All Ireland senior football final 2012 Donegal v Mayo

Started by rrhf, August 26, 2012, 08:10:16 PM

Quote from: Crete Boom on October 01, 2012, 07:39:40 PM

I think as had been said before Brolly is in the Joe Brolly business and his main aim is to keep this business open any way he sees fit. Unfortunately for us we are seen as a legitimate target at the moment to so we'll just have to grin and bare it. We can take solace in the fact that he is bereft of any intelligent insight and while he can illicit a knee jerk angry reaction he isn't likely to unveil and deep dark character flaw that Mayo people will have to continually lose sleep over. All Joe has done is enshrine his place as one of the true idiots of this island of ours which is an achievement of sorts! I kind of feel sorry for him in that the only satisfaction he has in life is sinking so low that lowest common denominator seems like the top of mount everest for him. He really most have some serious confidence issues to be in such a bad state and in this he reminds me of Kevin Myers or the lad who got a bit of abuse in secondary school but never got over it! Maybe it's a bit selfish but as low as Mayo supporters/players feel after this loss reading snippets of Joe's take on things reminds us that life could be a lot worse if the only joy of life is to attack the vunerable or perceived vunerable!
What was posted on Twitter doesn't give the full story. In the article Brolly had a right go at Alan Dillon, accusing him of never performing when Mayo needed him most and claimed he was the 'craven prototype' of Mayo forwards.
What he had to say went far beyond the conventional limits of freedom of expression.
The fact that Dillon and the rest of the team rallied after the disastrous start and had whittled the lead down to 3 points by the interval wasn't mentioned.
I seldom pay attention to what that baxtard has to say about any game because he indulges in mockery at every turn.
On the other hand, Colm O'Rourke gave a different account of procedings.
According to him, "There was no shortage of bravery and there is definitely something to build on with a team that chose to fight rather than collapse when another annihilation looked entirely possible, a trait not always associated with Mayo." and
"In that first half, Alan Dillon, Kevin McLoughlin, Lee Keegan and Donal Vaughan really took on the challenge."
Also, "In fact, Mayo's tackling was a bit Rambo-like at times and several of Donegal's frees in the second half were given away by rank indiscipline .......Many of the Mayo players showed inexperience in that regard."
No mention of a pre-planned policy of tactical fouling or throwing in the towel.
You're free to take your pick; which of them actully watched the game?
Brolly engaged in another despicable ruse that is his hallmark.  He didn't actually say that Myos should be sent on holidays; he was merely quoting what someone else had to say.
Same bolloxology at the end.He met Pat Gilroy for a pint and Gilroy was still seething at the result of the game against Mayo and rightly so.
In a side panel, the clown claimed that scientists at the Munich university had set out to find an antidote to the problem of highly- talented sportsmen getting the collywobbles on big occasions.
"Next season, we will see Mayo footballers clenching their left fist repeatedly and an All Ireland will surely be a formality."

If that's his idea of objective analysis, I'd hate to have him represent me if I ever wind up in court.
LIke every other 'Mayo,' I've had my gripes about the side's performance but it's still the best team and management I've ever seen.
Stuff Brolly!

I think he meant that the Mayo posters have posted the main points of Brolly's article, on twitter. Someone was asking could they get it online but the gist of it has already been tweeted out by them. Presumably with things like - 'The p***k' appended :D

FL/MAYO

Brolly brought Kerry and Colm Coopers character into question earlier in the summer, we're in good company. If Brolly posted on here he would be considered a WUM and ignored.

sans pessimism

If the rumours about Donegals performance are true
it gives a whole new meaning to "bringing new blood
into the team"!!!.
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

Quote from: sans pessimism on October 02, 2012, 01:26:40 PM
into the team"!!!.

i suppose we all have to get our kicks

but I'll stick with the '11 sessions a week trainin'g excuse for Donegal being fitter than any other county in the country

Crete Boom

Quote from: FL/MAYO on October 02, 2012, 01:23:42 PM
Brolly brought Kerry and Colm Coopers character into question earlier in the summer, we're in good company. If Brolly posted on here he would be considered a WUM and ignored.

Exactly and he had a go at Cork last year just before they demolished Down. The man just has a problem. I would have some respect for him if he had any real conviction in what he says but remember how flustered he was when challenged by Pat Spillane on the Sunday game this year over his Kerry/Gooch Cooper remarks. It was a sure sign of a serious self confidence problem they way he he blubbered and tried to back track immediately. Contrast this with say Liam Hayes who, love him or hate him at least stands over his comments no matter how crazy they may seem. I suppose this is why he has aimed both barrels at Mayo for the moment because he can hide behind our piss poor record in finals without fear of any public challenge Ala Spillane but this still doesn't mask the serious issues he has himself which no doubt will come to light again due to his inability to keep his head down.

Quote from: sans pessimism on October 02, 2012, 01:26:40 PM
into the team"!!!.

Sure that rumour is an old one. I can remember the same thing being said about Loughnane's Clare team after the demolished Tipperary in a replay in the Munster championship in 98 or 99 I think. If there is any truth I'd say they would want to get a new blood Doc for next year because apart from their full back line they hardly overpowered any of our lads :P.I Remember O'Shea bouncing a good few of them to the ground during the game ;D

Does anyone know if any other journalist/ pundit who has accused Mayo of using cynical fouling as  deliberate policy?

With regard to the 'new blood' allegations, rumours like this have been flying about for a long time about successful teams. For instance, Armagh were accused of steroid abuse when they won in 2002.

Now that the draws for the 2013 Championships are about to be made is it not time to put this thread to bed? :-X
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Crete Boom

Quote from: Rossfan on October 02, 2012, 02:59:58 PM
Now that the draws for the 2013 Championships are about to be made is it not time to put this thread to bed? :-X

Well said and fair play, I didn't expect a Rossie to be the one to end our Misery (for this year anyway) ;)

Quote from: Lar Naparka on October 02, 2012, 02:36:48 PM
Does anyone know if any other journalist/ pundit who has accused Mayo of using cynical fouling as  deliberate policy?

With regard to the 'new blood' allegations, rumours like this have been flying about for a long time about successful teams. For instance, Armagh were accused of steroid abuse when they won in 2002.
For a long long time it seems, found this on another forum. You couldnt be up to them Donegal feckers...http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056715235

''There is Giraldus Cambrensis' hearsay claim about the inauguration rite of Cenall Conaill, in Donegal.
It is hearsay, because GC never went to Donegal.
It was alleged that Conaill copulated with a white mare which was then slaughtered and the blood consumed by the new king. '
'

Quote from: Crete Boom on October 02, 2012, 03:14:37 PM

Well said and fair play, I didn't expect a Rossie to be the one to end our Misery (for this year anyway) ;)
I'm only longing for a return of the days when we used to put ye in lots of misery  ;D

Quote from: Rossfan on October 02, 2012, 03:22:17 PM

I'm only longing for a return of the days when we used to put ye in lots of misery  ;D
If any consolation to you it's still full of misery for us going from Frenchpark to Athlone. ;)

Quote from: spuds on October 02, 2012, 03:39:40 PM

If any consolation to you it's still full of misery for us going from Frenchpark to Athlone. ;)
Our County starts west of Ballagh  ;) and you could always go around by Galway and Limerick if you want to avoid us  :-* :P

sans pessimism

Quote from: Rossfan on October 02, 2012, 03:59:31 PM
Quote from: spuds on October 02, 2012, 03:39:40 PM

Our County starts west of Ballagh  ;) and you could always go around by Galway and Limerick if you want to avoid us  :-* :P
We'll leave the Qualifier route to ye Rossies ;)
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"