Mayo v Donegal all ireland quarter final Sunday Aug 4 4.00pm

Started by maigheo, July 27, 2013, 08:55:47 PM

Sam2011

Quote from: Crete Boom on August 02, 2013, 05:23:47 PM
Well Lads nearly out of work and the game is nearly on us.

Leaving all the shite talk by JMcG/Gallagher and the posters on both sides of the fence (some further a field) it's the football that will do the talking now. As a Mayo man it's not an unusual position to be heading with a potentially great team , up to Croker not 100% sure what to exoect from us. Thinking about it all week though the one think that we can expect from our lads is they will die with their boots on which is all we can ask for when playing the All Ireland champions.

For Mayo to win need positive answers to the following questions ,

- Does Dillion have 60 to 65 mins of a vintage Dillion performance in him becuase we need his long range points?
- Is Andy nearing his 2012 form and can he make the ball into the inside line stick unlike the final last September?
- Can Freeman keep his confidence/form on an upward curve and take the battle to Neil McGee?
- Can Aiden O' Shea outshine Neil Gallagher which would be a role reversal form the final last year?
- Will Cillian's shoulder stand up in what will be a ferocious physical battle on Sunday?
- Can we manage Lacey , Murphy and McFadden so they don't inflict the damage they did in the first 10 mins last year?

I don't know if Mayo can answer all these questions but we will give it a right rattle and where else would you want to be other than pitting you wits against the All Ireland champions , a team who ripped up all the percieved notions of how football should be played and took it to a new level , on the August bank holiday weekend!!!!!!!

Mhaigheo Abu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Very good questions raised. IMO, we will need to answer all if not the majority of those questions to win.

While I think Boyle has been a revelation, surely Keegan is the most important HB? It's a bit moot because I think the three starters form as good an attacking HB line as there is in the country. As essential to Mayo's chances of winning as any of the two forward lines, they're very good at creating mismatches and buying space for others.

Sam2011

Quote from: Syferus on August 02, 2013, 05:40:21 PM
While I think Boyle has been a revelation, surely Keegan is the most important HB? It's a bit moot because I think the three starters form as good an attacking HB line as there is in the country. As essential to Mayo's chances of winning as any of the two forward lines, they're very good at create mismatches and buying space for others.

Boyle has outshined Keegan this year for me anyway. He has yet to reach the heights of last year. As David Brady would say Boyle would put a head were most people wouldn't put a hand, completely fearless.

Quote from: heffo on August 02, 2013, 02:17:33 PM
I think everyone would agree that they'd prefer to just see honest football played but as it stands, every top county at varying levels engage in some form of cheating or gamesmanship.

The solution is for the rule book to keep pace with the skullduggery going on and appropriate sanctions be delivered if someone crosses the line.

Rugby tackle a player through on goal - red card
Feign injury - red card
3rd man in to shoulder a player who has won a free - red card
Team management acting the bollo* in the media ahead of a game - Charge them with discrediting the association and sanction from 8 weeks up as appropriate
Etc, etc

That would be a good start imo.

Been away for a few days and just catching up.

I thought Jimmy refusing to start his post AI winning press conference until a hack 'had left the building' was simply misguided and a fit of pique, to go with the other fit of pique with Kevin Cassidy. But it seems he may be like this a lot of the time. I have the deepest sympathy for the Donegal squad. Imagine them having to face Jimmy if they lost? He might ban them from re-entering their home county! I wouldn't do that to my worst enemy. I think Mayo, out of a sense of decency, should lie down and give Jimmy whatever he wants.

Life's too short.

maigheo

interesting to listen to the irish times second captains podcast with David Brady and Oisin McConville and there views on the game.Brady said he was talking to James Horan before the connacht final and Horan guaranteed him that Monaghan would beat Donegal based on there challenge game the previous tuesday.Monaghan won that game with a last min goal and  i think this game is the reason that Horan seems to be so confidant in his teams ability to match Donegal.I know alot of posters are saying Freeman could be the wildcard in this game but it will probably come down to the success Moran and Dillion have against the Donegal defense.

I hope to God Freeman can keep up his good form, but I fear he could retreat into himself if when Neil McGee starts the sledging and puts in a few hard hits.
A good start is vital so that Donegal aren't playing the game on their terms. Rattle them early and keep up the pressure and we will just have to see how well Donegal can react.

