All Ireland senior football final 2012 Donegal v Mayo

Started by rrhf, August 26, 2012, 08:10:16 PM

An Gaeilgoir

I am out in Kaz. this week with work, so am away from the hype, feel like i'm missing out on the hype and rows over tickets. Got sorted out for tickets last friday, 2 premium hogans, no less. Back on Friday lunch time, 40th birthday party saturday night at home then up Sunday morning............ cant wait!!!!

cuconnacht

Quote from: RMDrive on September 18, 2012, 09:51:37 AM
Quote from: Declan on September 18, 2012, 08:41:44 AM
How do the Donegal folks feel about the extra tenner being lobbed onto the tickets?
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/donegal-fans-hit-by-60000-ticket-tax-3233312.html

It's a fiver. And I think it's fair enough. At least they are not demanding €2 from all national school children like other counties  ;)
Tis a fiver,and apparently thats optional.Still,headquarters now have "levy" issues with hs.

cuconnacht

Quote from: Syferus on September 18, 2012, 02:57:46 PM

It's even infected me bread now.
:) :)
Top man as as usual Syf with the breakin news,1st with the W. ;DP headline an now this.Take a bow and keep em coming ;D ;D

drici

Quote from: saffron sam2 on September 18, 2012, 02:42:08 PM
Sorry to break my original promise.

Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on September 15, 2012, 05:06:35 PM
If you don't want those two tickets, can I have them please? DM me - I'll drive up and everything, no bother. Just give me a shout.

You seem like a reasonable chap, but unfortunately there are two reasons why I can't offer you the tickets.

Firstly, they are through work. Two come to the school each year and they are only offered to members of staff. There is a bit of a queue or pecking order, so when I didn't take them, they are offered to next in line. They will always be used by someone in the school.

Secondly, and more importantly, I believe that you should never ask someone to do something that you are not prepared to do yourself and hence I could not in all conscience offer them to anyone else.  If I am not prepared to sit through the game, neither should I expect anyone else to. I couldn't forgive myself if something untoward happened you.

Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 15, 2012, 07:28:57 PM
I feel your pain Saffron . I did the same as you when Antrim played in the hurling Final only difference was there was no gaa board to put up my comments can't recall exactly what i did that day probably footed some turf or something.

I had no idea what 'footed some turf' meant, so I asked a culchie in work. He says there was little chance you'd be footing turf in September, they should have been well won by then, hi.  On the off chance that you were, I can only hope you were still footing them two weeks later as, IIRC, the beaten football finalists that year weren't overly clever either.

There ya go, see it's true ya learn something new everyday . Yeah the culchie in work was right there was little chance i'd be footing turf in september but like you life was too short to be wasting time watching a game i had no interest so i just grabbed my slean and cut 50 yards of turf that day just for the heck of it. Great turf it was too.   

Gaaboardmod3

Quote from: rosnarun on September 18, 2012, 11:54:17 PM
funny how allireland week always degenerates into a row over tickets.
can the managers please announce the teams and put an end to this nonsence.
once a ticket leaves you hand you habve no idea where its going . i have often sat in teachers seats mainly down to the good will of one of the teachers in my brothers school who lets us sit together while he take my seat . if he come up with al alternative arrangement that up to him
disgraceful behaviour naming that treasurer. god know how many hand the ticket passed through since it left him.
Are all the mods gone ?

I agree with the point here. Just because a certain name is printed on a ticket does not mean it is that person who posted it on eBAY, especially when it is a county or club ticket. I'm sure the county in question would be interested in knowing how it ended up there, but that does not mean the person themselves did it. As ros says, who knows how many hands it has gone through. I have deleted the relevant posts.

By the way ros, as has been said before, not every post gets seen by a moderator, that's what the report function is for, and no one has reported this. Luckily I happened to see it this morning, but not at 11pm last night.

emmetryan

For any of ye heading to the 7s on Saturday, I've put together a preview of what to expect tactically http://action81.com/blog/?p=6195
writer of the Tactics not Passion series at Action81.com

Quote from: ONeill on September 19, 2012, 12:07:52 AM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on September 18, 2012, 11:21:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2012, 10:40:02 PM
Quote from: moysider on September 18, 2012, 10:31:44 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2012, 10:20:21 PM
He didn't want the tickets so he didn't take them and someone else got them.

