All Ireland senior football final 2012 Donegal v Mayo

Started by rrhf, August 26, 2012, 08:10:16 PM

Musings of a Mayo Man.
The unrelenting gnawing knot in the base of my stomach can only mean one thing, game 5 and the final is 7 days away. The whole week is going to be consumed by thoughts and plans of the match; it'll be like a buzzing fly in my peripheral vision all week. I travelled home to this weekend to get a flavour of the atmosphere, maybe it's I'm a bit older than previous finals but the mood is quiet; "let's keep the hype for afterwards" one man put it.  Our 6th  8) final in 23 years, what the boys in Cliffoney and Kiltoom would give for that?

The flags and bunting are up, the plans are being made; "what time are ye leaving? 7am....7am!?!....we're leaving a half 5, ah for jaysus sake, ye may as well hit the road tonight so" I heard yesterday. People are wary of daring to dream of a victory, once bitten, twice shy, "I cope with the despair, it's the hope that kills me" as John Cleese once put it.  If I ever need a dose of reality, I just cast my mind back to the plodding walks up Clonliffe road feeling that my insides were after getting a Jimmy Burke- esque drop kick all the way to Fairview park. As much as the sniggering lads in the media would like it, the football won't stop in Mayo. I had to laugh at a Guinness billboard in the town last year, "This is Rugby Country". I don't think so Guinness, I don't think so.

McGuinness/Medusa and his team/tentacles are a different animal altogether this year. From the 50 minute mark onwards, they let you breathe out before squeezing the life out of you. I've closed the eyes a few times to picture the scene next Sunday. The program  rolled up so tight in my hand I could use it to beat cattle down the road , heart at a steady 150Bpm  throughout the match, a lateral hand pass intercepted by Lacey , the Donegal crowd erupts in one big wave as a flying V of over the should pop passes bare down on our backline. I'm anxious now, god help me then.

However, the world's smartest computers are liable to make a c**k up, systems fail and throw in a dollop of human nature and error, and the fact that we're not half bad either ourselves, jaysus, I don't know. The team and management have given everything for the cause so far and I don't see them stopping now.  It could right down to the wire.

A few more things to do before I hit east again, visit the family plot to make sure the Green and Red is flying on the grave. Many the Mayo man and woman will be with us in spirit next Sunday. I know as Amhrán na bhFiann echoes around Croke Park, I'll tilt my head towards the sky, close my eyes and think of great men who wore the Green and Red both on the pitch and in the stands, and even my own grandfather.

Criost Linn.

Quote from: ONeill on September 15, 2012, 11:27:14 PM
Can any of the Mayoites then explain how you can win this?

Donegal are fitter, mentally and physically tougher and have better footballers all over the field. If you deny any of those advantages for Donegal then ye are smoking something optimistic down there. I know there'll be 'disrespect' posted in response but it's not. Just my opinion which may be totally inaccurate in 8 days. I'll hold my hands up. I just have never witnessed a side as well drilled as a unit as this Donegal side. The Tyrone 05 side was much more talented individually but I think they'd have floundered on the McGuinness rock. They reduce sides to a mumbling mess by the 50 minute mark. There is a lot of hyperbole around them too and McGuinness will be loving it but they're a fine team.

There is a small, small chance that everything Mayo hit from 35 out will go over the bar. Possible. Miraculous but maybe. Perhaps Mayo will keep their heads when 3-4 don't go over and remain calm. Then perhaps Mayo will maintain the 150mph approach for 75 mins, because Donegal will. Mayo will need to keep getting up and hit them again. And then do it again, all of them. They cannot hide for 25 minutes as they did v Dublin. Possibly McFadden will kick over no placed balls, Murphy will be tied up again, the Donegal raiding game will be met head on, again for 75 minutes. Maybe Donegal's defensive machine will inexplicably fall to pieces on the big day. Perhaps big O'Shea will lord it on the biggest stage- play like he did as a minor and waltz around the Hills. Donegal chasing a game after a miraculous start by the Westerners? We don't really know how they'll react to a 4-5 point deficit in an AIF. Last year Tyrone led them 0-6 to 0-1 and Donegal were spinning. The referee's whistle saved them. McGuinness reminded them of their duties and they went out and strangled Tyrone, albeit with slight fortune and skulduggery.

