Mayo v Donegal all ireland quarter final Sunday Aug 4 4.00pm

Started by maigheo, July 27, 2013, 08:55:47 PM

Mayo will certainly put in a performance, of that we can be sure but I fear their achilles hill will come back to haunt them. I'm a broken record about this but Mayo's forwards are a real worry, would any of them make a forward line selected from the remaining teams in the competition? Their best forwards are all coming back from injury or are out injured and Freeman looks like the type of forward that could wreck havoc with space but will be a non-factor against a Donegal type of defence.

Mayo are up there with the best but unlike all the others they lack a forward with the X-factor, their young full forward in the minor team looks like he might have it, but none of the seniors have it. Andy Moran is the closest but he was disappointing against London and O'Connor, while developing nicely, is coming back from injury and lacks the pace to really trouble blanket defences.

This might be the weekend for Mayo to catch Donegal but I worry their  lack of firepower and pace in the forward line could lead a frustrating day and a week of post-mortems here.

Hope they do it though.

donegal lad

Quote from: INDIANA on August 01, 2013, 12:02:56 PM
I would imagine most Donegal fans are embarrassed by his outburst.

Its like something you'd hear at 3am at closing time.
Dublin friend of mine told me about this this morning and honestly felt she was taking the piss that no one in their right mind could come out with that statement. Then I read the piece and was angry more than embarrassed. Gallagher speaks to media far to much don't see any other trainers etc talking to the media like he does. Donegal has is a proud gaa county and comments like this just make us look like a laughing stock

Quote from: Zulu on August 01, 2013, 12:51:22 PM
Mayo will certainly put in a performance, of that we can be sure but I fear their achilles hill will come back to haunt them. I'm a broken record about this but Mayo's forwards are a real worry, would any of them make a forward line selected from the remaining teams in the competition? Their best forwards are all coming back from injury or are out injured and Freeman looks like the type of forward that could wreck havoc with space but will be a non-factor against a Donegal type of defence.

Mayo are up there with the best but unlike all the others they lack a forward with the X-factor, their young full forward in the minor team looks like he might have it, but none of the seniors have it. Andy Moran is the closest but he was disappointing against London and O'Connor, while developing nicely, is coming back from injury and lacks the pace to really trouble blanket defences.

This might be the weekend for Mayo to catch Donegal but I worry their  lack of firepower and pace in the forward line could lead a frustrating day and a week of post-mortems here.

Hope they do it though.

Valid concerns and ones most Mayo fans would share.

I'd hardly say Andy was disappointing against London, he set up most of the goals and plenty of points. There's a lot of confusion in some quarters as to what he's supposed to be. He's an 11, a Mark McHugh or Karl Lacey, a play-maker, not a Murphy or McFadden. His job isn't to rack up huge scores. He played last season out of position at 14 and was a lock for an All-Star but for his injury. Not many players gave the ability to do  that.

Mayo need one of their out-and-out full-forwards to step up but they certainly have a player in Moran that is a marque forward. I'd say Kevin McLaughlin is of a similar calibur in what he does, it's just he's not a full-forward either. Mayo's problem isn't their entire forward line but 13-15.

StephenC

Getting bored (and a wee bit embarrassed) with all this rubbish from the Donegal camp now. The Mayo folks were already whipping themselves into a frenzy of hatred (and I don't use that work lightly) and this just adds fuel to the fire.

An Gaeilgoir

Quote from: sans pessimism on August 01, 2013, 12:36:43 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 01, 2013, 10:41:14 AM
Quote from: sans pessimism on August 01, 2013, 08:17:36 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 01, 2013, 08:07:30 AM
Can't see Donegal losing this one.
based on......

Based on the fact that I actually reckon the best thing that happened to Donegal was losing to Monaghan.  Any complacency that existed in preparation or on a match day is completely eradicated now and if Karl Lacey and McHugh are back on board anywhere near their best then I can't see any reason as to why Mayo will beat them.  Mayo haven't played any top side this year yet and I would be worried that they don't really have anyone up front who will do a lot of damage from play.  I just feel that Donegal have been gearing towards Croke Park and now that they are there they will turn it on.
not Mayos fault that teams weren't up to scratch .I believe that they are
a very focused unit and dont buy into the idea that the fact that they haven't been
seriously tested will come against them .Its all about peaking at the right time.I
also believe that this bunch will die in their boots before they're beaten

Finally some sense in here, agree totally Sans. Another big change this year, is the lack of sound bites from Mayo, no players in the media giving the usual old shite "We have learned from the past, blah, blah, blah"....not a single word, silence is indeed golden,total focus is required by the team, no side shows are required...........i expect an almighty team performance from Mayo on Sunday.............if we dont win it fair enough, but this team will not lie down for any one.

