Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

southtyronegael

Ronan o Neill was a star ai winning minor and has 2 o Neill cups for his club and mickey still cant make a county footballer out of him. Says more about the type of coach Harte is than blaming Ronan.

TyroneOnlooker

Yawn.....the anti-harte posts really do get boring.

bigtogs

I am not taking a pop at Ronan O'Neill he obviously struggles with his condition..... but what i do find hard to believe after 5/6 years on a county panel he continually seems very rarely in the correct condition to play at this level.....

southtyronegael

Conan grugan, omagh. Shea mc guigan Ardboe

bigpackiechestout

Quote from: southtyronegael on February 19, 2018, 03:10:15 PM

Connor O'Donnell was the best player by a distance in the Tyrone Club Championship last year and would have been worth a go this season I reckon.

However by and large we have the best players in Tyrone on the panel and while the lads that have been mentioned are definitely as good as some current panel members, none of them would be certain starters or make too much of an impact in my opinion.

We've a few real class acts Niall Sludden, Colm Cavanagh, Mattie Donnelly. But after that we have just ordinary footballers who could be interchanged without noticing any difference in the team. If we've designs on winning anything this year you'd want 10+ of the other squad members upping their performance levels significantly.
Dunno if Harte is the problem or not. Perhaps he's getting the best out of what he has at his disposal.

toby47

Slightly off topic and random but I was having a discussion with two Tyrone men in work today.

Who would you say is the best 3 footballers currently on the Tyrone panel?

I went for 1) Colm Cavanagh 2) Peter Harte and 3) Niall Sludden

I was surprised none of the other two had Peter Harte in their top 3.

Knock Yer Mucker In

Quote from: Tyrone Gaa on February 14, 2018, 03:54:00 PM
Quote from: tiempo on February 14, 2018, 03:31:39 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on February 14, 2018, 03:20:25 PM
Heard mc namee and mark Bradley have fell out of favour with mickey. Both caught boozing after one of the Wednesday sigerson games.

Caught? I know Sparky looks young but he's of age. Was Mickey hiding in the bushes/back of the Hatfield or something? Is it a team of monks he wants? Lord help them, training ground fodder 2018 if you get on the wrong side of the Godly one.

Wouldn't be hard to catch, its all over the different forms of social media some of the house parties being held after UUJ victories.  I say fair play to the lads, there students enjoy these days, savour the victories.  If you cant enjoy the big victories why play football?

Here here!!
local expert is as sick as a dog, ate to many mc dollars

Knock Yer Mucker In

Quote from: trailer on February 19, 2018, 03:49:51 PM
We've a few real class acts Niall Sludden, Colm Cavanagh, Mattie Donnelly. But after that we have just ordinary footballers who could be interchanged without noticing any difference in the team. If we've designs on winning anything this year you'd want 10+ of the other squad members upping their performance levels significantly.
Dunno if Harte is the problem or not. Perhaps he's getting the best out of what he has at his disposal.

100% correct, that is essentially the problem, there is not one forward outside of Bradley we would fear playing a club championship game, and were no big shakes. when you go back 10/15 years and think that you could have SON, Canavan, Cavanagh, Mulligan Calvin, each would have scared the shite out of ya, and that's the bottom line.
local expert is as sick as a dog, ate to many mc dollars

Quote from: Knock Yer Mucker In on February 19, 2018, 04:23:08 PM

100% correct, that is essentially the problem, there is not one forward outside of Bradley we would fear playing a club championship game, and were no big shakes. when you go back 10/15 years and think that you could have SON, Canavan, Cavanagh, Mulligan Calvin, each would have scared the shite out of ya, and that's the bottom line.

So is back to back Ulster's and regular AI semi final appearances a decent return for a squad devoid of really top class forwards? It does suggest maybe Mickey has looked closely at the squad and decided we were never going to go toe to toe with Dublin and Kerry like we did 10 years ago.

bigpackiechestout

Quote from: Degrassi Hi on February 19, 2018, 04:51:22 PM

Quote from: southtyronegael on February 19, 2018, 03:10:15 PM

So basically these 2 men are the missing links that will lead us to the Holy grail. Lord God
Both have been road tested at county level. Grugan whilst being stylish on the ball is both lazy & passive, was bullied round the field by old man Clerkin when he got his start.
McGuigan I'd have more time for but the great white hope of another Brian emerging to the scene raised the expectancy levels Shea didn't deliver & he left the Tyrone panel eith a few more easties to wash cars.

Someone also mentioned O'Donnell, great championship last year & happy for the kid after all that happened but manys a man had good club championships but wouldnt be near a county squad - in 2016 Dan McNulty was the man & there are countless numbers of examples of players having good tournament games but long term won't make the cut. Toto Schillachi's alot of them unfortunately.

A'la Sven Goran Erikson and Walcott in '06, maybe Mickey might call up Darragh Canavan ahead of the Championship!

In hiding

I can smell another plant

Quote from: In hiding on February 19, 2018, 05:21:44 PM
I can smell another plant

Sorry but I'm a genuine contributor.

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: Degrassi Hi on February 19, 2018, 02:44:22 PM
You can say what you want about Ronan O'Neill but he has scored some vital goals in his career for both club and county.  Conditioning wise he was probably in better nick last year but its early days as far as championship is concerned. O'Neill still possesses a ruthless streak in front of goal when the opportunity presents itself.

Could any of the contributors to this site name a player or players playing club football in Tyrone that are capable of making the grade on this present County squad.  I can only think of one - Johnny Munroe (who opted out for personal Carmen reasons).

It's less a case of him being out of shape, Tyrone won't be judged on the league - they are past that stage of their development (even though I did state earlier they could be relegated). O'Neill and Tyrone themselves will be well ready for the real action in May.

I'd say O'Neill weight 'gain' is entirely thought out with the intention of losing whatever excess there might be/appear to be in the next 4-6 weeks.

Still all very early in 2018 as yet. Nobody has played their hand yet.

Club boi

Quote from: GetOverTheBar on February 19, 2018, 05:28:17 PM
Quote from: Degrassi Hi on February 19, 2018, 02:44:22 PM
You can say what you want about Ronan O'Neill but he has scored some vital goals in his career for both club and county.  Conditioning wise he was probably in better nick last year but its early days as far as championship is concerned. O'Neill still possesses a ruthless streak in front of goal when the opportunity presents itself.

Could any of the contributors to this site name a player or players playing club football in Tyrone that are capable of making the grade on this present County squad.  I can only think of one - Johnny Munroe (who opted out for personal Carmen reasons).

It's less a case of him being out of shape, Tyrone won't be judged on the league - they are past that stage of their development (even though I did state earlier they could be relegated). O'Neill and Tyrone themselves will be well ready for the real action in May.

I'd say O'Neill weight 'gain' is entirely thought out with the intention of losing whatever excess there might be/appear to be in the next 4-6 weeks.

Still all very early in 2018 as yet. Nobody has played their hand yet.

Correct, Dublin have played half a team, Donegal blooding in new players, Kerry playing with a pile of youngsters but Tyrone - Full Out bar CC and cant win a game

Long year ahead