Started by rrhf, August 26, 2012, 08:10:16 PM

Quote from: cuconnacht on September 21, 2012, 06:39:21 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on September 21, 2012, 09:42:45 AM
Quote from: Michael Schmeichal on September 20, 2012, 05:23:13 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on September 20, 2012, 01:34:45 PM
Stuff Brolly and all belonging to him.
As a good Donegal friend put it when I asked him what he thought of JB, "I wouldn't give the full of me arse of burnt snow for thon Brolly fella."
Well, I wouldn't give the full of his arse of burnt anything for what anyone has to say about Mayo's 'cynical' approach. (Mind you very big man, even bigger arse.)
As I recall, Mayo gave away four frees in the last quarter after having the crap kicked out of them throughout the entire game, with two blood subs on and Kevin Mac forced to go back in.
Anyway, off to the shamrock and heather now until Saturdays so f**k the begrudgers.

4 frees in the last quarter my hole. They conceded 4 frees in injury time.

The best of luck to Mayo but don't be making stuff up.
I beg your pardon; I didn't explain what I meant properly.
I had been talking about cynical fouling and was thinking of what Brolly had said so I didn't stress this point enough.
BTW, I'm not taking a pop at Dublin or Joe Mac. The game belongs to history now.
But I am concerned at Brolly's subjective use of statistics.
I am afraid that what he and his likes are implying might influence Maurice Deegan's handling of the game to come.
I have no reason to doubt the ref's integrity but I do resent Brolly's remarks on the subject.
I have rewatched the video and I'm standing over what I have to say.

From the 55th minute onward to the final whistle,  the ref awarded a total of 12 frees.
7 were awarded to Dublin and 5 to Mayo. So, in terms of frees awarded, there was little between the sides.
Of the seven Mayo conceded, 4 were described by McStay  as cynical and I'd agree with him.
Of the 4, only two were blatantly obvious. the likes of the others were committed by both sides throughout the entire game. Both sides used jersey tugging, hands over the shoulder and the likes to their advantage.
Brolly ( in his piece on Hoganstand) claimed that Mayo committed a total of 27 tactical fouls throughout the game and came into it with this approach as part of their game plan. The fact is McQuillan failed to pick up on numerous fouls committed by both sides and the teams copped on fairly quickly that he wasn't up to the mark.
Each was as bad as the other in this regard.
So why go to town on Mayo's 'cynical' play to the exclusion of all other factors?
Dont no why ya bothered to explain that one,any fool etc.Cynical fouls my asss.A dublin team who knew their goose was cooked and it was die dog or shit the license time and a ref who,d let them away with assault and battery in aid of this,I digress.Mayo will always face 16 players on the field,win one and that will change,refs dont wanna make headlines and a mayo with rep will strike fear,as it is to them,"its only mayo ".Your right to be ref watchin but theres nothing we can do,its down to the boys,but beleive me refs pick up on all the hype,all of it.

Yes they do! Ask why Jim McGuinness was huffed (and rightly so) last year after beating Kildare. When some one from the back room in Kildare highlighted their cynical tackling. He knew the pressure the Ref was being put under.

Champ15

McHugh was a cute hoor on the news sayin he was down in mayo during the week and the hype was just as big if not bigger down here and went on to say that we have already a seat booked for san on the flight to New York for the away fbd final
Ballina Stephenites
All Ireland Champions 2005

Quote from: Champ15 on September 21, 2012, 07:14:57 PM
McHugh was a cute hoor on the news sayin he was down in mayo during the week and the hype was just as big if not bigger down here and went on to say that we have already a seat booked for san on the flight to New York for the away fbd final

Ah good old Marty, yeah we're gone mad here in Mayo.  ::)

And as for booking an extra seat on the plane..........Yeah!  ;D

I'm afraid there was not 15k extra flags ordered here either.

Quote from: ONeill on September 21, 2012, 07:36:14 PM
Spillane on Donegal - The Evolution

http://youtu.be/KZkJLl7cspw
Eight meals a day that sounds more like a diet for bodybuilder than a gaelic footballer.

Bodybuilders wouldn't be doing anything close to the amount of running as a inter-county player, the Arnies out there are usually told to limit their aerobic exercise as too much leads to muscle wastage.

Quote from: hardstation on September 21, 2012, 09:19:14 PM
Got a ticket! WOOHOO! UPARA!

Can't wait. C'mon Donegal.

Now, how do you work this ebay thing?

I'll give you a calf for it.

Quote from: hardstation on September 21, 2012, 09:28:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 21, 2012, 09:26:50 PM

I'll give you a calf for it.
I was born with two of those and still have them.

This one is able to produce natural fertizer, though.

If Mayo miraculously won, will they ask Moran to lift her?

Moy Who.

Quote from: ONeill on September 21, 2012, 09:34:54 PM
If Mayo miraculously won, will they ask Moran to lift her?

They would probably ask Enda Kenny to come down the row or two and accept the Cup! Andy Moran is a selector with team. Why would you ask a selector to lift the Cup?

Hope ye Donegalers and Mwr bucks all enjoy ye're big day out .
For the neutral it's good to see 2 new teams in the Final ( for me I would prefer not to see 1 of them  :P) and lets hope the game matches the occasion which I think it will.
I'm plumping for a draw.
By the way Syferus I got a ticket but gave it to a Donegal chap at work. :-*
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.