has my head done in!

Crete Boom

Quote from: Tubberman on September 04, 2013, 10:10:40 PM
Aren't those tickets 'extra' on top of usual allocation though? Clubs don't have to stump up for them... It's a way of getting additional tickets and the county board gets extra income (badly needed). The clubs can use the tickets in whatever way they want, they could even make some money for themselves.

Well Ballina Stephenites have about 450 paid up members so I wouldn't think 100 tickets plus an extra 35 or so for club officials and county panelists is a normal allocation. Donegal managed to give one ticket per member of the club last year!!

I would say Knockmorre have more than 135 members as well!

Crete Boom

[/b

First of ignore the comments about Lawnweed; I'm sure he's not from Macha's county, pretty sure he's from elsewhere.

I'm an anti Dub, so have looked at Mayo for a wee few bob since the league, but shall pull the stake in now I think.

I am sure your are winding us up but I'll give you an honest answer anyway.

Most Mayo people obviously believe we can win or that we can be at least be competitive but history does point towards the Dubs having this in the bag inside 20 mins.

Personally I think we can win with a bit of luck but would still be apprehensive about the first quarter because of what happened last year and in the semi against Tyrone this year.

Quote from: Crete Boom on September 04, 2013, 10:35:27 PM

[/b

Most Mayo people obviously believe we can win or that we can be at least be competitive but history does point towards the Dubs having this in the bag inside 20 mins.

Personally I think we can win with a bit of luck but would still be apprehensive about the first quarter because of what happened last year and in the semi against Tyrone this year.

I'm afraid that what happened in the first 25 minutes against Tyrone was we got a game, something we only got for 15 minutes before in our game against Roscommon. By seeing this as a weakness does not give credit to a very disciplined Tyrone outfit.

Been a small club is the only advantage come ticket time, when we reached the all-lreland many moons ago we had no problem with tickets as we were the smallest club roughly in the county were bigger clubs with a big membership were killing each other for tickets

[/b

Probably not a wind up. Wouldn t be arsed responding if I were you but no harm done.

There s a lot of fans from hardy wee counties that think that they d have done better than we did in finals 04 and 06 ::)

Gott in Himmel. You either get it or you dont.

Again I appeal to neutrals to stay the f**k at home. Bad enough losing AIs but listening to neutrals moaning about value for money is a no-no. And I suspect neutrals get their tickets at face value - unlike a lot of Mayo fans, who will be ripped off.

The only people that this game matters to are Mayo s and Dubs. Let the tickets filter back to the counties involved - especially as ye know that it will be a non-event before the ball is thrown in. What s wrong with the Sunday Game coverage?

Quote from: moysider on September 04, 2013, 11:04:19 PM

[/b

Probably not a wind up. Wouldn t be arsed responding if I were you but no harm done.

There s a lot of fans from hardy wee counties that think that they d have done better than we did in finals 04 and 06 ::)

Gott in Himmel. You either get it or you dont.

Again I appeal to neutrals to stay the f**k at home. Bad enough losing AIs but listening to neutrals moaning about value for money is a no-no. And I suspect neutrals get their tickets at face value - unlike a lot of Mayo fans, who will be ripped off.

The only people that this game matters to are Mayo s and Dubs. Let the tickets filter back to the counties involved - especially as ye know that it will be a non-event before the ball is thrown in. What s wrong with the Sunday Game coverage?

Fermanagh people after the final in 2004 were some of th most deluded folk in Ireland. Kerry would have beat them by 25 points.