Belfast rioting over removal of Union Jack

Started by Maurice Moss, December 04, 2012, 02:04:23 AM

Jeremy Kyle should do an East Belfast special.

QuoteI'd hate to think that if equality or even nationalist were in the majority that nationalist treat the loyalists as they were treated since partition

Loyalists are and will not be treated with the same measure. The example of Derry above is a good one, the Apprentice Boys did talk,  and when that happened marches were possible and no impossible conditions were placed on them. This is the model for the future generally. This happens because Irish people have no reason to behave in a ridiculous way, whereas the entire Unionist project is based on "not an inch" , "no surrender" and suchlike flexibility. And these protestors are so ingrained into their narrow minded way to thinking that they cannot conceive of nationalists as anything other than the bigotted narrow minded opposite image of themselves. They have managed to turn nationalists in conflict zones in Belfast into something of a mirror image, lighting bonfires and burning flags and similar codology. But the bulk of the Irish people have no reason whatsoever to maltreat unionists in the the Ireland that will emerge and by and large will just think of them as an odd leftover from the past, not worth hating. 
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: armaghniac on January 08, 2013, 11:56:01 AM
QuoteFrazer must be the most hypocritical person in Ireland.

All politics is hypocritical to some extent. But Unionism is entirely without any sense of shame about demanding things for themselves that they do not offer to others. They don't admit, even in principle, to any need for symmetry in dealings with people which is a prerequisite for democracy. So 55% of the voters in Craigavon can do what they like, but if 85% of the voters in Newry and Mourne did the opposite then this would be an "outrage".

Their basic problem is this census map.

Frazer is as dumb as a bag of hammers, he is absolutely neanderthal material and for the life of me I cannot understand how this stupid , twisted wee man gets as much run as he does!

Adams could sue the hoor but knows he would only be feeding this idiot with more publicity and give him the attention he craves.

I think they face the same problem as the other side of the fence. How many reports have their been of dissident shootings and punishment beatings and the majority of the Catholic population wouldnt support it - but none of us stand up and say anything. We let a small minority control or dictate what the world sees.
Naomi Long called them gatekeepers to communities. They intimidate and threaten and make lots of noise and the ordinary decent people sit back.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2013, 11:05:04 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 08, 2013, 10:55:19 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2013, 10:37:24 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 08, 2013, 09:23:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2013, 08:49:32 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on January 08, 2013, 05:52:45 PM
I've always been of the opinion that nowadays if a march is to go ahead, then everyone not being there to get offended is thee best way to deal with marches over the medium to long term. Close the blinds, go and visit friends, organise a fun day for the community away from the drones of them (whatever just don't give a toss about what they're doing). The scumbags love the agitation they cause so breaking the spell would really sicken their holes. Remember Dunloy used to be a sc**bag day trip destination. They came from all over when the marches were being rail roaded through and you could see the enjoyment they got from all the agro they were causing at that time. Those scumbags wouldn't be there if there was no fun in it for them. It may take time but in the long run it would show them up for what they're about.

Was in Derry with me da for a city break, it work out that the Saturday we arrived was Lundy Saturday. Bands from all over N.I there and when we got out of the taxi and dandered past the burning of Lundy there was a fuss or a second look from the locals who went on about their business and we felt no tension from punters in the pubs we drank in either, very refreshing I mentioned at the time.

So you were not wearing an Antrim jersey. What is your point? I've been in the middle of Orange marches and didnt feel tension, even through I was wearing an Amagh polo shirt. And I'm sure Peter Robinson didnt feel tense when he visited the Athletic grounds.

Hang on, are you on a crusade to tell us that every thing is lovely and rosey in the occupied six?

My point being, had you read what I was responding to was that ignoring the marchers and protests is far better than getting involved.

It's a far better place than the one I grew up in that's for sure. Dodging bullets, riots, bombings and murder on your doorstep was what I was seeing regularly living on the Falls during the 70's and 80's. You telling me it's not better?

Totally agree. It is a 100 times better. But it doesnt have to end there. As you can tell, I'm one of those that will always consider myself Irish, not Northern Irish. But I also acknowledge that we share the six counties with Northern Irish, Ulster Scots, Peusdo English and British.

I'm as Irish as you and I love my hurling to the core, but I'd prefer my kids don't see the violence that went on when I was young in Belfast. I will always try and see both sides to every argument, I'd hate to think that if equality or even nationalist were in the majority that nationalist treat the loyalists as they were treated since partition

Emmm, I totally agree!

Quote from: Orior on January 09, 2013, 02:46:07 PM
I'm as Irish as you and I love my hurling to the core, but I'd prefer my kids don't see the violence that went on when I was young in Belfast. I will always try and see both sides to every argument, I'd hate to think that if equality or even nationalist were in the majority that nationalist treat the loyalists as they were treated since partition

Emmm, I totally agree!

If you look back over the last 400 years, if the most contentious issue is protests without fatalities over a flag, we are moving in the right direction.

That's some killer 'glass half-full' thinking muppet!  The fleg protests are an indicator of progress!

QuotePastor Barry Halliday of Families Acting for Innocent Relatives (Fair) told TheJournal.ie that the protest had been postponed on the advice of the gardaí and will be rescheduled at a later date.

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 09, 2013, 04:11:21 PM
QuotePastor Barry Halliday of Families Acting for Innocent Relatives (Fair) told TheJournal.ie that the protest had been postponed on the advice of the gardaí and will be rescheduled at a later date.
Cowards.

They were reporting on the News At One that Frazer said he would call off the protest if the Garda said it would endanger life. The guards weren't going to think too long over that one.

Quote from: Hardy on January 09, 2013, 04:13:27 PM
They were reporting on the News At One that Frazer said he would call off the protest if the Garda said it would endanger life. The guards weren't going to think too long over that one.

Cowards is right, anyhow, the two of them would have been fine, the Guard would have made sure the three scumbags that showed up to harass them got nowhere near them.

I'm glad to hear that. Nothing good could have come from this.