Cill Dara v Luimneach

Started by Donnellys Hollow, July 16, 2012, 08:57:27 AM

Go home ref

Yeah that game was a sickener we were the better all round team but they had Frankie Dolan who produced one of the best individual performances ive ever seen. The worst thing about that year was being robbed of a Leinster title by Tom Kellys cheating and diving getting Alan Barry sent off and another pathetic Meath ref in a Kildare game

criostlinn

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2012, 04:07:12 PM
Another one of our epic games that we lost...

Barry Cassidy is to ref this, what's he like, should I be familiar with him?

Ha Ha,

Lads the gaa are mightily pissed off over the whole seanie affair. First the cavan draw which wasnt fixed I might add just in case Liam o Neill's lawyers are watchin, next they take home advantage from ye but the final straw Barry fcukin cassidy. Enjoy the show lads

Im starting to feel sorry for ye.

squire_in_navy_slacks

whos the ex kildare baller plastered all over the papers the weekend with the big power tool, biggest swinger in town etc........................wouldnt be surprised if kildare pull that lad out yet

mup

Thought Michael Duffy was reffing it?

Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 17, 2012, 07:22:13 PM
whos the ex kildare baller plastered all over the papers the weekend with the big power tool, biggest swinger in town etc........................wouldnt be surprised if kildare pull that lad out yet

Spike Nolan, himself and Johnny MacDonald would be 2 lu-la's...

Quote from: mup on July 17, 2012, 07:47:35 PM

He was until someone copped that Sligo were the opponents for the winners.

Quote from: mup on July 17, 2012, 07:47:35 PM

Someone must have engaged the brain in CP for once and realised having a Sligo referee officiate a game where the winners play Sligo mightn't actually be the best idea...

Dinny

I see you are grooming this thread but your workrate is very poor - the Tyrone lads are 9 pages ahead of you already.

andoireabu

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 06:45:14 PM
Portlaoise it is. It's plain daft that these health and safety rules only apply to the championship and you could fit three times the limited capacity for an O'Byrne Cup or league game. I can't recall many problems at the Antrim match two years ago or the Donegal match in 2001 when the ground was packed.

It's disappointing from a spectator's point of view but the Kildare players will probably welcome it. The tight pitch in Conleth's can sometimes work against us. Portlaoise very much a happy hunting ground in recent years.
What rules are stopping it in Newbridge?
Private Cowboy: Don't shit me, man!
Private Joker: I wouldn't shit you. You're my favorite turd!

Quote from: andoireabu on July 17, 2012, 08:34:11 PM
Portlaoise it is. It's plain daft that these health and safety rules only apply to the championship and you could fit three times the limited capacity for an O'Byrne Cup or league game. I can't recall many problems at the Antrim match two years ago or the Donegal match in 2001 when the ground was packed.

It's disappointing from a spectator's point of view but the Kildare players will probably welcome it. The tight pitch in Conleth's can sometimes work against us. Portlaoise very much a happy hunting ground in recent years.

Health and safety audit carried out at the start of the year limited the capacity to 4,000 for senior intercounty championship matches (subsequently doubled to 8,000). The ground can hold upwards of 14,000 for O'Byrne Cup, National Football League and club matches though.  ::)

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 08:46:22 PM

Health and safety audit carried out at the start of the year limited the capacity to 4,000 for senior intercounty championship matches (subsequently doubled to 8,000). The ground can hold upwards of 14,000 for O'Byrne Cup, National Football League and club matches though.  ::)
Donnellys- how much was the redevelopment going to cost before the banks went under ?

Quote from: seafoid on July 17, 2012, 09:04:44 PM

Donnellys- how much was the redevelopment going to cost before the banks went under ?

It was estimated in late 2006 that they'd get €25m from the sale of St Conleth's (€5m an acre according to this http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=433.0). How times have changed.

Old Connell is presumably a dead duck. Serious lack of space around the current ground to carry out any major upgrade. I'd say this ingenius GAA solution might be brought up again during the silly season before Christmas: http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/dublin-to-get-a-new-gaa-stadium/

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 09:23:29 PM

I'd say this ingenius GAA solution might be brought up again during the silly season before Christmas: http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/dublin-to-get-a-new-gaa-stadium/

We'll give our neighbours a dig out if needed, though we're still waiting on thanks for sending the Chairman of the 'Blue Wave' down to audit you!

Quote from: heffo on July 17, 2012, 09:35:59 PM

I'd say this ingenius GAA solution might be brought up again during the silly season before Christmas: http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/dublin-to-get-a-new-gaa-stadium/

We'll give our neighbours a dig out if needed, though we're still waiting on thanks for sending the Chairman of the 'Blue Wave' down to audit you!

Send that young Kilkenny lad down south west of Rathcoole and then we'll talk. There are clubs in Kildare crying out for dual stars don't you know.  ;)

Kildare gave Dublin Arthur Guinness and Larry Stanley. We deserve a bit back in return.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 09:39:42 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 17, 2012, 09:35:59 PM

Send that young Kilkenny lad down south west of Rathcoole and then we'll talk. There are clubs in Kildare crying out for dual stars don't you know.  ;)

Kildare gave Dublin Arthur Guinness and Larry Stanley. We deserve a bit back in return.

Ah we'll look after him right enough.

Close enough game v Limerick??