Belfast rioting over removal of Union Jack

Started by Maurice Moss, December 04, 2012, 02:04:23 AM

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 11, 2013, 10:12:45 PM
Quote from: Ulick on January 11, 2013, 10:00:02 PM
Just had a brick thrown at the front window, luckily enough it bounced back off without smashing. Have had to take the car in off the road now for the first time since I moved in, not a million miles away from Ravenhill. The culprits had scarpered by the time I got to the front door (with hurley) but my guess is teenagers from nearby secondary school having spotted the children in county jerseys.
Shit one. Crowd of cowardly b**tards.

Agreed.

Scumbags.

Quote from: imtommygunn on January 12, 2013, 06:17:23 PM

At the end of the day we all have the same access to education. It is your own responsibilty, with the help of your family, to make what you can of it. I have always worked on the basis that you get nothing unless you work for it. That seems to be the opposite with a lot of these guys though.

You are spot on tommy, you would think they are living in some war ravaged country in Africa. They all have the opportunity for a decent level of education, that applies to both sides of the community btw as i dont think Catholics can be too smug on this matter when you look at what some of our schools churn out at age 16.

If someone can't be bothered their hole going to school and if their parents can't be arsed making them go well then they shouldn't be surprised when the opportunities aren't great for them.

Too much talk of "funding" and "education" here. There are several area's like this across the UK, Glasgow/Sheffield/Birmingham and this shite doesn't go on.

These people are your average scumbags but mixed into that is the traditional loyalist air of entitlement. "We represent the people/ our rights/ erosion of our culture". That's the only difference. c***ts who think they're kings.

DoYerJob Linesman

17/03/02 - Semple Stadium Thurles - Heaven On Earth

Arthur_Friend

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 12, 2013, 05:12:25 PM
Absolutely sick listening about these cnuts rioting due to lack of investment in their area. The truth is the had it their own ways for decades walking into jobs and apprenticeships in Shorts, the shipyards, Scirroco works etc. with little care for anything or than a basic education whereas the poor auld croppy had to do twice as much for an equivalent job. Now the manufacturing industry in East Belfast has, in the main, declined to a point where the male population cannot walk into a job after school they start their f**king mopery about lack of investment and "the taigs get everything" excuses. People growing up west of the Bann or in Glens/N. Antrim didn't exactly have a huge influx of inward investment either. At home if you left school at 16 you were learning a trade or working on farms and in the old days on the boats. If you stayed on at school you had a chance of a job as a teacher or a civil servant. Very, very few people were walking into jobs like these feckers in E. Belfast.

Nowadays the Catholic man or woman wanting to work can seek out employment rather than complaining that no-one is investing outside their door. There are roads and railways in this place where it is actually possible to  travel to and from work. Failing that these no mark protestors could get off their arse like the rest of the country and head to Australia or the US. I was up home last week and a girl I went to school with was telling me that her son was heading to Oz with 31 others from the local area around Loughgiel, Ballycastle, Armoy! No-one is building factories or pumping millions of Peace money into these areas.

f**k the lot of youse tramps in E. Belfast and further afield.

Well said Tony. Newton Emerson made an excellent point in the Irish News a few years back when this lot last threw the rattle out of the pram. Almost all employment and investment in north of Ireland is in Belfast city centre, a mere 1/2 mile from where these tramps live.

QuoteUnion flag protests: Peter Robinson says politicians not 'giving up'
13 minutes ago The Northern Ireland First Minister Peter Robinson has said the political process is the only way forward following another night of violence in Belfast.

::). The latest DUP hypocrisy

I find it hard to understand the mentality that the closing of traditional industries should mean that some people a generation or two later are finding it hard to get work. I don't see how someone can sit around waiting for manufacturing jobs to appear in western Europe, you have to be completely closed off to reality to think that in this day and age.

In my harder moods I'd say it's their own tough shite for landing themselves where they are.

Quote from: thejuice on January 13, 2013, 03:45:29 PM
I find it hard to understand the mentality that the closing of traditional industries should mean that some people a generation or two later are finding it hard to get work. I don't see how someone can sit around waiting for manufacturing jobs to appear in western Europe, you have to be completely closed off to reality to think that in this day and age.

In my harder moods I'd say it's their own tough shite for landing themselves where they are.

These boys aren't waiting on manufacturing or any other type of industry to come to their area, they are quite happy sitting on their hole.

Quote from: Minder on January 13, 2013, 04:35:46 PM

These boys aren't waiting on manufacturing or any other type of industry to come to their area, they are quite happy sitting on their hole.

I'm getting bored of hearing about people in East Belfast having no work and being thick. The same amount of people live on the Falls road and are very happy to bleed the system dry and work is something of a myth or folklore.
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 13, 2013, 05:11:52 PM

I'm getting bored of hearing about people in East Belfast having no work and being thick. The same amount of people live on the Falls road and are very happy to bleed the system dry and work is something of a myth or folklore.
True but the boys in the East are using lack of investment in the area as a contributing factor to their rioting when everyone can see it is an excuse to get handy money into the area. The money gets allocated to dodgy "community jobs" that end up being inextricably linked to paramilitarism; in essence helping only a small percentage of those rioting and those least deserving of help imo. The front line morons are too thick to see that though.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 13, 2013, 05:19:01 PM

True but the boys in the East are using lack of investment in the area as a contributing factor to their rioting when everyone can see it is an excuse to get handy money into the area. The money gets allocated to dodgy "community jobs" that end up being inextricably linked to paramilitarism; in essence helping only a small percentage of those rioting and those least deserving of help imo. The front line morons are too thick to see that though.

I applied for one of those 'community' jobs on the Falls years ago, cracking interview, I met all the points and was given great feedback afterwards, ended up not getting the job was put on first reserve, I found out who got the job later and was disappointed as this fella was clearly getting the job before the interview his 10 years in jail would have been one of the main criteria for the post :o

They phoned me up about 4 months later to ask me to take the job as the other guy didn't work out hmmmmmmm.....

The peace money was given to both areas but in fairness West Belfast did fairly well in this because for most parts it was honest enough. The Shankill and other areas were different, I worked on the Shankill for about 3 years and they did have one community place that did good work but as you have said Tony they were dodgy enough.

As long as these groups keep getting funding they will be looking money, in truth what da fcuk do they really do?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

The shameful sectarian carve-up, as was the foundation of the statelet of the north,  is finally unravelling, and about time   :)

Thank you, unreconstructed anti-Protestant corner-boy supremacist unionists, grand job  ;)

Myles Na G.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 13, 2013, 06:39:45 PM

I applied for one of those 'community' jobs on the Falls years ago, cracking interview, I met all the points and was given great feedback afterwards, ended up not getting the job was put on first reserve, I found out who got the job later and was disappointed as this fella was clearly getting the job before the interview his 10 years in jail would have been one of the main criteria for the post :o

They phoned me up about 4 months later to ask me to take the job as the other guy didn't work out hmmmmmmm.....

The peace money was given to both areas but in fairness West Belfast did fairly well in this because for most parts it was honest enough. The Shankill and other areas were different, I worked on the Shankill for about 3 years and they did have one community place that did good work but as you have said Tony they were dodgy enough.

As long as these groups keep getting funding they will be looking money, in truth what da fcuk do they really do?
Alternatives?

As far as I can see most of them are a lot of nonsense, just another way of wasting your taxes. When the funding ends they just start again under a different name, usually the same faces involved.

Same for stormont and "culture" money.