Red Bull Stratos - Mission to the Edge of Space and Supersonic Freefall

Started by Tony Baloney, October 05, 2012, 11:34:41 PM

So, he's going up to the limits of the atmosphere, to lepp out of a perfectly good ship/balloon, and fall down to the earth for the hell of it? Holy good Jaysus. What happened to putting a fiver on the grand national?

23 miles in the name of god is this guy nuts? watching the BBC news and they reckon it will all start in 2 or so hours. good luck

Quote from: AZOffaly on October 09, 2012, 02:47:37 PM
So, he's going up to the limits of the atmosphere, to lepp out of a perfectly good ship/balloon, and fall down to the earth for the hell of it? Holy good Jaysus. What happened to putting a fiver on the grand national?

;D Brilliant AZ, made me laugh out loud.

People will always push the envelope, look at those eejits that put on those bat suits and fly around at high speed ten feet away from the side of a mountain, to me thats more dangerous because NASA have already proven their suits can withstand extreme temperatures and yer man Kittinger, 50 year ago jumped from 100,000 feet.

I think that he will be fine, the technology of today is far superior and the only way he dies is if his suit fails or he blacks out due to the incredible speeds he is traveling at.

I think it is great that he is doing this and I wish him well.

All of a Sludden

Winds were as high as 17mph, ideal conditions are 2mph or less.
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

Live pictures now. At about 5,300 metres, 17,500 ft. Rising at about 750 ft./minute, so it will take a couple of hours to get to the 120K ft. target if this rate is linear.

DrinkingHarp

Gaaboard Predict The World Cup Champion 2014

Quote from: DrinkingHarp on October 14, 2012, 05:54:39 PM
The news reporter stated there is a chance his blood could literally boil during his free fall :o

this site has it live :

http://www.grindtv.com/outdoor/blog/36096/felix+baumgartner+is+headed+up+for+his+23-mile-high+skydive/

52 year ago Kittinger jumped from height of just over 103,000 ft, his blood won't boil, he has world class equipment and if they thought for one second that was a possibility they would not be going ahead with the jump.

80'000 feet now. Higher than any mountain in Northern Ireland.

gerrykeegan

Is the red button outside the capsule for the f**k I don't want to go through with it moment. I think if I was  scared I would know before I stepped out on the ledge. And there is no one up there saying go on you will be grand, followed by the gentle push on the back.
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)