Houl on, Mayo can do this. Up Mayo.

You not fed up of that yet? You've been trying since the semi-final v Dublin ended.
Bit pathetic to be honest, can you not find something productive to do?

cadence

Quote from: cuconnacht on September 16, 2012, 06:59:54 AM
Quote from: cadence on September 15, 2012, 02:37:58 PM
Quote from: cuconnacht on September 15, 2012, 06:51:13 AM
Quote from: cadence on September 15, 2012, 03:22:31 AM
drunken post, so apologies for the common sense...

i think this game will be a belter. we have two team who are very different from one another. wee're the counter attacking crowd and mayo tend to play a more open game. mayo forwards as a unit have kicked some great scores to date, whereas we've upon the bandstand crew but also our counterattackers. very drunk but this is fact. haha.
You were doin great there for the first half of that bottle of donegal mountain dew cadence,but i lost ya for the econd half ofth buideal :D.go ta bed Cadence ;D

;D  it's my first druken post here.... i'm quite proud of myself! feeling naw too bad today either. needed to get some drink training in for the trip over to dublin so last night's run out will do me no harm.

as an observation, first half of donegal mountain dew goes down easily enough. it's when the second half kicks in that reality starts to bite.
:)Im proud of ya too cadence,fierce strong stuff that donegal montain dew,shared a bottle recently with 2 aranmore men and a dunloe lad,we nearly built a boat to go back an take the country by storm but we couldnt find an axe thank god.Ye as well  as ourselves might be needing that trainin for a few years to come yet,feck the rest of the country.Any chance of sendin us ore a wee drop ;)(trade secret,drink the bottom half o the bottle first an y,ell be sound ;D

i'll swap you a bottle for a ticket!

ToWinJustOnce_Mayo4Sam

Quote from: ONeill on September 15, 2012, 11:27:14 PM
Can any of the Mayoites then explain how you can win this?

Donegal are fitter, mentally and physically tougher and have better footballers all over the field. If you deny any of those advantages for Donegal then ye are smoking something optimistic down there. I know there'll be 'disrespect' posted in response but it's not. Just my opinion which may be totally inaccurate in 8 days. I'll hold my hands up. I just have never witnessed a side as well drilled as a unit as this Donegal side. The Tyrone 05 side was much more talented individually but I think they'd have floundered on the McGuinness rock. They reduce sides to a mumbling mess by the 50 minute mark. There is a lot of hyperbole around them too and McGuinness will be loving it but they're a fine team.

There is a small, small chance that everything Mayo hit from 35 out will go over the bar. Possible. Miraculous but maybe. Perhaps Mayo will keep their heads when 3-4 don't go over and remain calm. Then perhaps Mayo will maintain the 150mph approach for 75 mins, because Donegal will. Mayo will need to keep getting up and hit them again. And then do it again, all of them. They cannot hide for 25 minutes as they did v Dublin. Possibly McFadden will kick over no placed balls, Murphy will be tied up again, the Donegal raiding game will be met head on, again for 75 minutes. Maybe Donegal's defensive machine will inexplicably fall to pieces on the big day. Perhaps big O'Shea will lord it on the biggest stage- play like he did as a minor and waltz around the Hills. Donegal chasing a game after a miraculous start by the Westerners? We don't really know how they'll react to a 4-5 point deficit in an AIF. Last year Tyrone led them 0-6 to 0-1 and Donegal were spinning. The referee's whistle saved them. McGuinness reminded them of their duties and they went out and strangled Tyrone, albeit with slight fortune and skulduggery.

