Jimmy McGuinness

Started by here comes 6, September 27, 2012, 08:37:09 PM

Yep fully agree with this tonto - absolute horseshit. I don't like some of the things he's done but he has done some job with Donegal. I do think in the two finals with Kerry he has been found wanting tactically. Donegal should have won AI 2014. Last year Paudie Clifford being unmarked.

Quote from: ClubScene13 on June 25, 2026, 05:30:57 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 25, 2026, 04:53:57 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on June 25, 2026, 03:54:28 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 25, 2026, 03:15:59 PMWell let's see:

Donegal 1993-2010 - zero Ulster titles, one AI semi, one league title
Donegal 2011-2014 - three Ulster titles, one AI title, one AI final, one AI semi exit
Donegal 2015-2023 - two Ulster titles
Donegal 2024-2026 - two Ulster titles, one AI final, one AI semi exit, one league title

Anything along the lines of a pattern emerging there...??

Pattern that Jim's approach will win you most games just not the ones that matter the most.

To me it proves that jim can make teams effective and hard to beat but its not sustainable over 4-5 years and ultimately it wont work against the top teams

It netted him one AI title and two runners up spots in seven seasons for a county that otherwise was been to and won a total of ONE AI final in all of the other seasons in which it has taken part.

We've been to five AI semi finals in his seven seasons, winning three. Before Jim and during his interregnum ( ;) ), we've made a grand total of, let's see, FIVE AI semi finals, winning only one (all under McEniff).

If you want to nitpick and diminish what McGuinness has done for Donegal football, knock yourself out, but it doesn't line up with any fair analysis of the recent and historical record of the Donegal senior team.

You get some mad statistics when you zoom out like that. I seen on Twitter that if Tyrone win on Saturday then Malachy O'Rourke has taken Tyrone to more All Ireland semi finals than Armagh have been to in the last 20 years. He's only in year 2 and people within the county are not overly impressed. A mad stat but a true one.

Mickey Harte defenders always knew his results stood up well against the history of Tyrone football as well but in the end he had ran his course, you can do a right bit of cherry picking if you want to look back across a generation or two

I may be misunderstanding, but are you saying that, due to Donegal's poor championship performance this year that McGuinness's Donegal are now in the same boat as Tyrone were across Harte's final decade as Tyrone manager, that McGuinness has "run his course"?

If so, would that be the epitome of cherry picking??

Quote from: imtommygunn on June 26, 2026, 10:38:56 AMYep fully agree with this tonto - absolute horseshit. I don't like some of the things he's done but he has done some job with Donegal. I do think in the two finals with Kerry he has been found wanting tactically. Donegal should have won AI 2014. Last year Paudie Clifford being unmarked.

Which is perfectly valid and fair criticism.

You'd swear McGuinness was supposed to be some kind of superhuman Einstein figure operating in an intellectual field of schoolkids, such is the standard he is held to by some. Other counties have their own smart men, who respond and draw up their own tactics and gameplans to counter opponents. He is not operating in a vacuum.

Yep. As tonto said - horseshit.

Honestly lads, say "horeshit" all you like.

But if you aren't prepared to acknowledge that football tactics changed immeasurably subsequent to Donegal's success in 2012, then you really shouldn't be commenting on a thread about Jimmy McGuinness.

And it didn't need an "Einstein" figure. It did though need someone with both the persuasive charisma and tactical nous to force it through. Had Jimmy not appeared, those tactics would still have come out eventually. But maybe still not.

ClubScene13

Quote from: J70 on June 26, 2026, 12:20:35 PM

Donegal 2011-2014 - three Ulster titles, one AI title, one AI final, one AI semi exit
Donegal 2024-2026 - two Ulster titles, one AI final, one AI semi exit, one league title

Pattern that Jim's approach will win you most games just not the ones that matter the most.

To me it proves that jim can make teams effective and hard to beat but its not sustainable over 4-5 years and ultimately it wont work against the top teams

It netted him one AI title and two runners up spots in seven seasons for a county that otherwise was been to and won a total of ONE AI final in all of the other seasons in which it has taken part.

