Cork v Donegal Semi Final

Started by All of a Sludden, August 05, 2012, 05:36:29 PM

sheamy

Quote from: ONeill on August 27, 2012, 10:52:10 PM
Starting to doubt if both were linked. Anyone thinking that McGuinness didn't see Cassidy as part of the scheme anyway?

Yep. Book was nothing to do with it. Only an excuse to act.

RMDrive

Quote from: sheamy on August 28, 2012, 11:14:53 AM
Starting to doubt if both were linked. Anyone thinking that McGuinness didn't see Cassidy as part of the scheme anyway?

An excuse for who? There's a lot of people who feel that Cass was going to walk anyway.

Quote from: moysider on August 27, 2012, 11:57:22 PM
Quote from: manballandall on August 27, 2012, 10:17:46 AM
Does anyone have an insight to the training Donegal have been doing as their level of fitness is seriously unreal?

It seems to be shrouded in secrecy. Brolly wrote a good article about it last week. Worth reading if someone can post her up.

I think it was Bogue's book that mentioned the overpowering stench of vomit at training sessions.

Cassidy exposed a tiny bit about it and got the chop supposedly. Starting to doubt if both were linked. Anyone thinking that McGuinness didn't see Cassidy as part of the scheme anyway?

They re also the most honest  team I ve ever seen at this.... well ever.

Lets not carried away now.

Not so long ago Rory Gallagher was 20 yards onto the pitch giving the 'elbow' sign harrassing the ref when there was a fair clash trying to get a Dublin player sent off

Then we had this

Our friend Rory there too.

I think he means 'honest' in terms of the hard graft they put in, as in honest effort.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 28, 2012, 02:04:25 PM
I think he means 'honest' in terms of the hard graft they put in, as in honest effort.

No harm in clearing things up though

Great game Sun but was disappointed in Cork, felt they focussed too much on Donegal rather than their own strengths by moving O'Leary back and trying Paddy Kelly on McHugh. To compound matters they didn't shoot enough from distance when the shot was on despite starting Sheehan and Goulding, which would suggest that was in their game plan. They never got Donnacha O'Connor on the ball at all. Some players repeatedly took the ball into the tackle which is a major no no against Donegal and this ate away at the morale of the rest of the team. They were a beaten docket halfway through the second half.

You have to hand it to Donegal and McGuinness though, probably the most organised team to play the game. Viewing is limited on the box but after Anthony Thompson clipped the ball over the bar after the goal chance broke down he didn't take back up the field like a march hare. Instead he looked to fill in at corner forward safe in the knowledge that his position was manned and he was able to take a brief breather. Can't see them being beat in the final.

RMDrive

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 28, 2012, 02:58:42 PM
Great game Sun but was disappointed in Cork, felt they focussed too much on Donegal rather than their own strengths by moving O'Leary back and trying Paddy Kelly on McHugh. To compound matters they didn't shoot enough from distance when the shot was on despite starting Sheehan and Goulding, which would suggest that was in their game plan. They never got Donnacha O'Connor on the ball at all. Some players repeatedly took the ball into the tackle which is a major no no against Donegal and this ate away at the morale of the rest of the team. They were a beaten docket halfway through the second half.

You have to hand it to Donegal and McGuinness though, probably the most organised team to play the game. Viewing is limited on the box but after Anthony Thompson clipped the ball over the bar after the goal chance broke down he didn't take back up the field like a march hare. Instead he looked to fill in at corner forward safe in the knowledge that his position was manned and he was able to take a brief breather. Can't see them being beat in the final.

McGlynn's goal in the Ulster final was similar. He had broken forward and took up a corner forward position to deny a short kick-out.

Quote from: RMDrive on August 28, 2012, 11:44:50 AM

An excuse for who? There's a lot of people who feel that Cass was going to walk anyway.
that being the case it was a master-stroke from McGuinness, sending out a message to the rest of the squad and adding to the mythology.

RMDrive

Quote from: LeoMc on August 28, 2012, 04:22:34 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on August 28, 2012, 11:44:50 AM

that being the case it was a master-stroke from McGuinness, sending out a message to the rest of the squad and adding to the mythology.

I don't believe that it was as calculated as you make out. I reckon that these things rarely are. What I'd be sure of is that Cass had a pretty good idea what would happen when he revealed his involvement in the book. So he probably went into it knowing that it could mean the end of his involvement with the team. Couple that with the idea that he was going to pack it in anyway and you might have an explanation. I'm only guessing though.

One thing I am absolutely sure of is that Cass is held in the highest possible regard in the county, and rightly so. Even on the bad days he did his best to represent Donegal in a positive way. A nice lad and a fine footballer - one of the best we have ever produced. His reputation was capped off by the point last year against Kildare - that alone will mean he will never be forgotten. I think he could have a good career in the media ahead of him also. He seems to be very comfortable in the work he does with TG4.

Congrats Donegal and I even bought a green and yellow top to support ye on Sunday which is more than I can see for my brother & sister in law from Donegal.

Just curious, but who would Donegal say has been there toughest match so far?

I've noticed they tend to play a waiting game til half time and then pull away from most teams and then before you know it you can't get back into it.

My wife doesn't know if she wants Dublin in the final now or not as she was supporting her cousin last year.

JHume

Tyrone gave Donegal their toughest match in the championship so far.

I thought Donegal were very comfortable and well on control in the second half against Tyrone, except for injury time. First half was even with maybe Tyrone shading it. Looking back though, it was probably our toughest game.

cadhlancian

Some serious shite being spouted on here in regards to Jimmy McGuinness. Listening or reading Joe Brolly, you would think that he had just split the f**king atom!! System this, system that, a load of dung. Essentially a very hard working/ fit , physical and hungry team, doing what they need to win a title. Bottom line, they could have lost to Tyrone ( a team very much in transition), and note David Coldrick gave Tyrone f**k all that day. What can only be described as a "jammy " goal against Kerry, got them over the line there. The only convincing victories they have achieved this year, were against Derry and Down ( both poor teams).
Donegal are a good team, and have an excellent chance of winning Sam, but some people ( analysts) included are going over the top!

Do Tyrone or Armagh fans ever not whinge about refs?  ;D

You'd think Tyrone were still a big power the way some lads go on here. ::)
(and yes lads I know Ros were rubbish this year ... but at least we still have a sponsor)
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.