Mayo v Donegal all ireland quarter final Sunday Aug 4 4.00pm

Started by maigheo, July 27, 2013, 08:55:47 PM

Quote.   I agree with the lads here. I feel a bit sorry for people who can't get excited about an All Ireland quarter final without some panto villains in the guise of pseudo psychologists playing 'mind games' and 'winding people up'. FFS It's pathetic. We borrow from managers in the Premiership and elsewhere like Mourinho, Jose and Ferguson, Alex, where it has long since ceased to be just a sport, and we apply it to our own games in a bid to appear smart, or sophisticated in the mental side of the game. Jesus Christ, it's football, not Nietsche.

I've already spoken about the phenomonem of 'sledging' which I think is a cowardly dispicable thing, again under the guise of 'mind games', and diving which falls under the same heading in my view. This bullshit is another example.

People who don't feel confident enough in their own abilities as managers, players or coaches, and try to introduce some bolloxology to try and get an edge with a ref, or in the opponents mindset, because they don't feel they can just go out and play them.

Piss off with it, ye shower of apes.

BluestackBoy

Quote from: Syferus on August 02, 2013, 03:33:21 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 02, 2013, 03:30:11 PM
I agree with the lads here. I feel a bit sorry for people who can't get excited about an All Ireland quarter final without some panto villains in the guise of pseudo psychologists playing 'mind games' and 'winding people up'. FFS It's pathetic. We borrow from managers in the Premiership and elsewhere like Mourinho, Jose and Ferguson, Alex, where it has long since ceased to be just a sport, and we apply it to our own games in a bid to appear smart, or sophisticated in the mental side of the game. Jesus Christ, it's football, not Nietsche.

I've already spoken about the phenomonem of 'sledging' which I think is a cowardly dispicable thing, again under the guise of 'mind games', and diving which falls under the same heading in my view. This bullshit is another example.

People who don't feel confident enough in their own abilities as managers, players or coaches, and try to introduce some bolloxology to try and get an edge with a ref, or in the opponents mindset, because they don't feel they can just go out and play them.

You really bit into them there, Az.

That's better out!!
For what shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world & loses his soul.

Sorry, it just annoys me. Tactics don't bother me, I have to say. If it's within the rules then it's up to other teams to break them down. If someone is cynical in their fouling, then the rules should be there to deal with it. All that is fair game. But this nonsense of trying to stir up a media storm before a game, or trying to get into the heads of the opponents through the press is pathetic. And it's not exactly rocket science either, so I'm not sure why it is seen as some sort of managerial expertise. Sure I could go on Tipp FM next week, claim that Borrisoleigh are a team of sledgers, that the ref better not be intimidated by them; cast various ambiguous statements about previous injuries or incidents and say that I'm trying to protect my team from getting a serious injury.

It would be just as pathetic as what is going on now, and it's not just Donegal that are at it either.

Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 02, 2013, 03:36:51 PM
I agree with the lads here. I feel a bit sorry for people who can't get excited about an All Ireland quarter final without some panto villains in the guise of pseudo psychologists playing 'mind games' and 'winding people up'. FFS It's pathetic. We borrow from managers in the Premiership and elsewhere like Mourinho, Jose and Ferguson, Alex, where it has long since ceased to be just a sport, and we apply it to our own games in a bid to appear smart, or sophisticated in the mental side of the game. Jesus Christ, it's football, not Nietsche.

That's better out!!

True, very cathartic :) Seriously though BSB, I know you are standing up for your county, and fair play, but I just think this is unnecessary and quite sad. I do believe pschology has a part to play in the preparation of your own team, positive reinforcement, positive thinking, focus etc, but Ye did not win an All Ireland last year on trying some cack handed psyching out of the opposition. Ye won it because ye were well prepared, with a great gameplan, and some bloody good footballers who stayed healthy and performed to their ability.

The fact that Jimmy and Rory feel necessary to indulge in this sort of stuff makes me think that maybe *they* believe they are not at the same level this year, and it's time for desperate measures.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 02, 2013, 03:53:38 PM

That's better out!!

True, very cathartic :) Seriously though BSB, I know you are standing up for your county, and fair play, but I just think this is unnecessary and quite sad. I do believe pschology has a part to play in the preparation of your own team, positive reinforcement, positive thinking, focus etc, but Ye did not win an All Ireland last year on trying some cack handed psyching out of the opposition. Ye won it because ye were well prepared, with a great gameplan, and some bloody good footballers who stayed healthy and performed to their ability.

The fact that Jimmy and Rory feel necessary to indulge in this sort of stuff makes me think that maybe *they* believe they are not at the same level this year, and it's time for desperate measures.

That's the reason they're at it IMO. Lacey not match fit, McHugh out, poor bench in comparison to the other quarter finalists. I don't think Mayo are stupid enough to fall for it either. Mayo by 2 with Freeman's ball winning inside the joker in the pack.

Whitnail

Guys can we get back to football.

Anyway just wondering who the mayo lads think is
the go-to man in their squad.

I think Dillon is a fantastic player personally , he has an eerie accuracy and can score from anywhere.

For Donegal it's McFadden of course. It's always McFadden.

Quote from: Whitnail on August 02, 2013, 05:02:09 PM

I think Dillon is a fantastic player personally , he has an eerie accuracy and can score from anywhere.

