Heaviest hidings at county level

Started by ONeill, April 22, 2013, 12:40:40 AM

Opening round of the Connacht Championship last year, Galway 3-15 Roscommon 10 pts in Dr Hyde

Quote from: rodney trotter on April 22, 2013, 10:51:57 AM
Opening round of the Connacht Championship last year, Galway 3-15 Roscommon 10 pts in Dr Hyde
Ros played like a poor D3 team really  ;)

Quote from: rrhf on April 22, 2013, 10:17:21 AM
In 1996 Tyrone gave Derry a serious hiding in Clones.  We had been listening all year about what Derry were going to do after 1995.  Then as the game proceeded we realised what was unfolding was the end of an era for Derry football and the complete annihilation of some of Derrys greatest ever footballers.   The sun shone brightly that day I can tell ye.

Are you sure rrhf?
According to my friend wiki it was 1.13 to 1.08

So have we found a 20+ points victory for anyone yet in the last 30 years?
So far we've got...
Mayo's win over Rossies by 20 points in 2009 Connacht semifinal
Tyrone's win over Fermanagh by 19 in 2003 AI quarterfinal
Down's win over Offaly by 18 points in 2008 Round 1 of Qualifiers

Any others? What's Dublin's biggest win in the last 10/20 years?

Looks like the GAAINFO.COM domain has indeed expired.

Quote from: Fuzzman on April 22, 2013, 10:53:56 AM
In 1996 Tyrone gave Derry a serious hiding in Clones.  We had been listening all year about what Derry were going to do after 1995.  Then as the game proceeded we realised what was unfolding was the end of an era for Derry football and the complete annihilation of some of Derrys greatest ever footballers.   The sun shone brightly that day I can tell ye.

Are you sure rrhf?

So far we've got...

I think fuzzman is correct. Did we not tank tyrone out the door in 97 by a big score like 2-015 to 2_05

95, 96, and 97 were great warm sunny days in clones. Where the feck have them sunny das have gone to!!

Semi final 2.15 to 2.03 in Clones
I watched it with the same Tyrone lad & 2 Derry lads that came with us to the '95 we beat Derry with 13 men match

Ye Derry folk certainly enjoyed that rare day in the sun only for Cavan to beat ye in the final 1.14 to 0.16

Wasn't our heaviest hiding but for me that was our worst championship defeat/performance. After that game Galway lost to Sligo at home and were knocked out of the championship by Antrim. At least when we were hammered by Galway 2008 and Mayo 2009 they went on to win the Connacht championship.

A few others

2004 Dublin 3-24 London 0-6 (27pts)
2004 Mayo 3-28 New York 1-8 (26pts)
2004 Dublin 3-24 London 0-6 (27pts)
2004 Galway 8-14 London 0-8 (30pts)
2000 Roscommon 4-18 London 0-10 (20pts)
1999 Cork 3-23 Waterford 0-4 (28pts)

Quote from: ross4life on April 22, 2013, 11:24:57 AM

Wasn't our heaviest hiding but for me that was our worst championship defeat/performance. After that game Galway lost to Sligo at home and were knocked out of the championship by Antrim. At least when we were hammered by Galway 2008 and Mayo 2009 they went on to win the Connacht championship.

Yeah it was a real off day for the Ross , Meehan came off the bench after the long lay off and kicked a few great scores. Galway were very disappointing in the Semi against Sligo.

Played London in the back door in 2004
Dublin 3-24 London 0-6, so 27 point margin

Also beat Longford by 19 in 2005.

QuoteAlso beat Longford by 19 in 2005.

Yes - I can attest to that  :-[

We beat Westmeath by 27 points in 2009 too ahead of the Kerry hiding

QuoteWe beat Westmeath by 27 points in 2009

Ah - that was a glorious day to be sure  ;D

BluestackBoy

Any game involving the Kilkenny footballers :'( :'(
For what shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world & loses his soul.

Hurling, by it's nature, leads to some high scores. Offaly have taken some dire ones in the past, especially the 31 point mauling by the Cats. However that Waterford destruction in the AIF was painful to watch even as a neutral.

pullhard

Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 22, 2013, 12:43:44 PM
Any game involving the Kilkenny footballers :'( :'(

To easy a target.

How about the 2008 hurling final, the greatest display i've ever seen from any sporting team, ever, 3-30 v 1-13. I think the cats only hit two wides all game

Quote from: theticklemister on April 22, 2013, 11:08:06 AM

Are you sure rrhf?

So far we've got...

I think fuzzman is correct. Did we not tank tyrone out the door in 97 by a big score like 2-015 to 2_05

95, 96, and 97 were great warm sunny days in clones. Where the feck have them sunny das have gone to!!
\

It may be that the scoreboard didnt reflect the smashing that we gave that great Derry team.  Going home that night the Valley in Fivemiletown seen the mother of all parties.  It was great day for football -  we were the team that had beat the team that couldnt be beat twice and we had done it the Tyrone way.