Mayo v Donegal all ireland quarter final Sunday Aug 4 4.00pm

Started by maigheo, July 27, 2013, 08:55:47 PM

Quote from: ck on August 02, 2013, 09:31:39 AM
Donegal people would be best served not to defend The Jimmy and Rory show. They are bringing embarressing shame on Donegal, they are looking like fools themselves and clearly it's a ill thought plan to deflect attention away from a team who are not firing.
For me the media haven't the balls to nail Jimmy and Rory over these crazy comments and are more keen to give them a platform so as to keep it going and stoke the fire further. A good journalist would call it like it is (pathetic and desperate mind games to deflect attention) but we are not blessed with strong journalists in this country as they would prefer to sit on the fence.

As has been said before. If Donegal win there will be no shame or embarrassment for anyone involved!

Sure why wouldn't the media print the stories it sells them papers and ye Mayo folk are lapping it up and getting riled which is exactly what McGuinness and Gallagher want. If some of this rubs off on the players then it plays right into their hands. Do you think they care what anyone thinks about them? If they win they will not give a shiney shite what stunts they had to pull to do it!

Mayo need to be cute for the first ten minutes.
If they go out too wound up and try to impose themselves on Donegal, that'll just play into Jimmys hands.
A couple of early yellows could be the winning/losing of this game.

Quote from: hardstation on August 02, 2013, 09:56:44 AM
I feel that Mayo need this a lot more than Donegal. They really need to show the world that they have a set of balls.
Lose this and.....
We'll pick ourselves up and come back from more. If we were going to lie down after a humiliation, we would have done it a long time ago.

That being said, I fully expect us to win. The camp is very relaxed are raring to go. They've had August Bank Holiday weekend pencilled in since last September. Donegal are on the ropes and we are coming for them like you wouldn't believe. Mayo by 5....

Quote from: nrico2006 on August 02, 2013, 08:41:20 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on August 02, 2013, 08:03:53 AM
Shamelessly lifted from another forum:

I think Gallagher and McGuinness are trying to deflect all attention from their team, and at the same time hoping that the Mayo lads take to the field frothing at the mouth and forget about playing football.

I'm sure if I can figure this out, Horan is wise to it, but I'd say they have succeeded to a large extent with part one, judging by the amount of print it has generated here and elsewhere.

I hope there's a sizeable Mayo contingent at the game on Sunday. I will be hoping my wireless can pick up some coverage so I can get a stream or at least mid west to find out what's going on.

Failing that, it'll be a long phone call to the aul lad

Gllagher and McGuiness haven't just randonly spouted off to the media about the McHugh injury and concussions etc, there is a reason behind it.  The referee is a normal man who will be really aware of all this talk during the week and if it buys you some extra protection from him then it has worked a treat.  A side effect of this talk is that it also hypes the game up a lot more than it would have been, Mayo will be fired up and maybe they will crack as per the norm when the pressure is put on.  If it works then the outbursts were worth it, if it doesn't then no damage done.  What was McGuiness' view on Leo McLoone taking out Joe McMahon a few years back when Joe had MM in his back pocket the whole game?
You're right. Them two buckos new full well what they were doing. But it's a high risk strategy that could backfire on them. Right now it seems that it has; at least there's been no media pick up of the claims by either man.

If I was James Horan, I'd be feeling quite pleased at the moment. I'd take it that the gruesome twosome is feeling the heat and that they know they're taking a big gamble in going public with their concerns.
Sure, if it works they will be seen as master strategists but if it doesn't, they've given Horan a good stick  to bate them with as he psyches up his team in the run in to Sunday.
He knows they are gambling and I'm sure Joe McQuillan knows it too.
We won't know for certain if the mud they are throwing will have any influence on Sunday's proceedings but, going by public reaction, they won't get the result they were hoping for.

The build up to this match certainly seems to have got very tempestuous.
It is reminding me a bit of the 2003 AI final between Tyrone and Armagh.
A lot at stake and a lot of anxiety between the fans.

You can say what you want but Donegal's comments this week has certainly added a lot more tension to the whole thing and any tough tackles or shoulders at all now will be highly scrutinised. The fans will be reacting to any unsavoury business and I can see a lot of yellow & maybe red cards.
I wonder was Horan up at the Ulster final? No doubt they'll have watched that game a lot over the past week.

I would like to see Mayo win but I think Donegal have still got the better forwards to battle and win their own ball. It will probably come down to how much hunger and intensity both teams show on the day. Hopefully but teams will be exhausted for meeting Monaghan in the next round.  ;)

Donegal people would be best served not to defend The Jimmy and Rory show. They are bringing embarressing shame on Donegal, they are looking like fools themselves and clearly it's a ill thought plan to deflect attention away from a team who are not firing.
For me the media haven't the balls to nail Jimmy and Rory over these crazy comments and are more keen to give them a platform so as to keep it going and stoke the fire further. A good journalist would call it like it is (pathetic and desperate mind games to deflect attention) but we are not blessed with strong journalists in this country as they would prefer to sit on the fence.

you're like a broken record at this stage and you not even a Mayo man!

Up Donegal
Up Mayo

Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 02, 2013, 09:48:52 AM

Wrong on every count ck wrong on every count.

1 They are doing this to fire their team up. Why would any manager spend the week before the biggest game of the year "deflecting attention from a team who are not firing" What an idiotic suggestion!!!

