SIPTU threatens 'war'

Started by muppet, February 24, 2013, 02:51:09 PM

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/siptu-threatens-war-without-negotiated-croke-park-deal-585963.html

SIPTU general president Jack O'Connor has threatened "war" if no suitable agreement is reached in the Croke Park talks.

Mr O'Connor said all sides would have to come to a negotiated settlement, or the Government would face protracted public service strike action.

He said: "If we find ourselves in a space where people on the other side expect to achieve more than the absolute minimum that is required, they will stumble into a situation in which we will have to go to war, and it won't be pleasant," he said.

The talks between government representatives and public sector unions could go on past tonight's deadline set down by the Labour Relations Commission.

Today's talks are centred on increasing the working week to 37 hours from 35 hours and placing a three-year freeze on incremental pay increases for public service staff.

Minister for Transport Leo Varadkar has said he is confident agreement could be reached on proposed changes to working hours and pay cuts for public sector workers, but that it may not happen tonight.

Minister Varadkar said there was scope to push the deadline to the talks out further, if required.

"I don't know if it can be sorted out tonight...(but) decisions just have to be made...Whether you make them this weekend or in three days' time doesn't make any difference," he said.

An extra 20 odd mins a day! The cheek of the govt - sure its just a longer, or additional, teabreak for a civil servant.

QuoteIf we find ourselves in a space where people on the other side expect to achieve more than the absolute minimum that is required

I think that sums up SIPTU in a nutshell. We aim to do the absolute minimum.

Premier Emperor

What is O'Connor earning? 120k a year or something ridiculous and a load of other perks too!

McCreevy opened the taps on Public Service salaries in the late 90s- some people had their salaries doubled over a few budgets. If he had it he spent it. Noonon doesn't have it any more. The tax base has collapsed.

The deficit is enormous . Salary cuts are coming.

Three things in life are assured, Death,Taxes, and the selling out of workers by fat-cat union bosses. Dont believe any of this Bull from SIPTU

QuoteToday's talks are centred on increasing the working week to 37 hours from 35 hours and placing a three-year freeze on incremental pay increases for public service staff.

To be honest that doesn't sound all that bad. If public servants avoid pay cuts and/or redundancies they'll do well.

Quote from: magpie seanie on February 26, 2013, 01:05:51 PM
QuoteToday's talks are centred on increasing the working week to 37 hours from 35 hours and placing a three-year freeze on incremental pay increases for public service staff.

To be honest that doesn't sound all that bad. If public servants avoid pay cuts and/or redundancies they'll do well.
Well you would think that, wouldn't you. However, trade unions are typically about the take and not the give.

QuoteHowever, trade unions are typically about the take and not the give.
Anymore sweeping generalisations Tony??

Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 26, 2013, 01:20:01 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 26, 2013, 01:05:51 PM

Well you would think that, wouldn't you. However, trade unions are typically about the take and not the give.

I think it is a double whammy, increase in hours and a reduction in hours that earn overtime. Still I agree that it doesn't look that bad at all.

Quote from: Declan on February 26, 2013, 01:30:33 PM
QuoteHowever, trade unions are typically about the take and not the give.
Anymore sweeping generalisations Tony??
Loads. I suppose you will tell me that unions are quite flexible in their approach to negotiations that affect the greater good. I will then call you a bullshitter. Maybe that is a sweeping generalisation too.

QuoteLoads. I suppose you will tell me that unions are quite flexible in their approach to negotiations that affect the greater good. I will then call you a bullshitter. Maybe that is a sweeping generalisation too.

I'd never say that because I'd argue that their responsibility is to their members and not to the general good anyway.

I think the leadership have been flexible in how they colluded to feck the country up though!!
I'd include Begg in that more than O'Connor though

No discussion on the deal? On first viewing, it seems reasonable enough - those earning the most appear to be taking the biggest hit - but I haven't heard proper counter-arguments (outside of the usual noise from union bosses).

There will be sliding pay cuts for workers earning above €65,000 a year. These are as follows: A 5.5 per cent pay cut (on the first €80,000 of salary and allowances) for staff earning over €65,000 a year
An 8 per cent cut for staff earning over €80,000
A 9 per cent cut for staff earning over €150,000
A 10 per cent cut for staff earning over €185,000.

Working hours will increase across the public service, in an effort to reduce agency costs and to help cover the workload left by staff leaving the sector. Those working under 35 hours a week will now work a minimum of 37 hours. Those working between 35 and 39 hours a week will work a minimum of 39 hours.

Overtime rates will be cut and are now linked to a workers' salary. Those earning under €35,000 will receive overtime at time-and-a-half. Those on over €35,000 will be paid at time-and-a-quarter. Workers currently on 39 hours a week will provide an unpaid hour's overtime.

The Sunday premium will be retained, but at a reduced rate – going from double-time to time-and-three-quarters. Saturday payments are unaffected, but 'Twilight payments' – where staff are paid time-and-one-sixth for work between 6pm and 8pm, or until the end of a rostered shift – will go.

The deal freezes increments for public staff depending on how much they earn. Those on under €35,000 will have their next increment delayed by three months; those between €35,000 and €65,000 will have the next two increments delayed by three months apiece. Staff over €65,000 will have to wait three years for the next increment.

Workers at the top ends of their pay scales will lose either six days of annual leave over the next three years, or half of the value of their last increment, whichever costs them less.

In the education sector, teachers will lose their supervision and substitution payments – though TheJournal.ie understands that entrants in the last two years will maintain this, or alternatively receive a modest salary increase, to reflect larger previous cuts to their salaries since 2010.

The public sector pension levy will be cut modestly, with pay between €15,000 to €20,000 now subject to a rate of 2.5 per cent instead of 5 per cent.

Other measures described by the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform include:
Revisions to flexitime arrangements and work-sharing patterns
Revisions to redeployment provisions, though the 45km maximum limit is thought to be maintained
Strengthened performance management arrangements
Proposals to restructure grades in the public sector

Under the proposals Taoiseach Enda Kenny and Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore would see their pay drop by €14,650 and €13,096 to €185,400 and €171,300 respectively.

Cabinet Ministers would see their pay drop by €11,700 to €157,500 with the same cut applying to the Dáil Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett. Ministers of State would see their pay drop to €121,600.

All TDs would see their annual pay cut from €92,600 to €87,300. The pay of judges, senior civil servants such as Department secretaries general, and the Garda commissioner would also be cut if the proposed measures are agreed to.

(All from www.thejournal.ie)

This seems reasonalbe to me. My wife is a public servant and she is reasonably happy with this too.