More Thuggery on the GAA field

Started by agorm, January 23, 2012, 06:25:39 PM

Put it like this. That fist under #5s jaw belongs to someone else :D

Quote from: AZOffaly on January 26, 2012, 01:42:39 PM
Put it like this. That fist under #5s jaw belongs to someone else :D

The clearest fist I can make out there is on the end of #5's right arm!

Ah well. You can lead a horse to water...

Looking at the slo-mo I think its fair to say that 4 and 5 from Dromid were amongst the chief instigators of the melee. Every Derrytresk man who jumped the fence for whatever reason should have no business playing in Croke Park in the All Ireland final. 3 months suspension at least. The fella in the hood who decks the Dromid number 9 should be getting at least a year's suspension and could easily be facing criminal charges. Number 11 from Derrytresk could also be in serious trouble, he appears to bend down from a standing position to at least attempt to strike the Dromid number 5 as the Kerry man lies on the floor.

I must say I disagree with the suggestion that Derrytresk should be thrown out of the competition. These things have happened in my own club and I've always been of the view that punishing those who have no part in the violence is very inequitable. And yes, there is also often an element of closing ranks within a club. We have independent evidence here and it should be used to punish the perpetrators.

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 26, 2012, 02:21:00 PM
Looking at the slo-mo I think its fair to say that 4 and 5 from Dromid were amongst the chief instigators of the melee. Every Derrytresk man who jumped the fence for whatever reason should have no business playing in Croke Park in the All Ireland final. 3 months suspension at least. The fella in the hood who decks the Dromid number 9 should be getting at least a year's suspension and could easily be facing criminal charges. Number 11 from Derrytresk could also be in serious trouble, he appears to bend down from a standing position to at least attempt to strike the Dromid number 5 as the Kerry man lies on the floor.

I must say I disagree with the suggestion that Derrytresk should be thrown out of the competition. These things have happened in my own club and I've always been of the view that punishing those who have no part in the violence is very inequitable. And yes, there is also often an element of closing ranks within a club. We have independent evidence here and it should be used to punish the perpetrators.

Bit of an understatement there, Culluhanna aren't shy!! :D

Subs who come on the pitch deserve to have the book thrown at them. That in itself is punishment for a team preparing for an AI final.
Apart from the subs coming on, there's not that much happening outside of the few fists thrown by players on both sides.

onefaircounty

28 pages in we get the best sentence in the thread.

onefaircounty

Quote from: ONeill on January 26, 2012, 01:39:23 PM
I can't really see a punch there but accept your eyes are better than mine.

It is a clear punch on the basis if that photo there.

eddie d

yea and he shit himself after it n ran of

Quote from: ONeill on January 26, 2012, 12:58:42 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 26, 2012, 12:24:32 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 26, 2012, 12:09:28 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 25, 2012, 11:57:11 PM
In fairness from what I can see at the start of this slow-mo version (mute the sound), there wasn't a whole pile done to the number 4.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUmKAV0y6Yg&feature=player_embedded
Looks like he took a bit of a dive to be honest.
Once he was down he stayed down.
Shag all wrong with him.

Keep an eye on the Dromid No.5 throughout. His involvement escalated something that may have turned out to be nothing.

Ah will you stop, he clatters into clipboard man at 0:07 and 2 seconds later the subs were over the hoardings. Jaysus if they could react that fast they'd be starting.

Pray tell, what's the first thing the no.5 does?

The video there explains it better than I can but suffice to say it's just pushing and shoving. By the way, I'd do the exact same thing myself if a mentor was swinging at one of my teammates and there was another couple on the way in to do God knows what.

Quote from: ONeill on January 26, 2012, 01:17:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 26, 2012, 01:01:51 PM
I already posted up pictures of that. Pushed Mentor 1, pushed mentor 2, then grabbed number 18 and dragged him out of the bunch. All that is after Mentor number two sparked up with Dromid #4.

The Dromid no5's initial push on the mentor (as some speed) made the said mentor clatter into a group of players trying to restrain the Dromid No4 who was in the process of throwing the ball at the Derrytresk clipboard lad. It inflamed the situation.

