Our GAA traditions

Started by theticklemister, April 24, 2012, 12:15:52 PM

Quote from: ballinaman on April 24, 2012, 02:01:26 PM
Keep the announcer in Croke Park anyways..."ssssssssssssssubstitution on the Mayo team."

He got the bullet last year.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 24, 2012, 03:10:23 PM
Declaring Galway are a great football team with great forwards and forgetting they haven't won in Croke Park since the ice age.

If Galway haven't won in Croker since the Ice Age, what age was it when we won Sam?

I hope they never take away the pre-match parade. I'd also be in favour of bringing back pitch invasions after All Ireland finals too. Surely if the queen can walk on the hallowed turf, then so should Gaels!

Quote from: heffo on April 24, 2012, 03:35:28 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 24, 2012, 02:01:26 PM
Keep the announcer in Croke Park anyways..."ssssssssssssssubstitution on the Mayo team."

He got the bullet last year.
Ah here!

Think his finest moment was Ireland V Germany in a world cup qualifer...."ssssssssssssssubstitution for West Germa....I mean Germany"

I think we need to bring back the tradition of allowing a guy to burst another with a good, fair, square on shoulder without a free and yellow/red card given. By all means punish those who execute this skill incorrectly but for the love of God stop penalising one of the skills of the game.

Bring back straight knock-out too. But non-provincially. It'd solve club players provlems.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 24, 2012, 05:39:25 PM
Bring back straight knock-out too. But non-provincially. It'd solve club players provlems.

I agree with that.

commonman

i miss the official notices in the herald in advance of the big match

It would go something like
Cluiche Ceannais Cuige Connacht 1980
i bpairc Douglas de Hide
Roscomain v maigh eo

cead isteach £3, sideline 50p extra

and it would always end with.....

NO HAWKERS ALLOWED

Will yiz just go to the fecking game, watch it, cheer or berate, and go home. All that other shite is here nor there. If they had juggling elephants at HT since the 60s ye'd say it was tradition. Tradition is bucking 18 or 20 a-side with bishops and one goal being worth more than 45 points.

Heaney changes his mind like I change my trunks. Once a week.

Quote from: sheamy on April 24, 2012, 02:28:56 PM
Ticket scanners should be replaced with biscuit tins...Paddy is dead right though. I was at the All-Ireland football final a couple of years ago and all the stuff that was introduced is wrecking it. The music when the teams comes out is shite...one of the best things used to be the roar of the crowd as the teams came out. Gone. I said this before, it's an overpaid marketing dept at Croke Park continually changing things to justify their existence. Some people call that innovation but Paddy's point is that Gaelic Games are unique in their tradition and customs and there's no need for the continued Amercianisation of the 'product' to use the marketing peoples terminology.

Your head's cut. There's nothing wrong with the music they play, it makes my hair stand on end. And if you can't hear the roar of the crowd then you must be deaf.  I'm glad to see the GAA moving with the times and making the presentation of the occasion look like the world class event that it is, and not some half-assed it'll-do-rightly job. 

I'm surprised some of the luddites aren't pining for the good old days on the Canal terrace when you could sit on the back wall with nothing stopping you from a fatal drop below. The place used to be an obsolete embarrassment and would still be if the GAA had listened to all the naysayers and "stop changing things" lobby.

I remember the days when the lift to the premium level was awful for breaking down.  Not now.

sheamy

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 26, 2012, 02:52:55 AM
Quote from: sheamy on April 24, 2012, 02:28:56 PM
Ticket scanners should be replaced with biscuit tins...Paddy is dead right though. I was at the All-Ireland football final a couple of years ago and all the stuff that was introduced is wrecking it. The music when the teams comes out is shite...one of the best things used to be the roar of the crowd as the teams came out. Gone. I said this before, it's an overpaid marketing dept at Croke Park continually changing things to justify their existence. Some people call that innovation but Paddy's point is that Gaelic Games are unique in their tradition and customs and there's no need for the continued Amercianisation of the 'product' to use the marketing peoples terminology.

Your head's cut. There's nothing wrong with the music they play, it makes my hair stand on end. And if you can't hear the roar of the crowd then you must be deaf.  I'm glad to see the GAA moving with the times and making the presentation of the occasion look like the world class event that it is, and not some half-assed it'll-do-rightly job. 

I'm surprised some of the luddites aren't pining for the good old days on the Canal terrace when you could sit on the back wall with nothing stopping you from a fatal drop below. The place used to be an obsolete embarrassment and would still be if the GAA had listened to all the naysayers and "stop changing things" lobby.

Tonight's gonna be a good good night...
Am glad the black eyed peas get you all pricky...each man to their own I suppose.

The 'ban' used be a good tradition too. :P

sheamy

Can we please not equate tradition, and perhaps more accurately, uniqueness with 'nothing should ever be changed'? I don't believe anyone said that.