All Ireland senior football final 2012 Donegal v Mayo

Started by rrhf, August 26, 2012, 08:10:16 PM

criostlinn

blast05

Channel 191 on Sky now ..... i have the kids in bed and a few cans. Feeling like i'm at home !

Preview show live from the Welcome Inn in Castlebar on Sky channel 191. Another one from Donegal tomorrow night at 8pm.

Quote from: hardstation on September 20, 2012, 09:03:23 PM
Donegal would bate yis at singing after thon effort. Pure shite.

Let them bate us at the singing competions hardstation. I'm mightily worried about AOS. :(

Hard to do the song acoustic and stay in key, not that it stops the Mayos trying! Eunice is a better singer than that.

squire_in_navy_slacks

Another great Ballagh boy. My neighbour was a master flute player and thaught Matt some of his first lessons on the flute. Arrah aren't we great?

Quote from: criostlinn on September 20, 2012, 08:49:25 PM
Yes and Im talking about the Kerry match.

I haven't seen anyone dispute that Donegal could easily have blown it that day with that bad five minutes at the end (looking at it again, that spell came from two bad turnovers by Christy Toye and three balls lost at midfield. The next ball they won ended in Lacey's score).

The discussion was whether the same applied to the Cork game.

It didn't.

saffronandblue

Looking at the weather forecast for Sunday and if the weather comes as predicted on the Met Eireann web site, then it will have a massive impact on proceedings.  Torrential rain and strong south easterly wind by Sunday afternoon.  I hope they have got it all wrong.

I hope the A. O'Shea story is all pie in the sky.  I fully expect him to be MOTM the next day.........Up Mayo!!!!!!!!!

criostlinn

Quote from: J70 on September 20, 2012, 10:27:31 PM

I haven't seen anyone dispute that Donegal could easily have blown it that day with that bad five minutes at the end (looking at it again, that spell came from two bad turnovers by Christy Toye and three balls lost at midfield. The next ball they won ended in Lacey's score).

It didn't.

Sorry I taught the discussion was about the A/I Final between Mayo and Donegal. All over this thread Mayo's "collapse" against Dublin is mentioned. I dont think anyone described what happened to Donegal against Kerry as a collapse. Im just wondering why.

And by the way,  with all this wayward shooting you saw the donegal lads at. You didnt by any chance see a cork buckeen hitting the crossbar while the game was still up for grabs

Quote from: criostlinn on September 20, 2012, 11:35:17 PM

It didn't.

Sorry I taught the discussion was about the A/I Final between Mayo and Donegal. All over this thread Mayo's "collapse" against Dublin is mentioned. I dont think anyone described what happened to Donegal against Kerry as a collapse. Im just wondering why.

And by the way,  with all this wayward shooting you saw the donegal lads at. You didnt by any chance see a cork buckeen hitting the crossbar while the game was still up for grabs

No, I didn't see it.  ::)

What is your point? Donegal were by far the better team and missed a succession of easy chances. Yes Cork were unlucky with the crossbar (and lucky with the goal they did get), but the point I was making in response to Rosnarun was that most of the chances he was claiming Cork missed (without referring to Donegal's far worse misses) were attempted out the field under pressure, unlike Donegal's. He's the one claiming Cork left it behind them, which is ludicrous.

As for the Kerry game, Donegal's "collapse" was four or five minutes of a seventy minute game. Three kickouts lost and two very poor turnovers by a veteran sub (which should not have happened), along with a borderline square ball goal.

criostlinn

Quote from: J70 on September 21, 2012, 12:13:16 AM

It didn't.

What is your point? Donegal were by far the better team and missed a succession of easy chances. Yes Cork were unlucky with the crossbar (and lucky with the goal they did get), but the point I was making in response to Rosnarun was that most of the chances he was claiming Cork missed (without referring to Donegal's far worse misses) were attempted out the field under pressure, unlike Donegal's. He's the one claiming Cork left it behind them, which is ludicrous.

As for the Kerry game, Donegal's "collapse" was four or five minutes of a seventy minute game. Three kickouts lost and two very poor turnovers by a veteran sub (which should not have happened), along with a borderline square ball goal.

Yes but it was a six point lead with five minutes top go which turned into a bit of a scramble at the end. Dont get me wrong. Donegal did very well to win the game. Im just wondering why its not focused on as much as the Mayo "collapse.

Quote from: criostlinn on September 21, 2012, 01:06:43 AM
Quote from: J70 on September 21, 2012, 12:13:16 AM

It didn't.

Yes but it was a six point lead with five minutes top go which turned into a bit of a scramble at the end. Dont get me wrong. Donegal did very well to win the game. Im just wondering why its not focused on as much as the Mayo "collapse.

Probably because the Donegal game was the quarter final and the five minutes of panic came right at the end and Donegal knocked over that Lacey score to settle it, unlike the Mayo game where the rot was of much longer duration.

Doesn't matter now anyway. Its a new game. Both teams are good enough to win it and I will be very surprised if it ends up more than three or four points either way. I don't share the certainty of certain people on this forum as to who is going to win.

All Ireland final weekend.

Good luck to all heading down and I hope all get sorted with tickets. Yiz will.

As for the game I hope Mayo win it. I prefer their style of football and having felt gutted for them too many times since 89, I'll be delighted for their supporters.

Since the semis I thought Donegal would hammer them but I'm wavering a little. Donegal haven't appeared in an All Ireland in a long time and that's a variable no matter how well McGuinness  prepares them. If Mayo can get off to a good start and put daylight between them then you never know how Donegal will react.

Donegal 1-14
Mayo 1-13