We've been to five AI semi finals in his seven seasons, winning three. Before Jim and during his interregnum ( ;) ), we've made a grand total of, let's see, FIVE AI semi finals, winning only one (all under McEniff).

If you want to nitpick and diminish what McGuinness has done for Donegal football, knock yourself out, but it doesn't line up with any fair analysis of the recent and historical record of the Donegal senior team.

You get some mad statistics when you zoom out like that. I seen on Twitter that if Tyrone win on Saturday then Malachy O'Rourke has taken Tyrone to more All Ireland semi finals than Armagh have been to in the last 20 years. He's only in year 2 and people within the county are not overly impressed. A mad stat but a true one.

Mickey Harte defenders always knew his results stood up well against the history of Tyrone football as well but in the end he had ran his course, you can do a right bit of cherry picking if you want to look back across a generation or two

I may be misunderstanding, but are you saying that, due to Donegal's poor championship performance this year that McGuinness's Donegal are now in the same boat as Tyrone were across Harte's final decade as Tyrone manager, that McGuinness has "run his course"?

Not at all - just pointing out the Harte men were fond of looking at 100 years of history when things had gone stale for a long long time. McGuinness is a long way from that, 1 disappointing year wouldn't put you in that bracket.

I actually have no ill will to Donegal or McGuinness whatsoever, would have been cheering you on in every All Ireland final you have been to. Probably depends on how close you are to the north west but around my neck of the woods there wouldn't be a massive dislike for Donegal as seems to have taken hold in Armagh

Quote from: ClubScene13 on June 26, 2026, 12:49:08 PM

Not at all - just pointing out the Harte men were fond of looking at 100 years of history when things had gone stale for a long long time. McGuinness is a long way from that, 1 disappointing year wouldn't put you in that bracket.

I actually have no ill will to Donegal or McGuinness whatsoever, would have been cheering you on in every All Ireland final you have been to. Probably depends on how close you are to the north west but around my neck of the woods there wouldn't be a massive dislike for Donegal as seems to have taken hold in Armagh
I'd have supported (especially against Tyrone) them up until this last few years- Murphy's dirt, McHugh's diving and some of the refereeing decisions they've got plus the arse licking of Murphy and McGuinness in the media annoyed me-

Experiences of some of their fans at Ulster finals and that other little twat roaring in front of the Armagh dug out and comments about Brits put the nail in it and now I support whoever they're playing, even Tyrone or Down!

Quote from: Armagh18 on June 26, 2026, 01:01:04 PM

I'd have supported (especially against Tyrone) them up until this last few years- Murphy's dirt, McHugh's diving and some of the refereeing decisions they've got plus the arse licking of Murphy and McGuinness in the media annoyed me-

Experiences of some of their fans at Ulster finals and that other little twat roaring in front of the Armagh dug out and comments about Brits put the nail in it and now I support whoever they're playing, even Tyrone or Down!

calm down now

Quote from: tonto1888 on June 26, 2026, 01:17:55 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 26, 2026, 01:01:04 PM

calm down now
Well I was happier playing Down this year- doubtful we'd have got it as handy against Donegal!

We can all point to arseholes among opposition support. Every county has them. I've seen a middle aged Derry supporter led off by the Gardai for tossing a Coke bottle off the top level of the old Hogan Stand during a mid-90s league final. I've heard "free state f**kers" from Tyrone and Fermanagh supporters. I've been told to go f**k myself for having the audacity to disagree with an Armagh supporter during a league game in Ballybofey.

Quote from: J70 on June 26, 2026, 01:37:48 PMWe can all point to arseholes among opposition support. Every county has them. I've seen a middle aged Derry supporter led off by the Gardai for tossing a Coke bottle off the top level of the old Hogan Stand during a mid-90s league final. I've heard "free state f**kers" from Tyrone and Fermanagh supporters. I've been told to go f**k myself for having the audacity to disagree with an Armagh supporter during a league game in Ballybofey.
Yep won't disagree there

Mc Guinness is a character.

The GAA needs all the characters it can get in my opinion.

DaleCooper

McGuinness watching Tyrone yesterday shaking head no doubt. Bet he feels he left it behind