O'Byrne Cup 2013

Started by Shamrock Shore, October 16, 2012, 10:24:35 PM

Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 08, 2012, 11:53:58 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 08, 2012, 11:41:45 AM
See Jason Ryan is being linked with Kildare as part of the backroom coaching staff, be some coup for Kildare if they got him.

That rumour has been running for a while so I am not sure if the rumour is feeding the media speculation or vice-versa.

Would be interesting and I wonder is it succession planning from McGeeney?

Great coup for Kildare if he comes but will it be worth it if it means delegates need to bring their own candles to County committee meetings

Ard-Rí

Ah well, chance to try out the new jerseys anyway.
Ar son Éireann Gaelaí

Two home games with a midweek trip down the motorway, can live with that.

Croí

That's what I love about the O'Byrne Cup. There's something for everyone and we all have a daycent enough chance of winning it.

Jaysus, I don't want to win the fecking thing Shamrock. No point having the highlight of the year in January.  :P

Quote from: Hardy on November 08, 2012, 01:01:16 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 08, 2012, 12:26:19 PM
The Bord na Mona O'Byrne Cup S.F.  2013 - GROUP A

1. Longford v Meath 6.1.2013 Longford   

You can always rely on the CCC to throw up a glamour tie to kick off the season.

Longford!
Ugh, I hate them so much.  >:(

Quote from: Jinxy on November 12, 2012, 11:59:32 AM
Quote from: Hardy on November 08, 2012, 01:01:16 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 08, 2012, 12:26:19 PM
The Bord na Mona O'Byrne Cup S.F.  2013 - GROUP A

1. Longford v Meath 6.1.2013 Longford   

You can always rely on the CCC to throw up a glamour tie to kick off the season.

Longford!
Ugh, I hate them so much.  >:(

You'll be making an application to be a Larry before too long ...  we'll give you a reference if you like. 

I've heard we're not taking the competition seriously this year so you'll probably beat us.
We're just going to give the young lads a run out.

Same as the last two years in the Championship, really.

Jinxy. What has turned u agin Longford? It's not like we're your bogey team. Maybe you always hated the place after some young wan turned you down for a shift one night in The Fountain Blue in 1984. Look forward to seeing how Joe Sheridan 'winters' in early January!

Don't judge him too harshly.
It gets pretty cold in Seneschalstown.

I like the new group format. It sets the O'Byrne Cup on a par with the World Cup or the Superbowl, its only competitors as aserious competition in the world of sport.

I am approaching the longford game with a mix of trepidation and excitement. What will the new fella bring to the table. What will Tayto's involvement have on our preparation. Can't wait now.

BRING IT ON!!!!!

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on November 08, 2012, 02:22:21 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 08, 2012, 11:53:58 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 08, 2012, 11:41:45 AM
See Jason Ryan is being linked with Kildare as part of the backroom coaching staff, be some coup for Kildare if they got him.

That rumour has been running for a while so I am not sure if the rumour is feeding the media speculation or vice-versa.

Would be interesting and I wonder is it succession planning from McGeeney?

Bit of a step down for Ryan to go from being the main man in Wexford to taking up a role as selector with Kildare?

There's probably a lot more to Carew's departure given its timing. I doubt there are too many within the county queuing up to take on the role.

Well well well, looks like this has legs and will be announced Saturday.

Quite excited by it and I think Ryan's man management approach will be an interesting contrast to McGeeney.

Ryan is coming in as the trainer which ties in with recent interviews where he talked about missing the hands on side of coaching.

Very possibly it's succession planning as well.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on December 05, 2012, 05:03:12 PM
Well well well, looks like this has legs and will be announced Saturday.

Quite excited by it and I think Ryan's man management approach will be an interesting contrast to McGeeney.

Ryan is coming in as the trainer which ties in with recent interviews where he talked about missing the hands on side of coaching.

Very possibly it's succession planning as well.

Certainly appears that way anyway.

I'd be a bit skeptical over whether it will work well in practice but we were all looking for a change of approach so it's welcome to see some movement. It raises some questions too - will he also be involved with the u21s and will anyone else be joining the management team? They were on the lookout for another selector before Niall Carew jumped ship. Presumably Damien Hendy will fulfill a similar role to Carew - scouting local matches, liaising with players, media etc. All will be revealed on Saturday I suppose.

It has the look of succession planning alright but I can't imagine Glenn would be too happy about that!

Excellent appointment for Kildare.