Belfast rioting over removal of Union Jack

Started by Maurice Moss, December 04, 2012, 02:04:23 AM

Quote from: armaghniac on January 08, 2013, 12:39:37 PM
QuoteI have a feeling that this would not be legally permitted as the tricolour doesn't have any legal status in the official state in which Newry, Derry, Strabane etc find themselves and would require planning permission.

Surely a flag does not require planning permission,  once the flagpole has such permission.
Are you suggesting that the fleg crowd should take a case that Belfast City Hall needs permission for a change of use!

Under the Town and Country Planning Act 1990, flags come within the definition of advertisement" and their display is controlled by the Town and Country Planning (Control of Advertisements)    Regulations 1992. However, under Schedule 2 of the Regulations, the national flag of any country, and this includes the Union flag, is exempt from advertisement control provided each flag is flown from a single vertical flagpole and neither the flag nor the flagpole display any advertisement additional to the design of the flag.

So you don't need planning permission to fly the Union Flag, but you do to fly the Tricolour or any other flag.

QuoteHowever, under Schedule 2 of the Regulations, the national flag of any country, and this includes the Union flag, is exempt from advertisement control

Tricolour would seem to be fine.

Is flying the union flag upside down covered?
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

NI has its own regulations under The Flags Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2000 which only allows flags other than the Union flag (and strangely the EU flag I believe) to be flown at government buildings when a head of state is visiting.

I assume that council offices are government buildings.

Even the red and white "Ulster" flag is not permitted. 

Ulick

Quote from: Rois on January 08, 2013, 01:12:06 PM
NI has its own regulations under The Flags Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2000 which only allows flags other than the Union flag (and strangely the EU flag I believe) to be flown at government buildings when a head of state is visiting.

I assume that council offices are government buildings.

Even the red and white "Ulster" flag is not permitted.

Not sure about all of this. My local council (Castlereagh) has the old Stormont NI and Union Jack flags up the poles everyday. I'm guessing the  'The Flags Regulations (Northern Ireland) ' Order only regulates government buildings - which aren't the same as council buildings. So Derry, Newry, Limavady and the other nationalist councils could hoist any flag they like.

Quote from: Ulick on January 08, 2013, 01:28:38 PM

Not sure about all of this. My local council (Castlereagh) has the old Stormont NI and Union Jack flags up the poles everyday. I'm guessing the  'The Flags Regulations (Northern Ireland) ' Order only regulates government buildings - which aren't the same as council buildings. So Derry, Newry, Limavady and the other nationalist councils could hoist any flag they like.

Ah - then ignore what I have said.  I was basing it on the assumption that they were government buildings. 

Ulick

Quote from: ziggysego on January 08, 2013, 12:45:33 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 08, 2013, 12:39:37 PM
QuoteI have a feeling that this would not be legally permitted as the tricolour doesn't have any legal status in the official state in which Newry, Derry, Strabane etc find themselves and would require planning permission.

Surely a flag does not require planning permission,  once the flagpole has such permission.
Are you suggesting that the fleg crowd should take a case that Belfast City Hall needs permission for a change of use!

Under the Town and Country Planning Act 1990, flags come within the definition of advertisement" and their display is controlled by the Town and Country Planning (Control of Advertisements)    Regulations 1992. However, under Schedule 2 of the Regulations, the national flag of any country, and this includes the Union flag, is exempt from advertisement control provided each flag is flown from a single vertical flagpole and neither the flag nor the flagpole display any advertisement additional to the design of the flag.

So you don't need planning permission to fly the Union Flag, but you do to fly the Tricolour or any other flag.

Ziggs NI didn't have a Parliament in 1990 so they couldn't have passed an "Act". To see of that applies here you'll be looking for an "Order". 

QuoteSo Derry, Newry, Limavady and the other nationalist councils could hoist any flag they like.

Hopefully, Newry and Mourne would fly the Armagh flag.

Quote from: armaghniac on January 08, 2013, 11:56:01 AM

There's a bloke on Politics.ie (spits) that was always barreling in with the idea of a county by county vote for reunification. Thus giving each county an autonomous decision to leave or stay in the UK. If he ever got his way it would Our Wee Wee Country wouldn't it.

QuoteIf he ever got his way it would Our Wee Wee Country wouldn't it.

It is pretty much piss already.

Quote from: thejuice on January 08, 2013, 03:27:03 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 08, 2013, 11:56:01 AM

There's a bloke on Politics.ie (spits) that was always barreling in with the idea of a county by county vote for reunification. Thus giving each county an autonomous decision to leave or stay in the UK. If he ever got his way it would Our Wee Wee Country wouldn't it.

Why County by County? Why not by Council area, Postal district or by townland. The last partition was a bit broad brush. Wouldn't want to make the same mistake again.

Quote from: snoopdog on January 07, 2013, 03:42:35 PM
Just out of Interest does the Tri Colour fly on days the Dail isnt sitting? IE will there be a flag flying on Leinster house on saturday when the boyos come down for their protest.
sorry might be showing some ignorance here.
Its only a protest so hopefully the knackers from the rira stay away, we dont need anymore love ulster scenarios

I read somewhere it would not even be flying on Saturday. The only flags he will find will be the flags of the EU nations (including the Union flag) at the Dublin council offices. At least he can protest about the Italian flag there.

In 2006 for the "Love Ulster" march they trashed Dublin with construction material but that won't be available this time around ....

The best thing that could happen in Dublin is for Willie and his fools to be left sitting protesting at the dail, no tricolour on display (Dail is not sitting), no Eirigi eejits or Republican Sinn Fein or other scumbags to start trouble and maybe two guards hanging around. What Willie wants is a riot so he can say - "look what happened in Dublin when we asked them to remove their flag, they went mad just like in the North". The TV pictures should show nothing at all then his protest will have the complete opposite effect he was hoping for.

But can we hope the plastic paddies from Eirigi and the like will have the brains to see this - probably not!

Quote from: Itchy on January 08, 2013, 05:22:18 PM
The best thing that could happen in Dublin is for Willie and his fools to be left sitting protesting at the dail, no tricolour on display (Dail is not sitting), no Eirigi eejits or Republican Sinn Fein or other scumbags to start trouble and maybe two guards hanging around. What Willie wants is a riot so he can say - "look what happened in Dublin when we asked them to remove their flag, they went mad just like in the North". The TV pictures should show nothing at all then his protest will have the complete opposite effect he was hoping for.

But can we hope the plastic paddies from Eirigi and the like will have the brains to see this - probably not!

If only this would be the outcome but I doubt it.

Last Man

Quote from: Itchy on January 08, 2013, 05:22:18 PM

Totally agree, they'll be dying to let as many Dubliners as possible know "WE HATE YOUS CNUTS" and the "Citizen Smiths" will no doubt be there to reciprocate. How funny would it be as you say, if they were ignored. Wishfull thinking ::)