2 The media are giving them a platform because it sells papers, no other reason.

3 I think we have some excellent GAA journalists in this country who are no way slow to call a spade a spade.

Wrong on every count Bluestack wrong on every count. ;D

1.   Wile they are doing this to fire their team up, they could have done so in the privacy of their training ground or whatever. By going public, they were trying to attract public sympathy for their cause.
I think they've got sweet damn all and their players know this also. You mean that a manger should not deflect "attention from a team who are not firing."
What an idiotic suggestion!!!
2.   What platform?
McG was interviewed on 2FM (?)  and Gallagher was quoted on Hoganstand. Neither comes within an ass's roar of any definition of a major media outlet. What extra copies have  the Sindo, Indo, Times, Star, Beano or Dandy sold as a result of their idiotic rants?
I was expecting the latter two to run with it but even they didn't give it a second thought.
3.   We sure do have excellent GAA journalists who are no way slow to call a spade a spade. Offhand, can you name me a couple who ran with the crap from this pair of eejits?

Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 02, 2013, 09:48:52 AM

Wrong on every count ck wrong on every count.

1 They are doing this to fire their team up. Why would any manager spend the week before the biggest game of the year "deflecting attention from a team who are not firing" What an idiotic suggestion!!!

2 The media are giving them a platform because it sells papers, no other reason.

3 I think we have some excellent GAA journalists in this country who are no way slow to call a spade a spade.

You'll forgive me for not feeling wrong just because you say so. A man who refuses to remove his yellow tinted glasses to see what most others can.
The facts remains that Jimmy tries to play mind games, makes a complete balls of it, buggers off to Celtic and leaves things in the hands of his well travelled side kick who makes an embarrassing scenario even worse. Lets hope we've heard the last from the deadly duo and its over to the players for Sunday.

Looking forward to 4 good games this weekend.hard to call any of them. Think Mayo to shade it although they're really untested. Expecting an intriguing battle.
Keep jimmy quiet and Rory off the pitch and we'll all get on grand ;-)

criostlinn

Quote from: Fuzzman on August 02, 2013, 10:38:49 AM

You can say what you want but Donegal's comments this week has certainly added a lot more tension to the whole thing and any tough tackles or shoulders at all now will be highly scrutinised. The fans will be reacting to any unsavoury business and I can see a lot of yellow & maybe red cards.
I wonder was Horan up at the Ulster final? No doubt they'll have watched that game a lot over the past week.

I would like to see Mayo win but I think Donegal have still got the better forwards to battle and win their own ball. It will probably come down to how much hunger and intensity both teams show on the day. Hopefully but teams will be exhausted for meeting Monaghan in the next round.  ;)

He wasn't at because he was dealing with other business in Castlebar but I hear he was miked up to Malachy O Rourke for the whole match. A source close to the donegal camp even seen him winking at James Nallen when Mark McHugh went off

Quote from: screenexile on August 02, 2013, 09:58:27 AM

As has been said before. If Donegal win there will be no shame or embarrassment for anyone involved!

Sure why wouldn't the media print the stories it sells them papers and ye Mayo folk are lapping it up and getting riled which is exactly what McGuinness and Gallagher want. If some of this rubs off on the players then it plays right into their hands. Do you think they care what anyone thinks about them? If they win they will not give a shiney shite what stunts they had to pull to do it!

There's plenty of shame and embarrassment regardless of the result. When did the GAA become an organisation that puts winning ahead of all else? It's long since past time to call a halt to some of the rubbish that passes for gamesmanship both on and off the field. Being cynical has become a badge of honour for the top teams when the term cynical is a broad term for cowardly, idiotic, dirty, cheap actions or plain lying.

The sport of football should never be sacrificed for some cheap short term gain but when fans start thinking this type of carry on (and the on field rubbish that goes on like diving, sledging, repeat cynical fouling etc.) is ok then we slip further down the road of undermining the game itself.

sans pessimism

Quote from: criostlinn on August 02, 2013, 11:23:28 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on August 02, 2013, 10:38:49 AM

I wonder was Horan up at the Ulster final? No doubt they'll have watched that game a lot over the past week.[/ ;Db]

He wasn't at because he was dealing with other business in Castlebar but I hear he was miked up to Malachy O Rourke for the whole match. A source close to the donegal camp even seen him winking at James Nallen when Mark McHugh went off
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

sans pessimism

hold on horse-lets not confuse what a cupla eejits like ourselves are rantin about,and the professional
approach that we know JH and the team are taking to the QF
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

BluestackBoy

This is great craic, I haven't enjoyed myself as much in years. This game wouldn't be half the occasion if McGuinness/Gallagher hadn't spiced it up.

I fully expect Donegal to park the bus big time for the first half & get in 0-3 to 0-2 in front. More of the same in the second half only for Mark McHugh to appear with 10 minutes to go & win the game with a goal.
James Horans cap will go on fire, Pat Spillane's head will explode & Jimmy will give a gracious interview while at the same time putting us all on notice about shady goings on in Monaghan/Tyrone.

Summer in Ireland, where else would you get it!!!
For what shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world & loses his soul.

If Dublin don't win it I'd like to see Mayo win out of the remaining counties.

Too many years of heartbreak and the Mayo fans deserve to experience the joy of celebrating a win.

McGuinness & Gallagher are doing themselves no favours carrying on like this - Horan imo was perfectly right to reply in the way that he did.

Some weekends football in prospect

Quote from: Zulu on August 02, 2013, 11:24:17 AM

There's plenty of shame and embarrassment regardless of the result. When did the GAA become an organisation that puts winning ahead of all else? It's long since past time to call a halt to some of the rubbish that passes for gamesmanship both on and off the field. Being cynical has become a badge of honour for the top teams when the term cynical is a broad term for cowardly, idiotic, dirty, cheap actions or plain lying.

The sport of football should never be sacrificed for some cheap short term gain but when fans start thinking this type of carry on (and the on field rubbish that goes on like diving, sledging, repeat cynical fouling etc.) is ok then we slip further down the road of undermining the game itself.

Amen