He then makes a go for the clipboard man. After that, he bulled into the melee as you say and pulls out the no.18 of Derrytresk. Still not done he swings (1:45 on the slo-mo clip) at someone (sub or fan I don't know).

He was a feckin lunatic.

Looking at it again, bizarrely, I don't think you can blame him for the initial push. The mentor (with the first aid bag?) goes to leave the man on the ground and intervene in the pushing. He then gets pushed by the no. 5 who's coming in full tilt unable to adjust his line of attack. He then pushes clipboard man and 2 seconds later the subs are over the hoarding. My point is that the subs were well on their way before no. 5 entered proceedings and that was the escalation, not the no. 5.

That mentor with the first aid bag wasn't the physio/doctor anyway I take it as in all the melees I've witnessed I've never seen any involved in the pushing and shoving. Which begs the question, why were there so many mentors on the sideline?

onefaircounty

Lads, have just skimmed the thread, but one thing seems to have been missed in the slo-mo video. Some absolute oytstanding jumping skills by some of the Derrytresk subs, few of them should consider the high jump instead of the sly thump.

Does anyone else think theres a few Dromid and Kerry folk who could be charged with bringing the game into disrepute including those county guys who publicly asked to be at the CCCC meeting.   I have never witnessed such an intense and potentially slanderous witchhunt propogated by a losing all ireland semi finalist and apparently their county sources. The ignorance of their own role in the videoed scrap is only dwarfed by their complete lack of dignity in defeat and their desire for revenge off the field.  There is undoubtedly action to be taken, but through the proper circles and investigations.  We are all part of the GAA and we cant leap outside the proper way of conducting our business when it suits us.  The campaign could have long term implications for the GAA spirit of respect as we know it.  I applaud the Tyrone county Board for their dignity in the face of this onslaught,but as the ultimate bearer of responsibility for Tyrone football and their club Derrytresk, how long can they possibly hold out against such provocation.  As far as Im concerned when official Kerry board men came out with preemptive commentry, the gloves come off. If anythin

Pat Darcy, ex chair, did have a good go at bringing a bit of balance to the argument to be fair.

Keepthefaith93

The fat bloke with the clipboard started it, if the DT subs had of stayed out of it the No.4 would probably have been sent off.
The DT No.11 is a complete gypo/coward punching a man on the ground and then getting out of it as fast as he could.
People can say what they want or put what ever spin they like on it, the facts stay the same, DT subs and at least 1 supporter(what a d**khead) came onto the pitch to knock the sh1t out of the Kerry lads and if the Kerry team lost 2 of their best players due to being assaulted by subs/supporters it had a fairly big impact on the game.
The DT subs/supporter let their team down a bagfull and they could all end up regretting it.

If my own club where playing in an all ireland semi final and some knob of a supporter jumped on to the pitch to get involved in a tussle between players which jeopardised our taking part in the All Ireland final he would get bate everytime he showed his face around home.

Quote from: rrhf on January 26, 2012, 03:23:44 PM
Does anyone else think theres a few Dromid and Kerry folk who could be charged with bringing the game into disrepute including those county guys who publicly asked to be at the CCCC meeting.   I have never witnessed such an intense and potentially slanderous witchhunt propogated by a losing all ireland semi finalist and apparently their county sources. The ignorance of their own role in the videoed scrap is only dwarfed by their complete lack of dignity in defeat and their desire for revenge off the field.  There is undoubtedly action to be taken, but through the proper circles and investigations.  We are all part of the GAA and we cant leap outside the proper way of conducting our business when it suits us.  The campaign could have long term implications for the GAA spirit of respect as we know it.  I applaud the Tyrone county Board for their dignity in the face of this onslaught,but as the ultimate bearer of responsibility for Tyrone football and their club Derrytresk, how long can they possibly hold out against such provocation.  As far as Im concerned when official Kerry board men came out with preemptive commentry, the gloves come off. If anythin

Oh pass me a bucket!!