Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

bannside

I saw a league game earlier today was a grand game for the start of April. Casements came from 8 down against Cargin to grab both points.

Both sides missing a few main men but plenty of intensity from both clubs who definitely didnt want to lose, league game or not.

St Galls beat St Brigids by three, motoring well...still see them as a dark horse.

EOC1923

Good game played with a fair intensity and a couple of great prospects on both teams at just 17/18 years old. Portglenone had their own Michael Murphy type figure in midfield, must of got away with double figure, let's say on the edge tackles and to not even be booked was pretty strange to say the least.
You take the rough with the smooth however and If we'd a man getting away with the same I'd not mind so not going to be a hypocrite. Should be a very open championship it looks like.

Saffsof82

Quote from: paddyjohn on April 01, 2026, 10:22:23 PMWhere was young JJ Higgins tonight? Hurt?

Jj and Liam had all star trials the next day so opted out for the u20 game

YoungSaff

Quote from: Saffsof82 on April 08, 2026, 03:16:06 AM
Quote from: paddyjohn on April 01, 2026, 10:22:23 PMWhere was young JJ Higgins tonight? Hurt?

Surely that's a joke ? If true shows how little it means playing for Antrim to them.

Quote from: YoungSaff on April 08, 2026, 09:23:10 AM

Surely that's a joke ? If true shows how little it means playing for Antrim to them.

Will they be under 20's next year?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

What All Star trials?

Duine Inteacht Eile

BigGreenField

Perhaps blame could be cast upon the governing bodies for scheduling games so close together rather than having a pop at a couple of young lads.

Quote from: BigGreenField on April 08, 2026, 11:37:47 AM

Perhaps blame could be cast upon the governing bodies for scheduling games so close together rather than having a pop at a couple of young lads.

It's embarrassing all round tbh

No way a trial should be coming before a competitive inter county game in any shape or form.

Yes Ulster Colleges should be aware of this clash and have done better but from an Antrim perspective this should be a no brainer of a decision.

Quote from: NAG1 on April 08, 2026, 11:43:42 AM

No way a trial should be coming before a competitive inter county game in any shape or form.

Yes Ulster Colleges should be aware of this clash and have done better but from an Antrim perspective this should be a no brainer of a decision.

If its ulster colleges I take it the lads are still at school and under 18? this being an Under 20 game, surely we have players that should be good enough to cover?

The trials is one shot at getting recognition for the effort that been put in at school, personally I couldn't give a stuff if it were me, I'd play the game and still do the college trials the next day, but Antrim lads wouldn't be at the forefront in getting opportunities of an All star in College Football and if they have decided that then that'd their call, its really shouldn't be up for anyone else to debate on their decisions on social media.

Catch yourselves on..

There's more to debate I'm sure than that
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2026, 12:04:16 PM

If its ulster colleges I take it the lads are still at school and under 18? this being an Under 20 game, surely we have players that should be good enough to cover?

The trials is one shot at getting recognition for the effort that been put in at school, personally I couldn't give a stuff if it were me, I'd play the game and still do the college trials the next day, but Antrim lads wouldn't be at the forefront in getting opportunities of an All star in College Football and if they have decided that then that'd their call, its really shouldn't be up for anyone else to debate on their decisions on social media.

Catch yourselves on..

To me it is just indicative of how things are going for the county in general at the moment.

Quote from: NAG1 on April 08, 2026, 12:05:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2026, 12:04:16 PM

Catch yourselves on..

To me it is just indicative of how things are going for the county in general at the moment.

I wouldn't question anyone's commitment when they are playing schools county and club, while trying to study, what matters to them is important to them. They have many years at playing intercounty if they are good enough, they maybe one craic at this. Not too hard to understand.

As for 'just indictive of how things are going for the the county in general at the moment' Been watching Gaa in Antrim for long lol..

There has been multiple periods of ups and downs (mainly downs) we ain't where we think we should be and there are multiple factors to that its not just at this moment

What goes wrong from under 14 up? Fix that, why does the skill level change in Kilkenny or Tyrone in football that we are not doing? Through multiple tournaments over the years at primary school level and under 12 there isn't a huge difference but the minute it gets to under 14 its massive, so within 2 years the levels change.. Where in our coaching at club county and school are we missing out? BTW the mindset is different so there's that to contend with along with the duality of the codes

Caesar

In fairness, achieving a College All-Star would put them in prime position to receive a scholarship or sports bursary to Queens/Poly. That's a significant financial incentive and could help get them accepted onto their course of choice. (That's if they're planning on going to University).

YoungSaff

Bang on NAG

HTownlad

If you're the manager of the u20s, how do you manage that?

Would u20 be the most difficult age group to be involved with across the board?