Its not long ago when we were fearful of going to Pearse stadium to face Galway and we saw what Mayo team came out that day, Mayo have been going through the motions since then, The top Gaelic football teams are now all about peaking for the August bank holiday and kicking on from there.

Bring it on!

Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 01, 2013, 10:53:43 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 01, 2013, 10:37:44 AM
Gallagher accuses Mayo of "colluding" with Monaghan
01 August 2013

Donegal selector Rory Gallagher with manager Jim McGuinnessSunday's All-Ireland SFC quarter-final between Donegal and Mayo is rapidly becoming the GAA's biggest grudge match in years.

It follows sensational claims made by Donegal assistant manager Rory Gallagher that Mayo offered advice to Monaghan on how to beat the All-Ireland champions when the counties met in a challenge match before the Ulster final. And this has led Gallagher to believe that the heavy challenge by Monaghan's Stephen Gollogly that forced Mark McHugh's early withdrawal, and which left the Kilcar man with concussion, a burst ear drum and a quad muscle injury, was pre-meditated.

"Maybe we suspect there was a bit of collusion between Monaghan and Mayo," Gallagher said in the Irish News.

"Bear in mind Lee Keegan's tackle on Mark McHugh at the start of last year's All-Ireland final. When Lee Keegan got booked, he came out and winked at a team-mate as if to say 'job done'.

"I don't believe for one minute that Gollogly went out to do the harm he did. He went out to hit him hard, but our player came out of it badly. I know Gollogly hurt himself as well.

"I don't believe Malachy O'Rourke sent any player out to 'do' anyone. That is not in his nature. But ask some of the top referees to view the incident. Was it a dangerous tackle? It was reckless and dangerous. At the end of the day, that deserves a red card."

The former Fermanagh star also claimed that well-known sports psychologist Kieran Shannon is advising Mayo manager James Horan on what to say to the media.

"I think Horan works to a pre-mediated script and I think Kieran Shannon is behind a good bit of it," Gallagher continued.

"I know Shannon fairly well. He was involved with Fermanagh when Malachy O'Rourke was there. I think Shannon is behind Horan's statements." - See more at: http://www.hoganstand.com/Mayo/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=197876#sthash.sYWa3Iiq.dpuf

For crying out loud. This is the greatest load of rubbish & proof that it is the media who are bigging this "feud"

1 Sunday's match is not "the biggest grudge match in years" Pure journalism of the worst type trying to stoke things up.

2 What is "sensational" about Mayo & Monaghan talking about Donegal. It would have been sensational if they hadn't!!

3 Nowhere does the article produce anything to support their assertion that Gallagher thought the "heavy challenge" on McHugh was pre-meditated. In fact Gallagher is quoted a couple of lines farther down "I don't believe for one minute that Gallogly went out to do the damage he did" and again "I don't believe Malachy O'Rourke sent anyone out to "do" anyone.

This is all crap of the highest order & I can now see all the usual suspects coming out "Donegal this & Donegal that". McGuinness will be landed on despite the fact that he isn't included in this at all & the most controversial thing in this article is that Mayo & Monaghan "discussed" Donegal. They even manage to fit in the loaded term "colluded" just for dramatic effect.

It's so comical & transparent that it's nearly funny. But I would rather spend time discussing the game that a whole day of fellas going off at the deep end about fiction like this.

Okay, Bluestack, I agree in the main with what you have to say about this being a media spin but I don't think I can go the whole distance with you.

Whatever the journalist has to say, I assume that the remarks attributed to Gallagher are accurately reported and they are worth looking at.
Take this for instance:
"Maybe we suspect there was a bit of collusion between Monaghan and Mayo," Gallagher said in the Irish News.

WTF is he on about?
How could any half-sane individual make sense of that?
How can you have a bit of collusion or a half kick some one up the arse, for that matter?

There was collusion or there wasn't; there can be no half measures.
But he doesn't claim there was as he just suspects there might have been or - maybe he doesn't.

How 'bout this?
When Lee Keegan got booked, he came out and winked at a team-mate as if to say 'job done'.