How is that disgraceful?

The hateful thing is that such a person would have first call on tickets in the first place. So he wouldn t waste his time with Mayo v Donegal? I wonder what pairing would be able to do justice to his presence? t**ser of the highest order.
I thought it was quite noble of Sam. A lesser man would have taken the tickets and put them on ebay.

We don't know how the ticket system works in his school either. He may not have had first call. Maybe this was his year for first call. All we know is that he stepped aside and let someone who wanted to go have the tickets. Sam sounds like a gent to me.

If Sam doesn't want to go that's fine. I don't want to go to Justin Bieber in the Point next February. Each to their own.

But while I'm not going to Justin Bieber, I've no intention of trolling any Justin Bieber discussion boards and talking about how rotten he is and I could get a ticket but I gave it away instead.

If Sam is a teacher, I hope he doesn't let the children in the playground get away with the sort of taunting he was up to here. People are het up about these tickets in Donegal and Mayo. They're worried and upset they won't get to the final having been to FBD League games and McKenna Cup and National League and the other games, to say nothing of club games or training young lads or reffing or selling club lotto or buttering bread for sandwiches. They don't need their noses rubbed in the shit. Shame on you Sam.

Ah FFS. With what has happened this week there are a few things in life to be a lot more worried and upset about.

In 2005 I was walking the streets of Dublin at 1:30pm with a pregnant wife looking for a ticket having attended nearly every game from the McKenna Cup. I wasn't worried or upset as far as I can recall. Managed to get two. I've found that if you're prepared to go the distance you'll get one.

Have a bit of cop on.

What I don't understand is how Mrs O'Neill is able to get pregnant at all, with her husband spending all his time on here, pulling his plod for Ireland.

Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on September 19, 2012, 10:02:25 AM

How is that disgraceful?

The hateful thing is that such a person would have first call on tickets in the first place. So he wouldn t waste his time with Mayo v Donegal? I wonder what pairing would be able to do justice to his presence? t**ser of the highest order.
I thought it was quite noble of Sam. A lesser man would have taken the tickets and put them on ebay.

We don't know how the ticket system works in his school either. He may not have had first call. Maybe this was his year for first call. All we know is that he stepped aside and let someone who wanted to go have the tickets. Sam sounds like a gent to me.

If Sam doesn't want to go that's fine. I don't want to go to Justin Bieber in the Point next February. Each to their own.

But while I'm not going to Justin Bieber, I've no intention of trolling any Justin Bieber discussion boards and talking about how rotten he is and I could get a ticket but I gave it away instead.

If Sam is a teacher, I hope he doesn't let the children in the playground get away with the sort of taunting he was up to here. People are het up about these tickets in Donegal and Mayo. They're worried and upset they won't get to the final having been to FBD League games and McKenna Cup and National League and the other games, to say nothing of club games or training young lads or reffing or selling club lotto or buttering bread for sandwiches. They don't need their noses rubbed in the shit. Shame on you Sam.

Ah FFS. With what has happened this week there are a few things in life to be a lot more worried and upset about.

In 2005 I was walking the streets of Dublin at 1:30pm with a pregnant wife looking for a ticket having attended nearly every game from the McKenna Cup. I wasn't worried or upset as far as I can recall. Managed to get two. I've found that if you're prepared to go the distance you'll get one.

Have a bit of cop on.

What I don't understand is how Mrs O'Neill is able to get pregnant at all, with her husband spending all his time on here, pulling his plod for Ireland.

I'd say it was Pat Mustard's

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 19, 2012, 10:27:29 AM

How is that disgraceful?

Have a bit of cop on.

surely these sterling gaels you speak of IolarCoisCuain are paid up members of their club? If so, and Id assume they are, surely all paid up members would be looked after ticket wise?

I've been a paid up member since I was a cub. 1993 each member got 2 tix. The about of anger spilling over from folk who didnt get tix because they were too miserable to pay their membership..fcuk 'em. Pay your membership!

O'Neill is right, put in the work and whoever really wants a ticket will get one.

Dont get me started on those hoers on gumtree, ebay and donedeal etc...

