More Thuggery on the GAA field

Started by agorm, January 23, 2012, 06:25:39 PM

Armaghgeddon

Hopefully all Counties withdraw from All Ireland competition if the GAA keeps this practice up. Starting to become a feckin dictatorship.

Quote from: Maguire01 on February 21, 2012, 07:09:09 PM
What the hell is going on in HQ?

Monaghan's appeal against the €5,000 fine is 'successful'... it's replaced with a Forfeit of Home Advantage to the opposition in the next scheduled Allianz Football League home fixture. So instead of playing Louth in Clones, we have to travel to Louth! Where has the GAA pulled this one from? Can they just make up sanctions? Why should Louth benefit from this?

Monaghan are appealing this new sanction to the CAC.

What a farce!

Samuel James

What authority does Croke Park have to impose these swinging penalties? We are always told that this is a democratic organisation and that all changes must go thro Congress. Did Congress pass a motion allowing the powers that be the authority to deny a home venue for what amounts to in reality minor altercations? I can see the DRA being called into action here. It's time the GAA grassroots took ownership of the association. We hear all about the value of volunteers and yet we have these autocrats sitting in their ivory towers using their powers to undo the work of volunteers.
The idea of fines is ludicrous. It wouldn't take a lot of ingenuity by a county board to obviate the effects of that one.

They're making a pig's bollix out of a pig's ear -- unbelievably high-handed and inept.

Let's write them a rule book ourselves. Making it up as they go along. A shambles of an organisation at the highest level.

Quote from: ONeill on February 21, 2012, 11:41:49 PM
Let's write them a rule book ourselves. Making it up as they go along. A shambles of an organisation at the highest level.

Definitely - made up as they've gone along.

Quote from: orangeman on February 21, 2012, 11:44:34 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 21, 2012, 11:41:49 PM

Definitely - made up as they've gone along.

Well sure you'll probably have Kevin McStay telling them next weekend that it's a fine sanction and they should suck it up whilst having a good look at themselves.

Mickey Harte preaches that we should be an international organisation. I would fear the exposure would reinforce the thick Paddy stereotype.

To think that this total mess is being perpetrated to justify the pounding given to a Junior Club team. They really are making it up as they go. Cooney has an over inflated view of his own position.

Quote from: Samuel James on February 21, 2012, 10:30:01 PM
What authority does Croke Park have to impose these swinging penalties? We are always told that this is a democratic organisation and that all changes must go thro Congress. Did Congress pass a motion allowing the powers that be the authority to deny a home venue for what amounts to in reality minor altercations? I can see the DRA being called into action here. It's time the GAA grassroots took ownership of the association. We hear all about the value of volunteers and yet we have these autocrats sitting in their ivory towers using their powers to undo the work of volunteers.
The idea of fines is ludicrous. It wouldn't take a lot of ingenuity by a county board to obviate the effects of that one.

The CCC have made a strange call but nothing like a bit of reasoned debate.

What authority does Croke Park have to impose these swinging penalties?

Well, if lads are going to be swinging at each other, what do they expect?

armaghranger12

Croke Park has cracked down ever since the Tyrone and Kerry boys knocked F**k of each other in the junior semi.

eviemonkey

Very harsh verdict meted out to Monaghan, not least the Monaghan GAA public who have now lost a home fixture but it seems the GAA are trying to implement a crack-down on what they perceive to be the appeals culture that exists within the organisation. As such it would seem to be having an immediate effect as Kildare (and possibly Cork and Armagh) are expected to withdraw from making any appeals on the fines they received for recent transgressions.

I can kind of understand where the GAA are coming from on this one but I still don't agree with them. If they wanted to take the hard line in this case then double the fine rather than have a county's support-base lose a game.  Monaghan have been made the guinea pigs in this one purely because they were the first to launch an appeal in the post-Portlaoise GAA world we now live in.

Quote from: Hardy on February 22, 2012, 02:47:25 PM
What authority does Croke Park have to impose these swinging penalties?

Well, if lads are going to be swinging at each other, what do they expect?

Swinges and roundaboutes.