How does he know what Lee Keegan meant when he winked at anyone or for that matter, how could he tell that Keegan winked at all?
Keegan committed an absolutely stupid foul in full view of the bloody ref and was lucky not to be sent off. Here's Gallagher insinuating that it was part of a premeditated approach.

"I don't believe Malachy O'Rourke sent any player out to 'do' anyone. That is not in his nature. But ask some of the top referees to view the incident."

No, I frigging won't.
He made the statement so it was up to him to back it up.

If Lee Keegan's tackle was premeditated and Gollogly's wasn't, where is the element of collusion between Mayo and Monaghan?

"I think Horan works to a pre-mediated script and I think Kieran Shannon is behind a good bit of it," Gallagher continued.
Not a shred of evidence to back this up either and, given what he had to say about Keegan's tackle, the inference is clear.

No, this bollix doesn't need any journalist to stir shite; he is a master of the art himself.

liihb

QuoteNo, this bollix doesn't need any journalist to stir shite; he is a master of the art himself.

Amen to that. What a load of paranoid nonsense.....he's not as good at the media management as Jim is....
Every time you open your mouth you have this wonderful ability to continually confirm what I think.

Lads you're all wired up if you think this is a mistake by Jim and Rory. They're not coming over too well but the more I think of it the more it makes sense.

The bigger and bigger they make this match and the more they try and rile Mayo the much better it suits them. Mayo notoriously don't do well on the big occasion. This is a real test of Horan I think. Surely reading all this would have the players hopping off the walls and I think McGuinness wants them so hyped that they forget to play football the way they should.

The more Horan can get them to forget about this nonsense being spouted in the paper the better it will be for Mayo.

An Gaeilgoir

Quote from: liihb on August 01, 2013, 01:32:55 PM
QuoteNo, this bollix doesn't need any journalist to stir shite; he is a master of the art himself.

Amen to that. What a load of paranoid nonsense.....he's not as good at the media management as Jim is....

For the life of me, i can't understand why ye are all getting so het up about, i couldn't give a f**k what some trainer says, if he spouting this shite, his focus is not on what he is supposed to be doing and i'm sure the Donegal lads on the team are delighted that he is coming out with this....not, anything that takes the focus away from Mayo and their preparations has to be a good thing, no?

I remember reading an article by some journalist about the Mayo team heading to Croker to play Kerry, the Mayo team were doing interviews day in,  day out and the media was all over us. The team left Mayo by plane from Knock, and it was mentioned that team were all decked out in bermuda shorts and t-shirts heading off......

The following day the same journalist was in Killarney, the Kerry team were all suited and booted in the Kerry gear and got the train up...........this Kerry team was going to war, we were going on our holidays........We know the rest......

A fully focused mindset is as important as the having the star- name fully fit...... with outbursts and shite talk are the Donegal management team in that mindset?

Where have Mayo been since the draw was made last week? not a single peep from them?

Mayo win and it's a shameful and embarrassing episode for McGuinness & Rory.

Donegal win and they're a genius partnership.

That's how our hacks will call it.

Quote from: screenexile on August 01, 2013, 01:40:49 PM
Lads you're all wired up if you think this is a mistake by Jim and Rory. They're not coming over too well but the more I think of it the more it makes sense.

The bigger and bigger they make this match and the more they try and rile Mayo the much better it suits them. Mayo notoriously don't do well on the big occasion. This is a real test of Horan I think. Surely reading all this would have the players hopping off the walls and I think McGuinness wants them so hyped that they forget to play football the way they should.

The more Horan can get them to forget about this nonsense being spouted in the paper the better it will be for Mayo.
Agreed. Think the lads will be grand though, chatting to one of them yesterday. Very relaxed and confident.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 01, 2013, 01:03:07 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 01, 2013, 10:53:43 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 01, 2013, 10:37:44 AM
Gallagher accuses Mayo of "colluding" with Monaghan
01 August 2013

Donegal selector Rory Gallagher with manager Jim McGuinnessSunday's All-Ireland SFC quarter-final between Donegal and Mayo is rapidly becoming the GAA's biggest grudge match in years.

It follows sensational claims made by Donegal assistant manager Rory Gallagher that Mayo offered advice to Monaghan on how to beat the All-Ireland champions when the counties met in a challenge match before the Ulster final. And this has led Gallagher to believe that the heavy challenge by Monaghan's Stephen Gollogly that forced Mark McHugh's early withdrawal, and which left the Kilcar man with concussion, a burst ear drum and a quad muscle injury, was pre-meditated.

