All Ireland senior football final 2012 Donegal v Mayo

Started by rrhf, August 26, 2012, 08:10:16 PM

Quote from: J70 on September 04, 2012, 10:16:10 PM
I wouldn't read too much into the Cork goal. They got caught showboating, which won't happen again. Probably a free out anyway! :P

Biggest worry from Cork game would be the ridiculous misses.
100% a free out. Was in line with it in the upper Hogan.Clear push in the back when the ball was in flight.

Quote from: From the Bunker on September 04, 2012, 09:28:29 PM
Which would have ment they would have lost to an very very average Tyrone side.  :P

Draw. Point came from the 45.

If they are level on 65 minutes Mayo will win it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqLHUy7ceBo

Donegal try to squeeze the life out of their opponents but that doesn't always work in the real world

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jD8uWXumx84

sans pessimism

Quote from: ONeill on September 04, 2012, 09:07:10 PM
Get that winning Sam out of your head now. Go down the night before and just enjoy the occasion. Plenty of music, pints and craic. Best to have a decent hangover the next day to dull the pain of another hammering. The minor game should be a good'un though.

On a serious note, the only way Mayo can win this is through a remarkably hefty series of poor decisions by the ref. Donegal have shown no weaknesses at any time this year. They're getting stronger and swatted aside all heavyweight pretenders. This game is like the last stage of the TdF. McGuinness are here for the platitudes and a nice freewheel up the Hogan steps. But Mayo should be proud of where they got to from being 0-12 to 1-7 down in London with a lock a minutes left 16 months ago.

Donegal 1-16 (McFadden 1-5, Murphy, McHugh, McGlynn, Gallagher, McBrearty, Kavanagh, Lacey, Walsh, Thompson, McElhinney, McGee 0-1 each)
Mayo 0-9 (O'Connor 0-8 (7f), Dillon 0-1)

HT 0-14 to 0-3

82'000
Sunny
no-ones taking you serious you clown
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

Quote from: sans pessimism on September 04, 2012, 10:52:36 PM
Get that winning Sam out of your head now. Go down the night before and just enjoy the occasion. Plenty of music, pints and craic. Best to have a decent hangover the next day to dull the pain of another hammering. The minor game should be a good'un though.

On a serious note, the only way Mayo can win this is through a remarkably hefty series of poor decisions by the ref. Donegal have shown no weaknesses at any time this year. They're getting stronger and swatted aside all heavyweight pretenders. This game is like the last stage of the TdF. McGuinness are here for the platitudes and a nice freewheel up the Hogan steps. But Mayo should be proud of where they got to from being 0-12 to 1-7 down in London with a lock a minutes left 16 months ago.

Donegal 1-16 (McFadden 1-5, Murphy, McHugh, McGlynn, Gallagher, McBrearty, Kavanagh, Lacey, Walsh, Thompson, McElhinney, McGee 0-1 each)

HT 0-14 to 0-3

82'000
Sunny

He can't be serious Donegal don't give away seven scorable frees.

HT 0-14 to 0-3

82'000
Sunny

Congratulations.

Tomorrow I'll do the hands of the clock for you.

All this amounts to is Ulstermen following the family line and Mayoigans being aghast (jaws hitting fireplaces, floors, tarmac, whatever's under their feet) at the arrogance.

I'd love to see someone from Ulster plump for Mayo, y'know, to fresh it up, like.

HT 0-14 to 0-3

82'000
Sunny

Squeaky bum time for some on here.................................. he was not being serious fer frigs sake. ::)

Quote from: ONeill on September 04, 2012, 10:36:37 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 04, 2012, 09:28:29 PM
Which would have ment they would have lost to an very very average Tyrone side.  :P

Draw. Point came from the 45.

Yeah, you are right there. Funny I had falsely remembered it as being 2 points in it when the save was made.

Have to say, I'm really enjoying the lead up to this. Sure we are shite (according to all ye feckers). The hype down here is next to naught. When i think about it how is a team like us who are not top five in an AI final? Sure who really have we beaten in the last 18 months, a declining Down, tired reigning AI champions Dublin, tired reigning AI champions Cork last year and a tired Kerry in the semi finals of the National league (a competition they don't give a shite about). Donegal have a far superior record over 18 months beating Down, Tyrone, Cork, Kerry and Lost only narrowly to Dublin last year.  Unlike Donegal we don't seem to have a strong manager, we have a weak backline, Midfield, Forwards, we are not cynical enough, don't have hunger and don't play as a team. Really can't really compare Mayo to Donegal. Donegal unlike Mayo have never (ever) flopped in the past when anything was expected from them.

Quote from: Syferus on September 04, 2012, 11:28:52 PM
All this amounts to is Ulstermen following the family line and Mayoigans being aghast (jaws hitting fireplaces, floors, tarmac, whatever's under their feet) at the arrogance.

I'd love to see someone from Ulster plump for Mayo, y'know, to fresh it up, like.

I'd prefer to see Mayo win. No fan of Donegal. But it's not going to happen. Impossible. I'll run naked from Malin to Ballina if Sam ends up in Mayo.

Quote from: ONeill on September 04, 2012, 11:47:08 PM

I'd prefer to see Mayo win. No fan of Donegal. But it's not going to happen. Impossible. I'll run naked from Malin to Ballina if Sam ends up in Mayo.

Farrandeelin isn't that far out the road.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 04, 2012, 11:49:16 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 04, 2012, 11:47:08 PM

Farrandeelin isn't that far out the road.
You want him to run to you naked ?

Quote from: Champ15 on September 04, 2012, 04:50:56 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2012, 01:13:36 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 03, 2012, 11:50:43 PM
Quote from: Champ15 on September 03, 2012, 11:44:25 PM
Does anyone know if SuperValu are selling tickets for the final?

Not for finals I'm afraid.

Is Champ15 a Donegal lad, not used to finals are they  ;D

Haha no im a very proud mayo man who has county and connacht medals nit to mention an all Ireland club too so im well used to finals and winning them;D I'll get mine from the club but just trying to sort out my cousins from London who regularly fly over for mayo games

If I am correct, you played a wee bit of soccer too, albeit in a neighbouring parish, and in the true heartland of Mayo GAA...  :P

Champ15

Quote from: Never beat the deeler on September 05, 2012, 01:01:23 AM
Quote from: Champ15 on September 04, 2012, 04:50:56 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2012, 01:13:36 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 03, 2012, 11:50:43 PM
Quote from: Champ15 on September 03, 2012, 11:44:25 PM
Does anyone know if SuperValu are selling tickets for the final?

Not for finals I'm afraid.

Is Champ15 a Donegal lad, not used to finals are they  ;D

Haha no im a very proud mayo man who has county and connacht medals nit to mention an all Ireland club too so im well used to finals and winning them;D I'll get mine from the club but just trying to sort out my cousins from London who regularly fly over for mayo games

If I am correct, you played a wee bit of soccer too, albeit in a neighbouring parish, and in the true heartland of Mayo GAA...  :P

don't know about the heartland of mayo gaa but the rest is correct;D
Ballina Stephenites
All Ireland Champions 2005

Quote from: SuperDooperCooper
BTW how the hell does Joe McQuillan get to ref in Croke Park on big days. He seemed to realise that he will have no A v B game to do
/quote]

He seems to have managed just fine with no A v B games in the last two years.  But sure don't let the facts get in the way of a good rant.