Boyle for me personally, displays everything you could want from a player but not a go to man for a score. Cillian or Andy I'd like to have in the scoring zone with the ball usually.

I hope Mayo are tuned in from the start.  The loss of two early goals last year ruined it for them as I thought they were the better team but couldn't pull themselves back  to parity.

Kimbap

Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 02, 2013, 01:43:03 PM
This is great craic, I haven't enjoyed myself as much in years. This game wouldn't be half the occasion if McGuinness/Gallagher hadn't spiced it up.

I fully expect Donegal to park the bus big time for the first half & get in 0-3 to 0-2 in front. More of the same in the second half only for Mark McHugh to appear with 10 minutes to go & win the game with a goal.
James Horans cap will go on fire, Pat Spillane's head will explode & Jimmy will give a gracious interview while at the same time putting us all on notice about shady goings on in Monaghan/Tyrone.

Summer in Ireland, where else would you get it!!!

Great craic for Mayo and the rest of the country.I be fairly red faced if i was from Donegal.Jimmy and his mate ranting and making clowns of themselves and no reaction from the Mayo camp.Backfired big time.

Crete Boom

Well Lads nearly out of work and the game is nearly on us.

Leaving all the shite talk by JMcG/Gallagher and the posters on both sides of the fence (some further a field) it's the football that will do the talking now. As a Mayo man it's not an unusual position to be heading with a potentially great team , up to Croker not 100% sure what to exoect from us. Thinking about it all week though the one think that we can expect from our lads is they will die with their boots on which is all we can ask for when playing the All Ireland champions.

For Mayo to win need positive answers to the following questions ,

- Does Dillion have 60 to 65 mins of a vintage Dillion performance in him becuase we need his long range points?
- Is Andy nearing his 2012 form and can he make the ball into the inside line stick unlike the final last September?
- Can Freeman keep his confidence/form on an upward curve and take the battle to Neil McGee?
- Can Aiden O' Shea outshine Neil Gallagher which would be a role reversal form the final last year?
- Will Cillian's shoulder stand up in what will be a ferocious physical battle on Sunday?
- Can we manage Lacey , Murphy and McFadden so they don't inflict the damage they did in the first 10 mins last year?

I don't know if Mayo can answer all these questions but we will give it a right rattle and where else would you want to be other than pitting you wits against the All Ireland champions , a team who ripped up all the percieved notions of how football should be played and took it to a new level , on the August bank holiday weekend!!!!!!!

Mhaigheo Abu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote from: Kimbap on August 02, 2013, 05:16:22 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 02, 2013, 01:43:03 PM
This is great craic, I haven't enjoyed myself as much in years. This game wouldn't be half the occasion if McGuinness/Gallagher hadn't spiced it up.

I fully expect Donegal to park the bus big time for the first half & get in 0-3 to 0-2 in front. More of the same in the second half only for Mark McHugh to appear with 10 minutes to go & win the game with a goal.
James Horans cap will go on fire, Pat Spillane's head will explode & Jimmy will give a gracious interview while at the same time putting us all on notice about shady goings on in Monaghan/Tyrone.

Summer in Ireland, where else would you get it!!!

Great craic for Mayo and the rest of the country.I be fairly red faced if i was from Donegal.Jimmy and his mate ranting and making clowns of themselves and no reaction from the Mayo camp.Backfired big time.

Ken Shannon, all this direct tampering of public opinion by you is below the Mayo back-room team.

I'd be red-faced if I was Mayo and wasn't still sunburnt from the good weather.

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 02, 2013, 04:08:19 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 02, 2013, 03:53:38 PM

That's better out!!

The fact that Jimmy and Rory feel necessary to indulge in this sort of stuff makes me think that maybe *they* believe they are not at the same level this year, and it's time for desperate measures.[/b]

That's the reason they're at it IMO. Lacey not match fit, McHugh out, poor bench in comparison to the other quarter finalists. I don't think Mayo are stupid enough to fall for it either. Mayo by 2 with Freeman's ball winning inside the joker in the pack.
Yup all the way. You got it bang on.
Mind you, I'll feel short changed if there only 2 in it at the end.

As I said to Bluestack earlier, the two lads may well be trying to psyche their own team but they got no hearing anywhere else.
One gets to blather away on 2FM for a few minutes and the other fills a few column inches on Hoganstand and that's about the height of it.
As far as I can see, no major media outlet has paid any attention to either of them. It's fair to say that whatever public reaction there has been was negative. I imagine Horan is the happier manager right now. He knows he's got them well and truly rattled.
He might even manage a smile or show some sign of emotion. (Doubtful on both counts, I know but if this doesn't jizz him up, nothing ever will.)

Sam2011

Quote from: Whitnail on August 02, 2013, 05:02:09 PM

Agree with Ballinaman, that Boyle is a big player for us. He is having a great season so far.
I am currentely re-watching the final again and our FF line was hopeless and I've only got to the 29th minute. It was the 8th minute before they won a ball and at the stage they had lost the first 4 or 5 balls sent in. Meanwhile, Donegal's forwards had scored 1-1.
So Moran, O'Connor and Freeman are going to be key men for this game. They have to be able to win their own and either win a free, score or lay it off. Basic but something Varley, O'Connor and Conroy failed to do way too often last year.