Mayo v Donegal all ireland quarter final Sunday Aug 4 4.00pm

Started by maigheo, July 27, 2013, 08:55:47 PM

Sure was another controversial statement by the Donegal setup and you would wonder how much of it came from McGuinness himself.
As we know he's a clever man and he knew this year everybody would be out to knock them off their perch. So taking the siege mentality approach is often used by AI winning managers and it sure does work in a lot of circumstances.

If you're being completely honest, you would imagine it was very possible that Monaghan decided to try to take McHugh out of the game. He is a lot lighter and smaller than Murphy or McFadden and he has a crucial role to play. Maybe the player himself decided to do it but in my neutral eyes I would imagine that it was talked about before the match. So to me Jim & now Rory probably to have a point but its not that shocking really is it. I'm sure they discuss similar tactics re. certain players in other teams. It was just the extent of the injuries in this incident that is the major difference and Gallagher admits Gollogly probably didn't mean to "DO" him that badly.

You would kinda expect your manager to stand up for your team as much as he can, even if this means him sounding very biased or in this case a total hypocrite in condoning rough play.
Mickey Harte surprised me a lot of the years defending some of Tyrone's more unsavoury incidents.
Jim is a master at psychology and he knows now that he has caused this big furore over roughening up Donegal, so now if there is a bad tackle on Sunday, the fans will be going mad and there will be massive pressure on the ref to not deal with it.
You can call it putting unfair pressure on the ref but managers feel they have to do all in their power to win the game. It's certainly not very sporting but do they care?

I too find myself having switched from liking and supporting Donegal last year to being the opposite this year. Of course a big part of that is just being jealous that they've beaten us three years on the trot and they could go on to pass us out in the years ahead. Who knows.

Crete Boom

Quote from: screenexile on August 01, 2013, 01:40:49 PM
Lads you're all wired up if you think this is a mistake by Jim and Rory. They're not coming over too well but the more I think of it the more it makes sense.

The bigger and bigger they make this match and the more they try and rile Mayo the much better it suits them. Mayo notoriously don't do well on the big occasion. This is a real test of Horan I think. Surely reading all this would have the players hopping off the walls and I think McGuinness wants them so hyped that they forget to play football the way they should.

The more Horan can get them to forget about this nonsense being spouted in the paper the better it will be for Mayo.

Exactly it's not a personal attack on Mayo people or the county it's just one of the facets ( or percieved facets) of modern management in top level sport. We mightn't like it but JMcG , Horan , Cody , Harte , Jim Gavin  etc.. are all going to try and use many different means to gain that pyscholoigical edge to get to the top. Personally I don't really like it but that is they way it is and we can't railroad JMcG because he certainly isn't the first and he won't be the last to use these tactics.

Quote from: Jinxy on August 01, 2013, 02:21:19 PM
Would any of the Mayo forwards get a game with us?

None of your business. Is there no thread for championship 2014?

Crete Boom

Yeah there was a good forward 6 on the Junior side this year that would probably keep you in div 2 but I doubt they would want to drop down a level until they are closer to retirement age 8)

Kimbap

Haha! It must be awful dull to be out of the championship at this time of year.

I'd say the ypoty the last two years in a row (never been done before) Cillian O Connor might scrape onto the mighty meath team,you know the lad,scored 3-3 in 35 mins coming back from injury in his last game.

Look,this is the high end of the championship,the really top teams.A meath man really has no place at this table.

An Gaeilgoir

Quote from: Kimbap on August 01, 2013, 02:36:35 PM

I'd say the ypoty the last two years in a row (never been done before) Cillian O Connor might scrape onto the mighty meath team,you know the lad,scored 3-3 in 35 mins coming back from injury in his last game.

Look,this is the high end of the championship,the really top teams.A meath man really has no place at this table.

As much as i used to dislike Meath, i now pity them, but they don't have to 62 years for the last AI. :(
Let's win one first and then we can slag til the cows come home!

To be fair COC only won YPotY by default last year.

He'd be a handy back-up freetaker I suppose.

Would the fact that Meath have won 6 All Irelands since Mayo's last title not give him more right to comment on this 'high end' of the Championship than you possibly?

Quote from: screenexile on August 01, 2013, 02:41:22 PM

Would the fact that Meath have won 6 All Irelands since Mayo's last title not give him more right to comment on this 'high end' of the Championship than you possibly?

Try and conversion for screenexile.

As we've been hearing constantly, football has moved on from those times. It's a different game now, and they haven't caught up. So, no is the answer.

Quote from: maigheo on August 01, 2013, 03:31:35 AM
Horan  is one of the few managers who does not mind putting it out there that he expects his team to win each game they play and there is no mealy mouth rubbish saying that the opposition should be favs and that his team will be up against it.
Looks like the 3 in a row Connacht titles has changed his mindset then. Only two years ago after beating Galway by 6pts he tried to make us favourites for the Connacht final he even used our minor win v Mayo as to why we should be favourites.

Kimbap

I would say if we're talking about top teams in the last few years then no.By all means have the craic and enjoy the banter and the games but deep down you know ye are a lower division,make up the numbers,group of nobodies.Ye have the history and fair play on that but thats all it is now.Mayo were in a similar position only 3 years ago,ie nobodies on the national stage.Ye might do something in the next couple of years,but for now,know yer place.

Kimbap

Quote from: Syferus on August 01, 2013, 02:48:04 PM

Try and conversion for screenexile.

Haha! Good to see some poor lad from the wilderness that is Roscommon football grimly cling to the coat tails of a county only slightly above them as they both look longingly upwards at a level they can only dream about.