The wife is from Donegal and usually doesn't have much interest in the GAA so back in 1992 she was offered a ticket and she turned it down to say that it doesn't mean as much to her and it would to some other poor soul. I told her yes that's true but she should have taken it and made sure someone worth while got it.

She was giving out that why are not most of the tickets given to the 2 teams involved rather than to some mad Tyrone fans that go to Croker every year. (Her words not mine)
I was trying to explain how is more worthy?
Her brothers or sister who only goes to Donegal games if they get to the 1/4 finals or further or the committee member from a small club in Leitrim who puts a lot of his time into the local club and furthers the GAA every year.
Her reply was
"Who does it mean more to"
I said yes the Donegal fan no doubt but they did feck all to deserve it. Fair weather fans.

BTW, if anyone has a spare ticket or 2 for Sunday PM me.
I don't fancy getting my wife pregnant again & walking around the centre with her for an hour.

Yes I agree if yer prepared to ask anyone on the day of the match then you'll nearly always get one. I am lucky enough that I have a very thick brass neck
The problem is a lot of people really want one but aren't prepared to do the work to get one.
Over the years I've gone to loads of matches, soccer, GAA & rugby both in Ireland and to Euro Championships and I always have the rule that I will try right up til 10 mins after the start.
Then I'll go to the pub to watch it there. I' ve NEVER once had to go to the pub.
2 mates of mine paid €300 for the Holland v Russia 1/4 final match despite me telling them NOT to buy them from touts to soon. I got one 5 mins before KO just outside the stadium for face value

Quote from: J OGorman on September 19, 2012, 10:52:37 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 19, 2012, 10:27:29 AM

How is that disgraceful?

Have a bit of cop on.

surely these sterling gaels you speak of IolarCoisCuain are paid up members of their club? If so, and Id assume they are, surely all paid up members would be looked after ticket wise?

I've been a paid up member since I was a cub. 1993 each member got 2 tix. The about of anger spilling over from folk who didnt get tix because they were too miserable to pay their membership..fcuk 'em. Pay your membership!

O'Neill is right, put in the work and whoever really wants a ticket will get one.

Dont get me started on those hoers on gumtree, ebay and donedeal etc...

Jaysus John, I don't know about that. I agree that generally speaking you will get sorted out, but I'm not sure it's a given. As for all members getting a ticket, I don't know how through that is. 200 members in a club would not get 2 hundred tickets.

Crete Boom

I see it looks like Colm Boyle won't start on sunday due to a longer than expected recovery from his virus. You can read the full details here , http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/barrett-may-start-for-mayo-as-boyle-ruled-out-208059.html . I see Darragh has gone for mayo in his Middle Third piece over in the times which is a surprise but deep down I don't think he's a fan of Donegal's style of play so that might have tempered his decision but either way it's a blow to " the nobody gives us a chance/respect Mayo line of thinking " 8). Still not sure what extra we can expect from Mayo in the match. I definitely think we'll target the first quarter and the 10 mins after half-time as periods to dominate like we have done in all our championship matches to date. Obviously the ideal scenario would be to dominate the first 50 mins and have a ten point lead like the Dublin game but I think even the most fanciful Mayo fan couldn't really expect that? ;D Need a big shift in midfield for this game as I'm sure Donegal will have noticed that a collapse in this area generally leads to a collapse for the whole match where Mayo are concerned in an All Ireland.

Iolar, a chara, Sam hasn't a bit of shame in him.
Isn't he trolling away merrily like that O'Neill hoor?
This should be discussed on the 'Teachers get it handy!' thread.
If you were to bate that pair together, you wouldn't get one half decent eejit for your troubles.
Far too many teachers spend their time rubbing their arses off the balckboard and spellbinding their unfortunate students with their erudition and perspicacity.
That and thinking up ways to annoy the bejasus outa the rest of humanity.
Don't I know?
Wasn't I one meself? ;D

And if I was O'Neill, I would never pull out if I was trying to make the missus pregnant. I certainly wouldn't stop when I had only 43% of the job done. And when I was in the mind for such, I don't think I would bother to to even think about it.
Damn sure I wouldn't if I had more pressing things on mind, like trying to mooch a few tickets off some drunken shagger.