Kimbap

Quote from: Syferus on August 02, 2013, 05:28:46 PM
Quote from: Kimbap on August 02, 2013, 05:16:22 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 02, 2013, 01:43:03 PM
This is great craic, I haven't enjoyed myself as much in years. This game wouldn't be half the occasion if McGuinness/Gallagher hadn't spiced it up.

I fully expect Donegal to park the bus big time for the first half & get in 0-3 to 0-2 in front. More of the same in the second half only for Mark McHugh to appear with 10 minutes to go & win the game with a goal.
James Horans cap will go on fire, Pat Spillane's head will explode & Jimmy will give a gracious interview while at the same time putting us all on notice about shady goings on in Monaghan/Tyrone.

Summer in Ireland, where else would you get it!!!

Great craic for Mayo and the rest of the country.I be fairly red faced if i was from Donegal.Jimmy and his mate ranting and making clowns of themselves and no reaction from the Mayo camp.Backfired big time.

Ken Shannon, all this direct tampering of public opinion by you is below the Mayo back-room team.

I'd be red-faced if I was Mayo and wasn't still sunburnt from the good weather.

Is Ken Shannon related to Kieran Shannon?

Quote from: Tubberman on August 02, 2013, 08:00:37 PM
I hope to God Freeman can keep up his good form, but I fear he could retreat into himself if when Neil McGee starts the sledging and puts in a few hard hits.
A good start is vital so that Donegal aren't playing the game on their terms. Rattle them early and keep up the pressure and we will just have to see how well Donegal can react.

You surely aren't suggesting that Donegal players would target him individually?

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 02, 2013, 08:26:11 PM

You surely aren't suggesting that Donegal players would target him individually?

The only sure way we'll know is if somebody in Croke Park winks.

Quote from: Zulu on August 02, 2013, 02:50:28 PM
Quote from: Goldengreen on August 02, 2013, 02:19:46 PM
good man Logie :-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqoltLJbyrQ

He may be right about the result but his analysis is pathetic. He says he saw Mayo a few times during the league and wasn't impressed but that was the same league in which Donegal were relegated so if you're going to use the league as a barometer then Mayo are a bit ahead of Donegal. HJe could have picked the winners but he wasn't able to use an ounce of logic to explain why.

Had to laugh when he went back to league form. Mayo flopping in Croke Park, then how did they get to the semi final in 2011 and the final 2012? Ah, he a UTV head playing to his audience. It's like asking Midwest Radio who do they think would win on Sunday. A useless clip really!

AMayoFan

Agree, however I really think he will!!! I think Freeman has great potential and is showing us this season.  Granted I know this goes against popular opinion :)  If he does puts up the performance which he is capable off, I think he will be in line for an All Star (assuming Mayo win).   

Anyway, and far more important, the fact is, Mayo team need a great performance from him!  We really need to be potent up front. Punish at each and every chance!!!!!  Those guys up front are in for one hell of a battle .. here hoping we win that battle. 

Outstanding posts here by Zulu and AZ Offaly. Hats off to you boys. Wish there were more like you.

Like Crete Boom said, there are a lot of questions for the Mayo forward line to answer and we need them to come out positive for us if we're to win. I think there are question marks over 5 of the 6 starting forwards on Sunday (I'm assuming McLoughlin will be at least as good as he's been so far even if that's not been as good as last year):

Andy - is he back anywhere close to 2012 form? I think he will be
Dillon - has been poor since the Galway game, can he play well? I think he will
Cillian - will his shoulder hold up? I'm not so sure, I think this could be a problem for us as he'll take some big hits on Sunday
Feeney - will he contribute enough from the roving half forward position? I think he will
Freeman - can he carry his form against poorer teams onto the big stage? I hope he will

Honestly, I think we'll win this game by a point or two. I think the Monaghan game showed that Donegal can be beaten when they don't have their full strength team out. Lacey may start but it sounds like he's not fit and that will tell in the last 20 minutes.

I wouldn't bet against there being a player or two sent to the line in this game

Dillion and COC are the worries. Hard to see either escaping the game without a battering.