Houl on, Mayo can do this. Up Mayo.

Lets deal with this "lazy" line "better footballers all over the field".....

Kepper
Both decent no discernible difference.

Full Backs
Most people would choose Higgins & McGlynn as their two corner backs.
Again Full back .. Cafferkey & McGee Both decent no discernible difference.

Half Backs
Keegan Lacey & one other would be most people choice.

Midfield
By far and away the best footballer here would be A o'Shea.
As a pairing Gallagher /O'Shea would be most people choice.

Forward
Murphy, McFadden, Dillon, McGloughin would be automatic ....(D'ont shout re McHugh as an ortodox half forward he would not be as good football wise as Dillon or McGloughin)
That leave one one full forward position .... Conroy would be the choice here i believe.
Finally who plays chf ..... again football wise i believe O'Connor has the most football ability to play here.

So looking at the above the comment "Donegal .... have better footballers all over the field" is nonsense and it is lazy commentary.

I look forward to counter argument !!!!

emmetryan

I've put together a tactical profile of Donegal here for anyone interested http://action81.com/blog/?p=6192
writer of the Tactics not Passion series at Action81.com

You're going down the route of orthodox footballers. You have to look at what makes a good inter-county player today. For me, a better footballer is someone who plays effectively.

I'm sorry. I'd have the whole Donegal full back line and half back line, in terms of what is required in the modern game. I think the Donegal half-back line have scored 2-18 as opposed to something like 0-6 for Mayo (figures not accurate). I know they're making up for the non-scoring forwards but, as you'll find out next week, you're going to need scorers outside 10-15. I also think Cafferkey is in for a torrid day. I thought Keegan was poor v Dublin.

As for O'Shea - whereas the Donegal midfield will put in a 75 minute shift, Aiden was a goner after 50 minutes v Dublin. Underestimate the Donegal midfield at your peril. Would I pick O'Shea over whatever pairing Donegal put out - no. You can be assured the Donegal 8&9 will do their job til the whistle goes. O'Shea is a hit and miss player.

I'll give you Dillon and O'Connor. That's it.

ToWinJustOnce_Mayo4Sam

Just a quick reply here ...
" I thought Keegan was poor v Dublin"  ... he played for 12 minutes !!!!

You wouldn't get a Donegal player playing badly for 5 minutes never mind 12.

ToWinJustOnce_Mayo4Sam

Quote from: ONeill on September 16, 2012, 01:25:46 PM
You're going down the route of orthodox footballers. You have to look at what makes a good inter-county player today. For me, a better footballer is someone who plays effectively.

I'm sorry. I'd have the whole Donegal full back line and half back line, in terms of what is required in the modern game. I think the Donegal half-back line have scored 2-18 as opposed to something like 0-6 for Mayo (figures not accurate). I know they're making up for the non-scoring forwards but, as you'll find out next week, you're going to need scorers outside 10-15. I also think Cafferkey is in for a torrid day. I thought Keegan was poor v Dublin.

As for O'Shea - whereas the Donegal midfield will put in a 75 minute shift, Aiden was a goner after 50 minutes v Dublin. Underestimate the Donegal midfield at your peril. Would I pick O'Shea over whatever pairing Donegal put out - no. You can be assured the Donegal 8&9 will do their job til the whistle goes. O'Shea is a hit and miss player.

I'm afraid your a little bit "donegal" tinted here in you assessment ...

K Higgins a better corner back the P McGrath.
L Keegan a better half back than McGee or Thomson

Re: O'Shea come back next Monday ... I think you may have to eat a little humble pie. He has the ability to dictate this game.

Re: Murphy v Caffrekey ... you may be correct here but it may not be One on One... ( system and all that !!!)
      (Murphy would go to town on all full backs in a One on One including McGee )

Tell me this how will Karl Lacy cover both wings of croke parke as Dillon & McGloughin have the ability to go to town on donegals 2 wing half backs.

