More Thuggery on the GAA field

Started by agorm, January 23, 2012, 06:25:39 PM

Orchardman

was a dirty act alright by mckeever, though i thought the kildare goalie didn't mean any harm, i'm sure it was an accident.

Surely that kildare comment is a wind up?

bigtogs

Quote from: agorm on February 07, 2012, 10:35:19 AM
Tommy Gorman did a report from Derrytresk this morning on Morning Ireland. I thought that it was a very one sided interview in which Derrytresk got an airing to say how shocked they were at the suspensions and how badly they had been treated. No mention of any remorse at the thuggery that they played their part in. All we got was a lament about how retired players were now back on the panel. Perhaps if the club had better standards of discipline and behaviour this wouldnt be the case.

The chairman of the club said that they had expected a few subs to be suspended - I forget the exact phrase he used. He didnt seem to think any of the on-field players should have been suspended. Tommy didnt point out any of the issues such as how he could justify ANY of the subs that jumped the fence not getting a suspension. Tommy was up in their grounds and didnt want to rock the boat and gave an easy interview. Is that what we are paying Tommy  €250k per annum for?

It was laughable listening to the chairman saying how some of their club members were crying when the ruling came down from Croke Park. I am sure some of the players that were on the receiving end of some additional "treatment" before the game are feeling sorry for them after that interview.

Derrytresk might have  more to say after sunday on a few matters from what i hear.

bigtogs

Quote from: bigtogs on February 07, 2012, 01:23:31 PM
Tommy Gorman did a report from Derrytresk this morning on Morning Ireland. I thought that it was a very one sided interview in which Derrytresk got an airing to say how shocked they were at the suspensions and how badly they had been treated. No mention of any remorse at the thuggery that they played their part in. All we got was a lament about how retired players were now back on the panel. Perhaps if the club had better standards of discipline and behaviour this wouldnt be the case.

The chairman of the club said that they had expected a few subs to be suspended - I forget the exact phrase he used. He didnt seem to think any of the on-field players should have been suspended. Tommy didnt point out any of the issues such as how he could justify ANY of the subs that jumped the fence not getting a suspension. Tommy was up in their grounds and didnt want to rock the boat and gave an easy interview. Is that what we are paying Tommy  €250k per annum for?

It was laughable listening to the chairman saying how some of their club members were crying when the ruling came down from Croke Park. I am sure some of the players that were on the receiving end of some additional "treatment" before the game are feeling sorry for them after that interview.

Derrytresk might have  more to say after sunday on a few matters from what i hear.

by the way where you at the game?

To be fair to both Dromid and Derrytresk there was a schmozzle at the Armagh match on Sunday which ended with two yellow cards, it was as bad as the Dromid/D'tresk one or not as the case may be. The only difference was thae absense of subs and supporters. I think a fine and suspensions for the subs would have suffuced as it could be deemed the ref had dealt with the on field players.

Quote from: Applesisapples on February 07, 2012, 03:00:34 PM

To be fair to both Dromid and Derrytresk there was a schmozzle at the Armagh match on Sunday which ended with two yellow cards, it was as bad as the Dromid/D'tresk one or not as the case may be. The only difference was thae absense of subs and supporters. I think a fine and suspensions for the subs would have suffuced as it could be deemed the ref had dealt with the on field players.
But sure that's the whole point, Apples. The involvement of subs and supporters was what made this case serious and gave rise to the need for severe sanctions. It's a whole different world to a few lads throwing shapes on the field. That'll always happen and the standard sanctions are adequate for the most part. But you have to throw the book when you have subs off the bench, spectators over the fence and ouldwans with handbags running amok.

Quote from: FERDIE on February 07, 2012, 11:40:29 AM
I am all for fair play and sportmanship in all sports. With all the talk about thuggery in the GAA recently I am surprised that there has been no mention of the Ciaran Mckeever act during the Cork game. [a serious coward in my book] and also the Kildare goalkeeper hitting Peter harte in the head with his knee when he had absolutely no need to do so.

That was an accidental collusion to the head. No-one else I've spoke to, has thought otherwise.

Quote from: FERDIE on February 07, 2012, 11:40:29 AM
I am all for fair play and sportmanship in all sports. With all the talk about thuggery in the GAA recently I am surprised that there has been no mention of the Ciaran Mckeever act during the Cork game. [a serious coward in my book] and also the Kildare goalkeeper hitting Peter harte in the head with his knee when he had absolutely no need to do so.

Maybe keepers should have to stay on the line and keep one foot on the ground at all times. ::)

Was just reading the sports section of the Western People (Mayo newspaper). Apparently a rugby match between ballina and Tuam was abandoned after the ref couldn't stop an all our brawl on the pitch. I must of missed the nationwide coverage of this and the queues of pundits lining up to give their condemnation. Maybe it only applies to GAA matches, bit like the outcry over alcohol companies sponsoring GAA tournaments.

Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 07, 2012, 09:24:40 PM
Was just reading the sports section of the Western People (Mayo newspaper). Apparently a rugby match between ballina and Tuam was abandoned after the ref couldn't stop an all our brawl on the pitch.

Jaysus Tuam and Ballina on a rugby field together. Surprised the riot squad wasn't present.

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 07, 2012, 09:53:17 PM
Was just reading the sports section of the Western People (Mayo newspaper). Apparently a rugby match between ballina and Tuam was abandoned after the ref couldn't stop an all our brawl on the pitch.

Jaysus Tuam and Ballina on a rugby field together. Surprised the riot squad wasn't present.
:D Surprised at that, the lads from The Quay are supposed to be the yuppies of the town....

Quote from: ballinaman on February 07, 2012, 10:08:45 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 07, 2012, 09:53:17 PM

:D Surprised at that, the lads from The Quay are supposed to be the yuppies of the town....

Scrumbags.

agorm

Was just reading the sports section of the Western People (Mayo newspaper). Apparently a rugby match between ballina and Tuam was abandoned after the ref couldn't stop an all our brawl on the pitch. I must of missed the nationwide coverage of this and the queues of pundits lining up to give their condemnation. Maybe it only applies to GAA matches, bit like the outcry over alcohol companies sponsoring GAA tournaments.

A bit sensitive here methinks.

I know of several all out brawls in GAA that did not result in nationwide media coverage. What was particularly different with Derrytresk/ Dromid is that it was televised. If you have some evidence that there are just as many brawls in rugby as GAA then maybe share with us.

Also, the reports yeterday in relation to alcohol sponsorship only mentioned sports and did not mention GAA - the ones i saw anyway.

agorm

Tyrone players again..........

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/oneill-ban-gives-harte-headache-3012699.html?service=Print

O'Neill ban gives Harte headache
By Colm Keys
Wednesday February 08 2012

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte must plan without another key player for the remainder of the National Football League after Sean O'Neill was handed a three-month suspension by the GAA's Higher Education body yesterday.

O'Neill was hit with the proposed suspension for his alleged involvement in the incidents which marred last week's Sigerson Cup match between St Mary's, Belfast and NUIG.

NUIG won the match by 0-6 to 0-5 but St Mary's players were enraged because they felt that referee Sean Carroll had called the game to a halt 30 seconds ahead of time.

There were angry scenes as Carroll made his way to the dressing-room, with the players venting their frustration. Ardboe's Gavin Teague has also received a similar suspension arising from the same incident.

O'Neill featured in all of Tyrone's games during their successful McKenna Cup run and was one of their key performers at half-back as the county began their league campaign in fine style against Kildare last weekend.

JUst retired

No problem,sure Mr.Logan will get him off that charge. Sure it was only a schoolboy fight. :)