Belfast rioting over removal of Union Jack

Started by Maurice Moss, December 04, 2012, 02:04:23 AM

ApresMatch

The walk home for these 'protestors' is a big part of it for them, i.e past the Markets and Short Strand. Bad enough that the police let them onto the road, but the police should insist on the oute they take, and it should be nowhere near the Short Strand.Im in England at the minute so hard to keep up to speed, but are Nationalist leaders putting enough pressure on the police on all this? Like why the f"!* are they tip-toeing around these c*"#s? Get the feeling the police are worried about pissing the loyalists off, but its time they dealt with this properly. Too much disruption for ordinary people!!

After years of seeing PSNI/RUC coming from the republican side, I almost choked on my coffee this weekend when I saw it referred to as PSNIRA by some group on FB.

Next official flag-flying day is this Sunday, birthday of Countess of Wessex.

Saw Alex Maskey there on UTV news. Jaysus he's a tough looking hoor. They should send him out with a lock of hurls and instructions to make splinters.

Quote from: AZOffaly on January 14, 2013, 11:07:04 PM
Saw Alex Maskey there on UTV news. Jaysus he's a tough looking hoor. They should send him out with a lock of hurls and instructions to make splinters.

i think alex was a useful boxer in his day, nice guy- not soft

Quote from: lawnseed on January 14, 2013, 11:10:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 14, 2013, 11:07:04 PM

i think alex was a useful boxer in his day, nice guy- not soft
Wiki says he was a labourer on the docks and won 71 of 75 amateur bouts. Safe to say he would know how to look after himself!

And managed to live after being shot six times I think
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Watched UTV Live there tonight, unbelievable, the loyalists attacked the Short Strand and when the people os SS started to retaliate the PSNI sheltered the loyalists behind their jeeps!

Myles Na G.

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 15, 2013, 12:47:17 AM
Watched UTV Live there tonight, unbelievable, the loyalists attacked the Short Strand and when the people os SS started to retaliate the PSNI sheltered the loyalists behind their jeeps!
Odd. 'Cos all I've heard all week is loyalists complaining that the PSNI have been tough on Prods, easy on Taigs. They've even got a slogan for it - PSNIRA. Maybe the peelers have switched sides? Or maybe you should take your bigot specs off before switching on the telly.

Its starting to take the usual format that the loyalists like to follow, protest for a bit, roar and shout and attack the police, once bored with that then attack the nearest Catholics. At least this time it is with stones and bottles as opposed to machine guns as in the past.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 15, 2013, 07:13:32 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 15, 2013, 12:47:17 AM
Odd. 'Cos all I've heard all week is loyalists complaining that the PSNI have been tough on Prods, easy on Taigs. They've even got a slogan for it - PSNIRA. Maybe the peelers have switched sides? Or maybe you should take your bigot specs off before switching on the telly.

You have heard from who? The loyalists. Please tell me where nationalists have been out protesting, blocking roads, burning flags, attacking homes, attacking disabled peolpe, burning Alliance offices, hijacking buses, stopping old people getting to visit relatives in hospital. You call me a bigot, I would take that as an insult from someone who had a balanced view on things but from you it just seems laughable. Please abstain from commenting further as you clearly are just a wind up merchant, actually dissappointed at myseslf for replying but then again people like you need to put straight.

Quote from: Mac Eoghain on January 15, 2013, 07:35:42 AM
Its got nothing to do with "Tough on x, Easy on y" - Baggott is trying to determine strategically what is the best way that this will disappear in as short as time possible. I'm sure patience with the softly softly approach is getting stretched, but there is no point in making martyrs of the wee f**kers either.

I *hope* that was he was saying yesterday implies they'll go to the doors and lift boys they get on camera. That worked well in london. It would be nice to see some boys who were lying in their bed planning their rioting for the evening getting a wee knock at the door. 85 have been charged which is a reasonable amount and os bound to lessen their numbers. Hopefully there will be a lot more.

Myles when a doctor is trying to get to a terminal patient and the police go and ask the protestors to let them through only to be refused and the doctor turned away questions do need to be asked.

Watch some ardoyne protests and see how them boys were asked to get off the road.

To be fair to the cops it would take a hell of a lot of work sifting through CCTV images to identify the culprits. I'd be hopeful that takes place once the rioting subsides. The manpower required for follow up arrests is more than likely out on street corners every day/night getting petrol bombs lobbed at them!

Quote from: omagh_gael on January 15, 2013, 09:19:20 AM
To be fair to the cops it would take a hell of a lot of work sifting through CCTV images to identify the culprits. I'd be hopeful that takes place once the rioting subsides. The manpower required for follow up arrests is more than likely out on street corners every day/night getting petrol bombs lobbed at them!

Could they not just publish their photos in the News Letter and Tele like they did with the Ardoyne rioters in the Irish News??