FRC proposals...black cards, marks etc

Started by yellowcard, March 19, 2013, 07:59:57 PM

Having seen Armagh up close in the League last year I can see why Grim Grimley is agin them. Armagh will suffer most than most and this is to be welcomed.

One foul now and you're sent off. Is it the only sport in the world where this happens ?

They've used the 14 pound sledge to crack the nut again.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 06, 2014, 10:34:40 AM
Having seen Armagh up close in the League last year I can see why Grim Grimley is agin them. Armagh will suffer most than most and this is to be welcomed.
While I agree with the black card rule and hope it works out, Armagh had a player black carded incorrectly yesterday and I suppose that this is the background to this.
How in under of Jaysus will Armagh suffer more than most under this rule?  I know you will refer back to Brendan Donaghy's trip in our league game against ye in the league last year but this is a sweeping generalistaion if ever there was one.  Armagh shipped a lot of heavy scores last year with a defence as open as anybody's in the country.  Grimley is trying to make Armagh more attack minded (how well this has worked is subject to debate) but if you're going to spout crap on the board at least get your facts right!

The focus will be more and more on the poor referee who has a baying crowd shouting and roaring and encouraging for the ref to send players off and who has only a split second to decide whether or not a deliberate foul had taken place.

It was bad enough yesterday in smaller crowds, what is it going to be like for a ref with 30,000 spectators or even more roaring at him ?.

The principle of removing cynical fouls is grand - but the black card is an over reaction especially when refs on a few occasions yesterday actually black carded the wrong man.

Also, Paul, it's absolute horseshite to say there were 4 or 5 tackles which were cynical last year. I think I 'scouted' the Kerry Cavan quarter final and counted about 8 in that game alone. Cynical tackling does not simply mean dragging a lad down when he's through on goal. Dec O'Sullivan and Gooch carried out 2 of the most cynical fouls in that game, the fouls that stopped a counter attack at source.

Quote from: orangeman on January 06, 2014, 10:14:00 AM
Armagh manager Paul Grimley feels supporters will become "completely disillusioned" by the black card.

The "Nordie manager anti everything that might stop fouling campaign" in full swing.
Micky H must be taking a back seat this year.
Do these lads not realise that the point of sport is your supposed to play within the rules and suffer a punishment/sanction if you don't.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on January 06, 2014, 07:25:46 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 06, 2014, 10:14:00 AM
Armagh manager Paul Grimley feels supporters will become "completely disillusioned" by the black card.

The "Nordie manager anti everything that might stop fouling campaign" in full swing.
Micky H must be taking a back seat this year.
Do these lads not realise that the point of sport is your supposed to play within the rules and suffer a punishment/sanction if you don't.

As a response to much of the sectarian mirth - black card to all- on here Armagh have played 5 games, including one extra time, under the new rules and have had three black cards. Only one was merited IMO. The problem most people have with the new cards is that we can not be sure they will be applied consistently. As much as the Sean Cavanagh tackle in the Monaghan game will be punished in all likelihood the Darren Hughes tackle in the same match for which he was given a yellow would have resulted in a black card. Which is the greater travesty.

I agree with the majority of posters  that Armagh will probably suffer more than most with the black card rule. But why punish other counties as well? As one poster correctly pointed out if we make rules to deal with the Armagh and kerry.s of this world we are  perhaps cracking a walnut with a hammer.

nippycornerman

Rest up boys and keep yer powder dry until we see how it works out.
The Sean Cavanagh type tackle may be relatively rare in being the most blatant of the year but there are lots other less obvious fouls which still help to destroy good footballers. What will be necessary is that linesmen in particular will need to be much more proactive in bringing the refs attention to fouls taking place outside his line of vision. Many of these are the type which gets the player offended sent off for retaliation. Also it makes no sense to have a ref stop an attacking movement to administer a black card as happened in Saturdays Longford - Mayo Hastings Cup game. [Longford player seemed to have shouted something at the ref]. I think I also heard of a black card being issued for foot block which is completely outside the rules.

I am not sure whether the linesman can call a 'black card' yes they have been noted to call the referee afterwards and the referee has issued a yellow and a red based on what he has told them. As for the foot block he could have seen that as trying with intent to trip a player.

Interpretation, that's what us referees have to look for, think I'll mainly do hurling games this year lol
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: nippycornerman on January 06, 2014, 11:17:05 PM
Rest up boys and keep yer powder dry until we see how it works out.
The Sean Cavanagh type tackle may be relatively rare in being the most blatant of the year but there are lots other less obvious fouls which still help to destroy good footballers. What will be necessary is that linesmen in particular will need to be much more proactive in bringing the refs attention to fouls taking place outside his line of vision. Many of these are the type which gets the player offended sent off for retaliation. Also it makes no sense to have a ref stop an attacking movement to administer a black card as happened in Saturdays Longford - Mayo Hastings Cup game. [Longford player seemed to have shouted something at the ref]. I think I also heard of a black card being issued for foot block which is completely outside the rules.

It was probably a cynical foot block.

Quote from: AFS on January 06, 2014, 07:17:00 PM
For the most part, Armagh have been painfully adherent to the rules this last couple of years. The defeat to Cavan last year is a case in point - there's no way Martin Dunne would've been free to hit 9000 points had our defenders been the big bold boys you paint them as. If anything, Armagh might stand to prosper from the new rules. In contrast to the team of the last decade, the current Armagh side is made up of relatively small, slight and inexperienced footballers. The type much more likely to be victims than perpetrators of cynical fouls. It might be interesting to keep a note of how many black cards Jamie Clarke elicits by the end of the year. If the type of tackling he's had to endure since emerging onto the scene persists, then he may well be responsible for more cards than some whole county sides put together.
I fully agree, rather than suffer more than most we may well benefit from the new rule more than most for the reasons you have listed. Any team that allowed Martin Dunne to score points from play ad nauseum and let Cian Mackey run fifty yards up the field untouched for a goal can not be accused of cynical play by any sane person.  We were rightly accused of being naive in the extreme, the polar opposite of cynical.
SS, I wouldn't pass comment on Longford football based on one league match, probably best if you did the same for Armagh football.

Eoin Cadogan has articulated the big problem with this nonsense. He was on Radio One sports news this morning effectively calling the black card a diver's charter. I'm sure he's not the only defender looking forward with trepidation to being made a fool of by cheats and incompetent referees. Defending is increasingly seen as an evil in the game that must be stamped out so that the "attractive football" brigade can watch fancy forwards scoring without interference, with the help of the odd dive and roll when required to get rid of any defender pesky enough to try and do his job.

Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2014, 11:55:55 AM
Eoin Cadogan has articulated the big problem with this nonsense. He was on Radio One sports news this morning effectively calling the black card a diver's charter. I'm sure he's not the only defender looking forward with trepidation to being made a fool of by cheats and incompetent referees. Defending is increasingly seen as an evil in the game that must be stamped out so that the "attractive football" brigade can watch fancy forwards scoring without interference, with the help of the odd dive and roll when required to get rid of any defender pesky enough to try and do his job.
exactly this