Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 06:24:54 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 21, 2013, 06:07:28 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 06:01:15 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 21, 2013, 05:52:22 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on July 21, 2013, 05:43:47 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 21, 2013, 05:41:05 PM
Delighted for Monaghan but I think Donegal are busted flush. To beat them all you have to do is play them at their own game and when you do there's at least 6 counties with better teams and panels.

The trick (easier said than done of course) is to get in front on the scoreboard.  Then they have to come out of their defensive pattern, and that opens up more space for your forwards.

Don't think that's the trick at all. If you play as they do then you'll beat them as they've a number of decent but not great IC footballers. Donegal set up to make your scoring efforts difficult and their own fairly easy. If you don't pour forward then the best teams will beat them as they have better players by and large. Donegal to be fair probably lack a bit of hunger but I'd be surprised if this squad wins another All Ireland.

It is the trick Zulu. And to prove it do a roll call of how many times donegal have been behind in since 2010 after 20 minutes.

Yes, but the key is to set up correctly and keep in the game. It doesn't matter if you are ahead or behind as long as it's not by much. The problem starts when you fall 4 or 5 points behind in the second half.

The trick is to get them to come and out and play and thats what Monaghan did. You can't do that if you're behind. The key was going 0-4 to Nil up. Never looked like losing after that and the space afforded because Donegal had to push forward ensured they could break out and get scores.

Being two points behind donegal is like 6 points to most teams. So it does matter hugely whether you are two points up or down.

You can't set up to be in front at any point in a game. All you can do is set up to (likely) be in the game as Down, Monaghan and Dublin did against Donegal, once you do that many teams will probably beat Donegal.

Fair play to Monaghan they got everything spot on.

I remember a few Monaghan lads were sceptical at O'Rourkes appointment ... I'm sure they're not saying the same now. An excellent manager who knows what he's at. Can't see them winning it but they've delivered on what they threatened. Monaghan of 4/5 years ago I think were a better team but mever delivered a championship but fair play to this team they deserve it!

Congrats to Monaghan, Malachy O'Rourke deserves a huge amount of credit. Darren Hughes is just superb, he's the heartbeat of that side. I wouldn't be writing of Donegal just yet, all the big contenders have shown weaknesses bar maybe Mayo & if they end up playing Donegal the piss poor standard they met in Connacht could be considered their 'weakness'.

Shock result of the summer, well done to Monaghan on the double Ulster title wins enjoy lads. As for Donegal they look hungover from last year hard to pick it up again when you have won the big prize going to be tough with the six day turnaround but would be foolish to write them off yet.

gwan-ye-boy-ya

Just Amazing. Im in tears.

WELL DONE MONAGHAN

Schkite

Quote from: screenexile on July 21, 2013, 06:55:00 PM

I remember a few Monaghan lads were sceptical at O'Rourkes appointment ... I'm sure they're not saying the same now. An excellent manager who knows what he's at. Can't see them winning it but they've delivered on what they threatened. Monaghan of 4/5 years ago I think were a better team but mever delivered a championship but fair play to this team they deserve it!

He's a fantastic manager, should have another Ulster to his name from 2008 if Fermanagh had a decent freetaker then.

You have a point that Monaghan may have had a better team a few years ago, but I think O'Rourke has brought new life perhaps to a few of the older players after the disastrous last two years, when I'm sure the older heads were thinking they'd retire with no championship medals to their name. Add to that the development of the likes of McManus and Darren Hughes into the team's most important players (imo), and the younger players like K Hughes, Walsh, Wylie, McGuinness into key figures and it's a nice balance of youth and experience at the minute. When you look at the back 4(including Beggan in goals), it's especially young, and they stood up to the challenge today.

Absolutely made up for the lads who've been there over the last ten years; Tommy, Jap, Dick, Lennon, Vinny, Dessie, Jinxy. Great servants to the county and this day is richly deserved.

Sheedy

well done monaghan. delighted for them. real jealous, hope down can get a day like that sooner rather than later.

gwan-ye-boy-ya

Quote from: Main Street on July 21, 2013, 06:05:53 PM
I think I'll just sit down and watch that game again  ;D

Im just about to do the same  ;D

Schkite

Quote from: gwan-ye-boy-ya on July 21, 2013, 07:12:23 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 21, 2013, 06:05:53 PM
I think I'll just sit down and watch that game again  ;D

Im just about to do the same  ;D

Still don't think it's struck me what an achievement it was today.

Minor and Senior double. First Ulster minor since 1945, first Ulster senior since 1988. A truly momentous day for the county.

gwan-ye-boy-ya

Quote from: Schkite on July 21, 2013, 07:09:29 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 21, 2013, 06:55:00 PM

He's a fantastic manager, should have another Ulster to his name from 2008 if Fermanagh had a decent freetaker then.

You have a point that Monaghan may have had a better team a few years ago, but I think O'Rourke has brought new life perhaps to a few of the older players after the disastrous last two years, when I'm sure the older heads were thinking they'd retire with no championship medals to their name. Add to that the development of the likes of McManus and Darren Hughes into the team's most important players (imo), and the younger players like K Hughes, Walsh, Wylie, McGuinness into key figures and it's a nice balance of youth and experience at the minute. When you look at the back 4(including Beggan in goals), it's especially young, and they stood up to the challenge today.

Absolutely made up for the lads who've been there over the last ten years; Tommy, Jap, Dick, Lennon, Vinny, Dessie, Jinxy. Great servants to the county and this day is richly deserved.

If this team can produce the same performance then just MAYBE theres an AI for them. Ulster was the holy grail for monaghan and im so so happy for the men mentioned above

And this Cavan's breakthrough year 'n'all :P

gwan-ye-boy-ya

Quote from: bennydorano on July 21, 2013, 07:19:47 PM
And this Cavan's breakthrough year 'n'all :P

Sure we'll see ye in croker  ;)

Thinking of the great Monaghan servants not on the starting 15 (or squad) today. Gary Mc Quaid, Clerkin, tommy freeman, damian freeman, JP Mone, Rory Woods, Hanratty and others.

Quote from: trileacman on July 21, 2013, 07:45:32 PM
Thinking of the great Monaghan servants not on the starting 15 (or squad) today. Gary Mc Quaid, Clerkin, tommy freeman, damian freeman, JP Mone, Rory Woods, Hanratty and others.

tommy freeman scored

dick clerkin played