Mayo v Donegal all ireland quarter final Sunday Aug 4 4.00pm

Started by maigheo, July 27, 2013, 08:55:47 PM

Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 30, 2013, 10:21:49 PM
Is the blonde female physio who had a starring role in last years semi with the Dubs still involved with the Mayo panel ????
Caroline is no longer involved. Played in goal for Mayo ladies for a good few years.

Mayo Mick

Quotethis could be your year Farandeelin - its the good lads like yourself that I'd be delighted for should yez win this year.
still a long way to go if you get past Donegal.
IT is pants to say that you have the measure of cork, dublin and kerry.
Cork dont even have the measure of themselves but should be the best team in the country and could yet be on any given day. Kerry always dangerous and Dublin are young and fantastically talented but could be outmuscled as well as potentially naive on the line.

Not saying Lynchboy that we would have a cakewalk against any of the 3 but I feel we are more organised, pacier and stronger - the Donegal of 2013 if you like. Dubs likely to be the toughest but feel Cork might take them this weekend.

QuotePretty sure he's from Ballagh so unfortunately he's a Rossie

What makes you think that Syferus. Not that it matters but I'm a long way from Ballagh  and I look out at the Atlantic every morning.
If You Don't Bring Home The Bacon, You'll Get Treated Like A Pig!!

BluestackBoy

Quote from: Mayo Mick on July 31, 2013, 12:15:13 AM
Quotethis could be your year Farandeelin - its the good lads like yourself that I'd be delighted for should yez win this year.
Cork dont even have the measure of themselves but should be the best team in the country and could yet be on any given day. Kerry always dangerous and Dublin are young and fantastically talented but could be outmuscled as well as potentially naive on the line.

Not saying Lynchboy that we would have a cakewalk against any of the 3 but I feel we are more organised, pacier and stronger - the Donegal of 2013 if you like. Dubs likely to be the toughest but feel Cork might take them this weekend.

What makes you think that Syferus. Not that it matters but I'm a long way from Ballagh  and I look out at the Atlantic every morning.

I would agree about the Donegal of 2013 part. There is an edge there that wasn't there last year & Horan has worked hard all winter on the tackling which was a weak point last year. Cillian O'Connor's fitness is the big remaining question. Will his shoulder hold out? Without him Mayo are a diminished team.
When you say you look out on the Atlantic? Not Donegal surely :o :o :o :o :o :o
For what shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world & loses his soul.

Mayo Mick

QuoteWhen you say you look out on the Atlantic? Not Donegal surely

Nah but I have an affinity with fellow seafaring counties. Now inland counties are another story!!

If You Don't Bring Home The Bacon, You'll Get Treated Like A Pig!!

Welcome back MAYO MICK! You have been on the ball over the summer so far. If you believe it write it, i say!

Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 30, 2013, 11:35:42 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2013, 11:30:16 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 30, 2013, 11:14:59 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 30, 2013, 11:02:56 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 30, 2013, 10:32:31 PM
Quote from: Mayo Mick on July 30, 2013, 10:19:38 PM
As I said after the Galway game there was nothing more to discuss until after Reek Sunday and no surprise that's how things turned out. So now in early August our season is about to start - a bit late but the next 7 or 8 weeks will make up for it. Nice tasty start this weekend for the run up to AI final day for us and the perfect type of game for us to dust away any cobwebs. Expect we will win it comfortably enough but Donegal will make us work and we will have to stay focused and playing to the end unlike the challenge games we had in Connacht.

Last year we left an AI behind us –we were at least as good and probably better than Jimmy's men. I would say this year we have improved 20-25% - players understand system, stronger panel and Horan will not make same mistakes again. Not alone have we no weaknesses now but we have 5 or 6 players on the sideline that in other years would walk on to the team. Donegal on the other hand have gone backwards – injuries, fatigue and the mystique gone makes them an ordinary team now – always felt that talent wise they were thin enough outside of 4 or 5 players.

Probably will have a tough tight first half with us leading at interval by a couple of points. Second half we will score 3 for every 2 Donegal get, hit them for a goal in the final quarter as they lose shape and in the end prevail by something like 1-14 to 0-10.

Have to say confidence very high with everyone I meet that this is our year. Get Sunday out of the way and don't see Tyrone or Monaghan unduly troubling us. Then it's Kerry, Dublin or Cork any of whom we should have measure of.  Great times.

If a Donegal man put up a post like this tripe, the roof would cave in with accusations of "arrogance". A Mayo man, probably on the old Jamaican Woodbines puts it up and .....silence. Maybe the silence is of the embarrased variety, we can only hope.
N
Er, Bluestack, we're not sure if he's from Mayo at all...
I thought the "Mayo Mick" bit was a giveaway. God but ye are the devious feckers >:( >:( >:(

Pretty sure he's from Ballagh so unfortunately he's a Rossie :-X
A stop needs to be put to this sort of thing otherwise where are we?

Ballagh is as much Mayo as the 6 counties are Ireland. Planters from Frenchpark can talk all the shite they like but the Green and Red will always fly over Ballagh in glory.

Quote from: From the Bunker on July 31, 2013, 12:28:56 AM

Welcome back MAYO MICK! You have been on the ball over the summer so far. If you believe it write it, i say!

Thanks. Didn't bother to go the Connacht final. Don't know if I should wait for our semi-final v Tyrone to make the trip to Dublin. Donegal are shot, no match for us.

Mayo +9.

...shit, wrong account.

Quote from: Syferus on July 31, 2013, 12:46:42 AM

Thanks. Didn't bother to go the Connacht final. Don't know if I should wait for our semi-final v Tyrone to make the trip to Dublin. Donegal are shot, no match for us.

Mayo +9

...shit, wrong account.

I know you like the Swedish colours, but have you gone Stockholm?

Does he believe what he types though?

Mayo Mick is the authentic voice of the Heather County - no showing the white feather there. More luck to him.

The Irish Times are reporting that Mark McHugh is cleared of concussion and could play on Sunday - the quad muscle is the only thing that might keep him on the bench. Lacey also in line to play. Big, big boosts for Donegal if they both can play.

skeog

a bit ironic that he is fit to play after the ice mans medical conference in carrick on shannon ice man definetly is winning the mind games battle with horan

Quote from: skeog on July 31, 2013, 09:05:44 AM
a bit ironic that he is fit to play after the ice mans medical conference in carrick on shannon ice man definetly is winning the mind games battle with horan

Not really. If McHugh is fit to play, it just show's up McGuinness even more for his scaremongering about spinal cord injuries etc

emmetryan

writer of the Tactics not Passion series at Action81.com

Quote from: Tubberman on July 31, 2013, 09:13:05 AM
Quote from: skeog on July 31, 2013, 09:05:44 AM

Not really. If McHugh is fit to play, it just show's up McGuinness even more for his scaremongering about spinal cord injuries etc

I'd beg to differ, it gives McG a sly victory to suit his slimey character.