Tyrone v Kildare Part II - The Revenge Div 2 NFL Final Sunday 29th April 2012

Started by Fuzzman, April 08, 2012, 07:53:55 PM

It's going to be tough for our lads to concentrate with all those Kildare buckos prancing about with their fresh tan on show. We need Mugsy to sleep on a sun bed every night until Sunday, tuck his collar inside his shirt and wear his best chain just to have at least one man looking the part.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 20, 2012, 05:00:06 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 20, 2012, 04:06:03 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on April 20, 2012, 02:48:57 PM
What's the feeling in Kildare lads about the final?
Will it be yer springboard into a winning run to win Leinster or are ye not too hopeful?

I wonder will Geezer continue to mess about with Johnny Doyle moving him around.
I know he did well for ye in MF but he's always yer top scorer and to me should always be in around the square or at least on the 40.

Will be interesting to see how Harte lines out his charges this time?
Will Gormley, Ricey & Joey continue to be "rested"

Wouldn't be at all hopeful. We were abysmal in the second half in Salthill apart from the last five minutes when Dermot Earley and Emmet Bolton somehow managed to pull it out of the fire for us. Nice to get a dry run in Croke Park before the Leinster Championship but it's no more than a glorified challenge match really.

Very little interest in this game if we're honest,
promotion was the target and that has been achieved, €25 a ticket as well is not impressing people and nobody really wants to see Cork hammer Mayo.

Midfield is an issue so expect to see JD there, the Portugal break will probably mean the team will be up for it, more so than Tyrone so a Kildare win wouldn't surprise me but wouldn't excite me either.
Must be a bast**d to motivate the lillywhite supporters for a final when so used to winning silverware.

Quote from: omagh_gael on April 24, 2012, 02:25:25 PM
It's going to be tough for our lads to concentrate with all those Kildare buckos prancing about with their fresh tan on show. We need Mugsy to sleep on a sun bed every night until Sunday, tuck his collar inside his shirt and wear his best chain just to have at least one man looking the part.

Fresh tan? Sure them lads didn't leave the local Portuguese watering holes for the last week. They even left Alan Smith at the bar in Dublin Airport because he was having such a good time:

Mugsy is a changed man folks

He knows this could well be his last year and so he wants to give it a big shout and not be just remembered for that lucky goal that all the Arma wans say he fouled the ball

He's gone back to his original hair colour and all.

I have now realised why the media love in with Kildare is so apparent. The shower of gobshites have got so confused by the steady stream of yerrah coming from the flourbags that they've  you mixed up with Kerry!

Prediction time boys. Tyrone by 4 or 5 and never under any real pressure. ;)

Hard to tell what the result will be in games like these when there is no real meaning to it, however, with the winning run we have going at the minute, and Mickey will surely want that to continue, I'm going for a three point win after fighting off a late Kildare surge.

My team would be:

Packy
McCrory
Justy
PJ
Gormley
Harte
McCarron
Cassidy
S Cavanagh
Joe
Mattie Donnelly
Mark Donnelly
Penrose
SoN
Mugsy

Changes I could see would be Gormley/Ricey taking a corner back jersey and McCaul coming in at 5. If JD doesn't play midfield will Gormley pick him up? Midfield nearly impossible to call with Murphy, C Cav and young McKenna pushing hard. In the forwards McNabb could push hard for a start but i'd be pretty sure of that FF line starting. Fuzz mentioned red cards earlier, SoN's was two yellows so he'll definitely be there not sure about Cass.

I see Justy's out now too and Penrose highly doubtful.

Kildare by 10-14.

Redhand Santa

Based on injuries could see a team something like this:
Devine (can't remember who is due in nets)
McCrory
Clarke (or maybe Gormley)
PJ
McCarron
Harte
McMenamin
C Cavanagh
Murphy
McNabb
Mark Donnelly
Joe McMahon
S O'Neill
S Cav
Mugsy

If Joe McMahon isn't fit enough he may keep Cavanagh in half forwards and go with McKenna or Mattie Donnelly in full forward. Only other change could be Cassidy for Murphy or McCaul at half back.

Teams don't lose after a training camp in the sun. Kildare's first cup in the Hogan Stand since 98.

Tyrone probably have a better side (despite the injuries) and if it was championship, I think they'd win well.

Being just a Div 2 final though, Tyrone mightn't be fully focussed and the silverware might mean a bit more to Kildare........

Still find it hard to go against MH and the Tyronies, them to win by 2 following a late comeback.

2 months ago I was as optimistic as I have been in years with the panel of players Tyrone had playing and going well.  Now I feel like its 2006 all over again with the injury situation.

1 Jonathan Curran – Oileán a'Ghuail
2 Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
3 Conor Gormley – An Charraig Mhór
4 PJ Quinn – Baile na Móna
5 Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
6 Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
7 Damian McCaul – Domhnach Mór
8 Aidan Cassidy   - Eochar
9 Colm Cavanagh   - An Mhaigh
10 Ronan McNabb   - An Droim Mhór
11 Mark Donnelly – An Charraig Mhór
12 Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
13 Owen Mulligan – An Chorra Chríochach
14 Niall McKenna – Domhnach Mór
15 Stephen O'Neill – Clann na nGael

16 Pascal McConnell – An Baile Nua
17 Conor Clarke   - An Omaigh
18 Ciaran Gervin – Doire Locháin
19 Peter Hughes   - Eiscreach
20 Jonathan Lafferty – Urnaí
21 Joe McMahon – An Omaigh
22 Ryan McMenamin – An Droim Mhór
23 Stephen McNally – Oileán a'Ghuail
24 Patrick McNiece – Oileán a'Ghuail
25 Stephen McNulty – Cluain Eo
26 Michael Murphy – An Gallbhaile

I'm looking forward at getting a look at McKenna and McNabb.
I wonder if Block is Mickey's No 2 choice for FB for the year. I expected to see Joey or even Clarke there

As I said before there's not a lot of exciting forwards on that bench though I suppose Penrose, Coney and Ronan O'Neill are all missing or is Penfold in the subs lower down?