"Bear in mind Lee Keegan's tackle on Mark McHugh at the start of last year's All-Ireland final. When Lee Keegan got booked, he came out and winked at a team-mate as if to say 'job done'.

"I don't believe for one minute that Gollogly went out to do the harm he did. He went out to hit him hard, but our player came out of it badly. I know Gollogly hurt himself as well.

"I don't believe Malachy O'Rourke sent any player out to 'do' anyone. That is not in his nature. But ask some of the top referees to view the incident. Was it a dangerous tackle? It was reckless and dangerous. At the end of the day, that deserves a red card."

The former Fermanagh star also claimed that well-known sports psychologist Kieran Shannon is advising Mayo manager James Horan on what to say to the media.

"I know Shannon fairly well. He was involved with Fermanagh when Malachy O'Rourke was there. I think Shannon is behind Horan's statements." - See more at: http://www.hoganstand.com/Mayo/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=197876#sthash.sYWa3Iiq.dpuf

For crying out loud. This is the greatest load of rubbish & proof that it is the media who are bigging this "feud"

1 Sunday's match is not "the biggest grudge match in years" Pure journalism of the worst type trying to stoke things up.

2 What is "sensational" about Mayo & Monaghan talking about Donegal. It would have been sensational if they hadn't!!

3 Nowhere does the article produce anything to support their assertion that Gallagher thought the "heavy challenge" on McHugh was pre-meditated. In fact Gallagher is quoted a couple of lines farther down "I don't believe for one minute that Gallogly went out to do the damage he did" and again "I don't believe Malachy O'Rourke sent anyone out to "do" anyone.

This is all crap of the highest order & I can now see all the usual suspects coming out "Donegal this & Donegal that". McGuinness will be landed on despite the fact that he isn't included in this at all & the most controversial thing in this article is that Mayo & Monaghan "discussed" Donegal. They even manage to fit in the loaded term "colluded" just for dramatic effect.

It's so comical & transparent that it's nearly funny. But I would rather spend time discussing the game that a whole day of fellas going off at the deep end about fiction like this.

Okay, Bluestack, I agree in the main with what you have to say about this being a media spin but I don't think I can go the whole distance with you.

Whatever the journalist has to say, I assume that the remarks attributed to Gallagher are accurately reported and they are worth looking at.
Take this for instance:

WTF is he on about?
How could any half-sane individual make sense of that?
How can you have a bit of collusion or a half kick some one up the arse, for that matter?

There was collusion or there wasn't; there can be no half measures.
But he doesn't claim there was as he just suspects there might have been or - maybe he doesn't.

How 'bout this?
When Lee Keegan got booked, he came out and winked at a team-mate as if to say 'job done'.

How does he know what Lee Keegan meant when he winked at anyone or for that matter, how could he tell that Keegan winked at all?
Keegan committed an absolutely stupid foul in full view of the bloody ref and was lucky not to be sent off. Here's Gallagher insinuating that it was part of a premeditated approach.

"I don't believe Malachy O'Rourke sent any player out to 'do' anyone. That is not in his nature. But ask some of the top referees to view the incident."

No, I frigging won't.
He made the statement so it was up to him to back it up.

If Lee Keegan's tackle was premeditated and Gollogly's wasn't, where is the element of collusion between Mayo and Monaghan?

Not a shred of evidence to back this up either and, given what he had to say about Keegan's tackle, the inference is clear.

No, this bollix doesn't need any journalist to stir shite; he is a master of the art himself.

You start by agreeing with a very biased Donegal man that its media spin but conclude as in bold above! Which is it then?

Quote from: ONeill on August 01, 2013, 01:48:10 PM
Mayo win and it's a shameful and embarrassing episode for McGuinness & Rory.

Donegal win and they're a genius partnership.

That's how our hacks will call it.

Live by the sword . . . die by the sword!

Quote from: screenexile on August 01, 2013, 01:40:49 PM

Wouldn't agree that it's having any effect on the Mayo squad. It may be getting supporters riled and selling more newspapers but it's having little impact on Mayo I'd say, they'll know exactly what they are trying to do and like all top squads they'll be preaching the 'control the controllables' mantra.

I'd also disagree that Mayo don't do well on the big occasions, this Mayo squad have generally performed very well on the big occasion so I think they'll perform on Sunday, the only question is will it be good enough. If it's not then Mayo are probably short of being an All Ireland contender as Donegal are there for the taking.