2013 All Ireland Final: Mayo v Dublin

Started by All of a Sludden, August 26, 2013, 10:16:35 AM

Quote from: Sidney on September 03, 2013, 03:52:53 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 03, 2013, 03:22:51 PM

Go on, go on.  Dublin took 68 minutes to pull away from Kerry.
That says more about Dublin than it does about Mayo.
"One of the greatest matches of all time" is hyperbole.

The porous Dublin FB line adds an intriguing element to the final.
Mayo are much improved on last year. Are Dublin?
In what way is it hyperbole? It was unquestionably one of the greatest matches of all time. Debatable whether it was the greatest, but certainly in the top three, and played at a faster pace than either Tyrone-Kerry final, Down v Derry 1994 or Dublin v Mayo 2006 or any other "great" matches of the past.

I'll presume you didn't see Dublin play last year, given that you question whether they have improved. Mayo have also improved, but how much we don't yet know. And there are real doubts about two of their key forwards.

He clearly he didn't see Dublin last year. Struggled against Laois,Meath before beaten by Mayo. Will know in the final how much Mayo have improved from last year.

Listen lads, Dublin are the greatest team ever to hit the old sod, which they rarely do as they are absolutely flying all the time. There are no flaws in the team, no one has ever got a card and they never hit any wides. No one makes any mistakes and every single pass sticks. There is hardly any point in putting out an opposition at all, as it won't interfere with them in the slightest.

Mayo could sit in the corner and have a smoke for all of the damage they will do to Dublin.

If it is too sunny or too wet or something spoils the perfect team's day, I will jump on the bandwagon and blame Tyrone.

Quote from: seafoid on September 03, 2013, 03:22:51 PM

Go on, go on.  Dublin took 68 minutes to pull away from Kerry.
That says more about Dublin than it does about Mayo.
"One of the greatest matches of all time" is hyperbole.

The porous Dublin FB line adds an intriguing element to the final.
Mayo are much improved on last year. Are Dublin?
In what way is it hyperbole? It was unquestionably one of the greatest matches of all time. Debatable whether it was the greatest, but certainly in the top three, and played at a faster pace than either Tyrone-Kerry final, Down v Derry 1994 or Dublin v Mayo 2006 or any other "great" matches of the past.

I'll presume you didn't see Dublin play last year, given that you question whether they have improved. Mayo have also improved, but how much we don't yet know. And there are real doubts about two of their key forwards.
Keep it up lads but I don't think ye can spin this out to a Tyrone length thread. 

Says you or did you have access to the Tyrone sports bra's and coordinate the data with non existant data from those games?

Sidney

Quote from: ballinaman on September 03, 2013, 04:17:23 PM

Says you or did you have access to the Tyrone sports bra's and coordinate the data with non existant data from those games?
The Dublin and Kerry players were wearing Tyrone's bras? Christ, you'd think they'd invest in their own lingerie rather than wearing another team's. The last of the Vodafone sponsorship money must have run out.

Quote from: Sidney on September 03, 2013, 04:23:22 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on September 03, 2013, 04:17:23 PM

The Dublin and Kerry players were wearing Tyrone's bras?

Kerry were wearing Tyrone's bras.

Dub were wearing Wonder Bras.

Quote from: Sidney on September 03, 2013, 03:15:00 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 03, 2013, 02:59:03 PM
Kerry have been off the pace for a few years. Ask MikeSheehy-he might be somewhere discussing the Middle East. They were running on fumes last year as well.

If they kept up with Dublin until the 68th minute Dublin must have a faulty full back line LOL .
Cork feel back a long way from 2010 and Counihan retired because he couldn't do any more with them.

I agree with Galwayman. This year's Mayo are ruthless.
But tell me, how is a team that lost an All Ireland final by a point in 2011 and an All-Ireland semi-final in the last minute of normal time in one of the greatest matches of all-time this year not considered to have been a contender?

The current Kerry team is not as good as at its peak, but that doesn't mean they haven't still been serious contenders over the last three seasons.

Their forwards are still comfortably superior to Mayo's.

How many goals have Mayo scored against this porous Dublin back line in their last four meetings? How have the Mayo backs dealt with the Dublin attacking threat in recent meetings?

None and not very well are the respective answers.

Mayo are a serious team and deserving of serious respect, but the quality of what they have beaten is well below what Dublin have beaten this year.

I see a trend here, Galway that team for the future packed with underage promise and of course it's Mayo v Galway, this Galway will do fine - Mayo annilate them, retro view = Galway are shite.
Roscommon that decent team that on a good day can put it up ya, also local rivals, these Rossies watch out for them. Retro view = Roscommon are shite.
London are the fairytale team of 2013, aren't they great. Retro view = Londin are shite.
Donegal one of favourites to win Sam, All-Ireland Champions, the machine. Retro view = Donegal are shite.
Tyrone are the only team to put it up those Dub's this year, Mickey Harte is a legend, Tyrone won't lose by more than 1 or 2 wouldn't put it past them to win, if Tyrone get a lead they will win. Retro view = Tyrone is shite.

