Mayo v Donegal all ireland quarter final Sunday Aug 4 4.00pm

Started by maigheo, July 27, 2013, 08:55:47 PM

Ohtoohtobe

Far worse things happen on a football field that Gollogly's challenge on McHugh. It was shoulder to shoulder but illegal in that both his feet were off the ground. Should have been a free and a yellow. No big deal.

BluestackBoy

Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 29, 2013, 10:29:40 AM
Far worse things happen on a football field that Gollogly's challenge on McHugh. It was shoulder to shoulder but illegal in that both his feet were off the ground. Should have been a free and a yellow. No big deal.

A burst ear drum, concussion & a 5cm muscle tear is no big deal?  Wow what a hard man you must be :o :o :o :o :o :o
For what shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world & loses his soul.

Lads lads lads ye're getting all worked up over very little. Do you watch professional sport at all?

This shit has been going on for years in the Premiership with Ferguson, Wenger, Mourinho talking about players being singled out and hoping the ref is a strong enough character to deal with these things.

Someone mentioned about McGuinness singling out McGeeney to try and influence the ref through the media and being a hypocrite etc. It's Fergie mind games 101. Everything he does to influence referees is OK until someone else does it. If McGuinness does influence the ref in any small way do you think he will give one shite what a few Mayo keyboard warriors think of him?

It's up to James Horan to come out with some kind of statement saying it's only Jimmy's mind games and he has every faith the referee on Sunday will be fair and impartial and offer the same protection to both sets of players. . . ye're all making this work in Jimmy's favour by mouthing about it for so long.

Anyone who thinks he has lost the plot are barking up the wrong tree! The only reason Donegal will lose this game on Sunday is if Lacey and McHugh aren't fit enough. Even then it'll still be close!!

Quote from: screenexile on July 29, 2013, 10:50:33 AM
The only reason Donegal will lose this game on Sunday is if Lacey and McHugh aren't fit enough.
8)

If McHugh has ''a five centimetre, not a five millimetre, tear in his quad muscle'' surely he won't be fit to play on Sunday? That's even before you get to his busted ear-drum and needing to pass concussion tests.

Oh, and this was awesome:

QuoteOfficial Donegal GAA @officialdonegal
So @MayoGAA think they can do 3 in a row in knocking out all Ireland champs,we'll send them back to the west next Sun. #Jimmyswinningmatches

Cannot wait to see this match. Potential for GotY. Up West Roscommon.

Anyway, I hope the ref protects the Mayo players from all the sly digs that will inevitably come their way from Donegal.

AMayoFan

Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 29, 2013, 12:45:01 PM
Anyway, I hope the ref protects the Mayo players from all the sly digs that will inevitably come their way from Donegal.

Quote from: Syferus on July 29, 2013, 11:54:40 AM
If McHugh has ''a five centimetre, not a five millimetre, tear in his quad muscle'' surely he won't be fit to play on Sunday? That's even before you get to his busted ear-drum and needing to pass concussion tests.

So @MayoGAA think they can do 3 in a row in knocking out all Ireland champs,we'll send them back to the west next Sun. #Jimmyswinningmatches

Mayo and Roscommon County Councils have considered merger, I bet you will be a cheerleader for union if it ever catches any sort of momentum.

The amount of 3rd man tackles in the Donegal Down match was ridiculous, they have perfected the art and now are crying when people stand up to them.
Jimmy sees the tables have turned and is looking to stamp it out now, it was alright when it suited him

southdown

The Championship starts now.  What a weekend in store for us.

AMayoFan

I guess it's inevitable from what Donegal (supporters & team) have been through to bring part of that hostility with them into this match.  Particular with how the last two matches pan out for them.  I would also be unhappy if a Mayo player was taken out by a challenge, even if the tackle wasn't malicious.  Although I don't think there is any doubt that McGuniness is playing mind games and trying to make the most of it. 

Anyway I hope this settles down, not because it will effect our chances on Sunday (it won't), but because it may take away from the occasion itself!  I've being looking forward to the Championship with the hope to meet Donegal.  It's here and golly and I'm looking forward to seeing this Mayo team play there brand of football. I'm looking forward to seeing Mayo dictate the tempo and delivery fast ball from defence into attack.  Hopefully we will see some nice high fielding and great point taking.  I'm also wondering will I meet any of the many Donegal supporters who I chatted before the match last September. 

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 29, 2013, 12:49:35 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 29, 2013, 11:54:40 AM

Mayo and Roscommon County Councils have considered merger, I bet you will be a cheerleader for union if it ever catches any sort of momentum.

Ye've stolen enough from us without taking our gombeens as well.

Sam2011

Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 29, 2013, 09:57:26 AM
The interview was before the draw, I know that. But as larryin89 said, regardless of the opposition McGuinness agenda was still the same.
You still have failed to answer my question as to if McGuinness did not raise the McHugh incident in the media, then you would have no issue with it.

So we have now finally established that McGuinness wasn't referring to the Mayo game in particular?  Good stuff.

What agenda are you talking about? If you are talking about McGuinness wanting protection from late blindside hits then I have no problem with that.

How fo you come to the conclusion that I "have no problem" with the McHugh "incident" as you so delicately put it. I would have thought that the last 20 posts or so wouls show different. What I would ask is if a differendt manager had raised these same points would he be getting the same abuse, I don't think so.

Yes I established that a few posts ago if you cared to read them more carefully.
The agenda I am referring to is Jimmy's attempt to influence to ref for the next game.
Yes I get the message that you are wound up about the McHugh incident.
But you conveyed in response to the Thompson and McLoughlin incident I raised, that if the management team or players do not raise a serious incident in a game then everything is ok.
So once again if McGuinness did not raise the McHugh incident you would have let it pass over your head as the Donegal management team and players didn't say anything about it.

The only reason why I am challenging McGuinnesses comments are because they may influence the game on Sunday. As long Jimmy is not talking about Mayo or saying things that may influence games against Mayo I couldn't give two fucks about what he is saying.
And yes I believe if Mickey Harte came out with similar comments I believe he would get the same reaction.

donegal lad

Just seen on tickets.ie that supporters attending Sundays double header won't have the option of buying a ticket for €20 as hill 16 won't be opened. Not to impressed with this as believe there will be a massive crowd at the game and the option should be available to us as well as to those attending Saturdays games

Quote from: donegal lad on July 29, 2013, 02:16:12 PM
Just seen on tickets.ie that supporters attending Sundays double header won't have the option of buying a ticket for €20 as hill 16 won't be opened. Not to impressed with this as believe there will be a massive crowd at the game and the option should be available to us as well as to those attending Saturdays games

Ah Jaysus sure you wouldn't want in the Hill on Sunday. The shtate the Durty Dubs will leave the place in after Saturday's match sure you'fd be better off paying the few extra yoyos!