Quote from: ToWinJustOnce_Mayo4Sam on September 16, 2012, 01:04:40 PM
So looking at the above the comment "Donegal .... have better footballers all over the field" is nonsense and it is lazy commentary.

I look forward to counter argument !!!!
Not that I necessarily disagree but Donegal IMO have the better team. They'll die for each other on the field and will run through brick walls for McGuinness. The only other team in gaelic football that I can compare them to is Crossmaglen. A handful of class acts with the rest solid footballers, all playing a system and playing it perfectly to a tee. Mayo near shite the nest again Dublin.

Quote from: ONeill on September 16, 2012, 01:25:46 PM

From your analysis you clearly do not know who Lee Keegan is? The lad only played 12/13 minutes and was taken off injured. So you more than likely are mixing him up with some one else. Which means that is two players you don't really know. which was my point earlier that this team is unknown!

That's orthodox thinking. As soon as Dillon touches leather he'll be breathing in the odour of 3 Donegal men. That's the way it is. The turnovers are demoralising.

Quote from: ballinaman on September 16, 2012, 10:40:00 AM
Musings of a Mayo Man.
The unrelenting gnawing knot in the base of my stomach can only mean one thing, game 5 and the final is 7 days away. The whole week is going to be consumed by thoughts and plans of the match; it'll be like a buzzing fly in my peripheral vision all week. I travelled home to this weekend to get a flavour of the atmosphere, maybe it's I'm a bit older than previous finals but the mood is quiet; "let's keep the hype for afterwards" one man put it.  Our 5th final in 23 years, what the boys in Cliffoney and Kiltoom would give for that?

The flags and bunting are up, the plans are being made; "what time are ye leaving? 7am....7am!?!....we're leaving a half 5, ah for jaysus sake, ye may as well hit the road tonight so" I heard yesterday. People are wary of daring to dream of a victory, once bitten, twice shy, "I cope with the despair, it's the hope that kills me" as John Cleese once put it.  If I ever need a dose of reality, I just cast my mind back to the plodding walks up Clonliffe road feeling that my insides were after getting a Jimmy Burke- esque drop kick all the way to Fairview park. As much as the sniggering lads in the media would like it, the football won't stop in Mayo. I had to laugh at a Guinness billboard in the town last year, "This is Rugby Country". I don't think so Guinness, I don't think so.

McGuinness/Medusa and his team/tentacles are a different animal altogether this year. From the 50 minute mark onwards, they let you breathe out before squeezing the life out of you. I've closed the eyes a few times to picture the scene next Sunday. The program  rolled up so tight in my hand I could use it to beat cattle down the road , heart at a steady 150Bpm  throughout the match, a lateral hand pass intercepted by Lacey , the Donegal crowd erupts in one big wave as a flying V of over the should pop passes bare down on our backline. I'm anxious now, god help me then.

However, the world's smartest computers are liable to make a c**k up, systems fail and throw in a dollop of human nature and error, and the fact that we're not half bad either ourselves, jaysus, I don't know. The team and management have given everything for the cause so far and I don't see them stopping now.  It could right down to the wire.

A few more things to do before I hit east again, visit the family plot to make sure the Green and Red is flying on the grave. Many the Mayo man and woman will be with us in spirit next Sunday. I know as Amhrán na bhFiann echoes around Croke Park, I'll tilt my head towards the sky, close my eyes and think of great men who wore the Green and Red both on the pitch and in the stands, and even my own grandfather.

Criost Linn.

Emotional stuff Ballinaman.

cadence

Quote from: emmetryan on September 16, 2012, 01:14:20 PM
I've put together a tactical profile of Donegal here for anyone interested http://action81.com/blog/?p=6192

nice one emmet... looking forward to the mayo one and the preview too.

emmetryan

Cheers Cadence. Yeah it's a busy stretch this time of year. Lots of previews and finishing the book.
writer of the Tactics not Passion series at Action81.com