Based on this I feel very sorry for the Dubs, on the 23'rd of Sept. the headlines won't mention Mayo as All-Ireland Champions but how could a terrible team like Dublin got to an A.I. Final, losing to Mayo O the shame.

Crete Boom

I know mayogodhelpus is on a windup but in the middle of it he does ask a interesting question?

What if the unthinkable happened like Dublin freeze allowing Mayo to get a run on them like we got on Donegal in the quarters and we go 2-10 to 0-4 at halftime going on to win by 12 or 13 points , would Mayo have technically won an All Ireland without having a serious test and so be the first to win a genuine soft All Ireland in the eyes of the neutral fans?

If Mayo were in the situation like the Tyrone match with Dublin being three or four points after 20 mins but Mayo reel them in and power by would again this be viewed in hindsight as Dublin not being able to test Mayo therefore again Mayo would Mayo have won an All Ireland without a serious test?

If Mayo v Dublin go score for score and we hop a flukey ball over the bar Ala 1996 for Meath would this point to us having won a genuine victory even it was pure luck that separated us and the Dubs but still would be considered a test therefore carrying more credence?

If as unfortunately history points towards and like 1997 , 2004 , 2006 ,2012 the game is over by 10 or 20 mins will Dublin be given credit for dismissing a talented Mayo team or would neutrals feel all the final did was tarnish the shine of the victories over Meath , Cork and Kerry?

I came online to buy some bra's for the wife and the google sent me here. What's going on?

squire_in_navy_slacks

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 03, 2013, 06:02:19 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on September 03, 2013, 01:59:43 PM
Last line is classic... :D

http://www.irishtv.ie/joe-brolly-reckons-mayo-will-win/

Weird seeing Brolly in a Knockmore shirt

Brolly is full of shite........................he will gush on the county hes currently on the piss in..................mayo on saturday, dublin on sunday.......................

A lot of weight being put by Dublin posters on the Cork win in the Quarter Final. I was wondering what was Corks last big win in the Championship since the AI in 2010?

Quote from: Crete Boom on September 03, 2013, 05:04:32 PM
I know mayogodhelpus is on a windup but in the middle of it he does ask a interesting question?

What if the unthinkable happened like Dublin freeze allowing Mayo to get a run on them like we got on Donegal in the quarters and we go 2-10 to 0-4 at halftime going on to win by 12 or 13 points , would Mayo have technically won an All Ireland without having a serious test and so be the first to win a genuine soft All Ireland in the eyes of the neutral fans?

If Mayo were in the situation like the Tyrone match with Dublin being three or four points after 20 mins but Mayo reel them in and power by would again this be viewed in hindsight as Dublin not being able to test Mayo therefore again Mayo would Mayo have won an All Ireland without a serious test?

If Mayo v Dublin go score for score and we hop a flukey ball over the bar Ala 1996 for Meath would this point to us having won a genuine victory even it was pure luck that separated us and the Dubs but still would be considered a test therefore carrying more credence?

If as unfortunately history points towards and like 1997 , 2004 , 2006 ,2012 the game is over by 10 or 20 mins will Dublin be given credit for dismissing a talented Mayo team or would neutrals feel all the final did was tarnish the shine of the victories over Meath , Cork and Kerry?

Crete, you need to get some fresh air. You'll never last 'til the 22nd if you're trying yourself into knots this early.

At least Dublin's poor performance Sunday has put to bed the notion that they're favourites.

Mayo have been the best team in the country for the last two years and but for a poor opening few minutes last year, would be going for two in a row now.

This final has come a year too soon for Dublin's young guns.

Sam2011

Just a few thoughts from the game the last day.
At times the Dublin full back line was non-existent. Kerry kicked, long quick ball into the forwards and they dragged the Dublin full back line out of position. Freeman and O'Connor will play puck if this happens the next day.
I would expect us to play a sweeper the next day so the Dublin forwards will be under a lot more pressure when kicking than they were the last day.
While Brogan got some lovely points the last day, I thought Marc O'Se was way off the pace.
Also Dublin seemed to be caught on the hop when Kerry took the quick free. This resulted in something like 1-2 for Kerry I think.
However I was impressed at how Dublin got there act together at half time.

In terms of match ups I would expect the following:
Vaughan- Flynn
Keegan- Kilkenny
Boyle- Connolly
Barrett- Manion
Cuniffee- Andrews
Caff- Brogan