Dublin v Laois - AIQF

Started by Dinny Breen, July 29, 2012, 07:15:36 AM

Eoghan O'Gara was back to his worst today.

Quote from: rodney trotter on August 04, 2012, 09:37:32 PM
What i'm saying is, its a great chance for Mayo. And I wish them luck.

Your well wishes are appreciated.  :)

Dublin still look the better bet for an AI final, but the other side is where the winners lie.

Quote from: laoislad on August 04, 2012, 08:54:42 PM
One minute of injury time was a joke alright and it's fair to say if Laois had been winning there would have been 3 or 4 mins added on but that's what you are up against when playing Dublin.

I hope Cormac Reilly can look at himself in the mirror tomorrow.
That was absolutely disgraceful time added on.
This guy has form on assisting Dublin - wasn't it him who gave the non free to Dublin to get them over Kildare last year?
mind you with the defensive way Laois play he could have added the proper 3 or 4 minutes and they still wouldn't have scored enough to get a replay.

For fcuk sake will the GAA please  BAN THE FCUKIN HANDPASS
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Hard luck Laois. Great heart and organisation. Good day for Justin McNulty. Poor one for Gilroy. Taking Brogan off???

Fluke of a goal. Dodgy point by O'Gara. Poor time added on decision by the ref. Some of the Dublin players looked very workmanlike... McCauley... O'Gara especially. They were very lucky today. They scraped through early last year too but were showing more form at this stage. Mayo have a great chance to take them but Moran will be a huge loss if his injury is as serious as it looked.

Qwerty28

As a Longford man coulndt support Laois today having beaten them back in May but like several occasions over the last 10 years when Laois had Dublin theref roe the taking they couldnt finish the job....surely they had to push a few more men forward in last 10 mins...amount of ball turned over by both sides was deplorable, some terrible passing, a lot of the telegraphed moves and at the end Dublin werent just as bad as Laois...suppose the fortunate goal was the difference in the finish.

A Dub "supporter" in front of me stood up, roared abuse at Gilroy when he took Brogan off and the flung his programme towards the bench!! Crazy! Almost as bad as the guy behind me doing a crossward all during the second half!  :o

Quote from: Qwerty28 on August 04, 2012, 10:28:12 PM
Almost as bad as the guy behind me doing a crossward all during the second half!  :o

Ah, you've finally met Tony Fearon.

Quote from: Rossfan on August 04, 2012, 10:13:07 PM
One minute of injury time was a joke alright and it's fair to say if Laois had been winning there would have been 3 or 4 mins added on but that's what you are up against when playing Dublin.

This guy has form on assisting Dublin - wasn't it him who gave the non free to Dublin to get them over Kildare last year?
mind you with the defensive way Laois play he could have added the proper 3 or 4 minutes and they still wouldn't have scored enough to get a replay.

Well considering some of the soft frees given to Laois compared to the tackles allowed on Dublin players I don't know how you can say he helped Dublin....Meaney on yellow card and blatantly pulls O'Gara back as he breaks through to create a 2 on 1 on the keeper and doesn't even do anything except not all any advantage......

The Boy Wonder

An opportunity missed from a Laois perspective - just didn't create enough chances in 2nd half and gave away possession a number of times when on the attack. Whilst the Dubs did kick bad wides they were never really motoring.
Justin McNulty has created a foundation for Laois to build on. It's a pity that forwards like Craig Rodgers, Donie Kingston and Donie Brennan didn't commit this year but fair play to all the lads that did and for their trojan efforts and pride in the jersey.

emmetryan

I've put together some tactical analysis on yesterday's game for anyone interested http://action81.com/blog/?p=6105
writer of the Tactics not Passion series at Action81.com

Quote from: The Boy Wonder on August 05, 2012, 11:58:56 AM
An opportunity missed from a Laois perspective - just didn't create enough chances in 2nd half and gave away possession a number of times when on the attack. Whilst the Dubs did kick bad wides they were never really motoring.
Justin McNulty has created a foundation for Laois to build on. It's a pity that forwards like Craig Rodgers, Donie Kingston and Donie Brennan didn't commit this year but fair play to all the lads that did and for their trojan efforts and pride in the jersey.

They are 3 quality forwards. Kingston is the the US, I think are the other 2 lads away or just didn't committ? Does Connor Meredith play much club football?, he was let go in AFL last year.

Hard luck to Laois, terrific in defence in the 2nd half, after looking dodgy early on, and some top class free taking.

From a Dublin perspective, I thought our defence was very good, maybe statistically gave away too many frees, but I thought a fair proportion of them were dubious. Our midfield was very strong, much to my surprise. Hats off to big Eamo, who gave his best performance in a blue jersey, far better than i've ever seen him before.

But the forwards, individually and collectively, gave the worst display that group has ever given. Laois played a part in that, but our distribution was horrendous. Bizarre if it's true about Flynn getting man of the match, given how often he gave the ball away -he's getting to love the Hollywood ball (that comes off about 1 time in 6).

Dunno what the feck Gilroy is at with his subs made in the last two games. The obvious first sub was KevMac for OGara, with Connolly being moved to the edge of the square.  Then maybe Cahill for Cullen.

Absolutely ridiculous taking off our only two reliable point scorers in a game where none of the forwards are playing well. Even if they'd missed a heap of scores, they were still the best players available for the last 5/10 minutes, as we've very little strength in depth when it comes to scoring forwards.

I predicted Dublin would lose in the Qf at the beginning of the year. If we'd drawn Kildare or Kerry we most certainly would have lost. But I think we'll improve now, and Mayo won't have it easy in the semi

galwaygreenandred

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 04, 2012, 09:20:27 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on August 04, 2012, 09:09:03 PM
Dublin are a shadow of the team from last year. Great chance for Mayo now in the semi's even withut Andy Moran.

Don't think so.  :P  Going by you past logic Rodney Trotter, Sure Mayo should have lost to Sligo  :P and sure they were hammered by Kildare who lost to Meath who lost to Laois were beaten by Longford who lost to Wexford who lost to tipperary who lost to Down who were beaten by Mayo. It has to be Dublin.

Always the optimist ;)
"Lads,I'm not happy with our tackling.We're hurting them but they keep getting up"

Timekeeping is a serious issue alright, there was only a minute played in 2006 when Mayo beat us by a point and there was nothing else allowed when the Mayo player ran off with the ball when it was a Dublin free at the end and he then blew up.

Quote from: heffo on August 06, 2012, 10:04:54 AM

Timekeeping is a serious issue alright, there was only a minute played in 2006 when Mayo beat us by a point and there was nothing else allowed when the Mayo player ran off with the ball when it was a Dublin free at the end and he then blew up.
Threw on the tape there...whistle blown at 73.51 in AI Semi in 2006....

Quote from: ballinaman on August 06, 2012, 10:45:57 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 06, 2012, 10:04:54 AM

Threw on the tape there...whistle blown at 73.51 in AI Semi in 2006....

Heffo needs to fix his stop watch.