Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Sorry to see Dermot McAleese go. A top quality player and will be a big big loss for Antrim. Hope that is not the start of a raft of departures.
Was surprised to see McEntee commenting. Does that mean he is staying? I hope not for everyones sake.

bannside

Big shout out to Dermot, quality player who always put in a shift. I've also heard he mightnt be the last to call it a day.

Andy still in charge as it stands. Talk of his replacement is very premature.

EOC1923

Quote from: bannside on June 17, 2025, 08:52:26 AMBig shout out to Dermot, quality player who always put in a shift. I've also heard he mightnt be the last to call it a day.

Wouldn't surprise me if he did stay on, the bar has fallen that low it is actually possible

AllStar15

They needed a crowbar to get him out of Meath

Take the Mark

Who would turn there back on (reportedly) 50/60k for coaching any side? Its money for (very) old rope and he certainly won't resign, you can also bet your bottom dollar that his sidekicks will be clinging on by their fingernails also because theres a couple there at least will never get a sniff of that level again.

Gaels1789

Quote from: ck on June 17, 2025, 08:26:51 AMSorry to see Dermot McAleese go. A top quality player and will be a big big loss for Antrim. Hope that is not the start of a raft of departures.
Was surprised to see McEntee commenting. Does that mean he is staying? I hope not for everyones sake.

Jesus ck he's not dead 😜,

In all seriousness great servant to Antrim over the years dealing with more than a few injuries. And an even better lad outside of football wish him nothing but the best

YoungSaff

Quote from: bannside on June 17, 2025, 08:52:26 AMBig shout out to Dermot, quality player who always put in a shift. I've also heard he mightnt be the last to call it a day.

Agree Dermot a class act a real leader of men and picked antrim up many of times.

Maybe we put opur eggs in one basket too quickly regarding McEntee , surely someone puts the foot down and tells him the gig is up?

Spike

it would be surprising to see him go without another gig lined up.

maybe he is conducting some self reflection to see what went wrong?  backroom team, squad quality, fitness, lack of tactical flexibility, injury prone squad being assessed?  Dermot stepping away will be a blow (and perhaps more as suggested above) to Andy. 

if he stays after 3 years at the helm it would be unusual not to see a clear out of the backroom team and a freshening up occur

EOC1923

Quote from: Spike on June 17, 2025, 11:00:54 AMit would be surprising to see him go without another gig lined up.

maybe he is conducting some self reflection to see what went wrong?  backroom team, squad quality, fitness, lack of tactical flexibility, injury prone squad being assessed?  Dermot stepping away will be a blow (and perhaps more as suggested above) to Andy. 

if he stays after 3 years at the helm it would be unusual not to see a clear out of the backroom team and a freshening up occur
McEntee made a guest appearance at Portglenone Primary school a couple of weeks back with his sidekick Mr Murphy, seemingly unfazed by Antrims recent relegation the Division 4 and their (at that time) imminent exit from the Tailteann Cup. Antrim county as a whole seem leaderless, keeping him on will save any hassle.

bannside

There's no structure in place for dealing with this.

The executive who appointed him are no longer in those positions. We have a fairly new chairman (Seamus) a new secretary (Angela) and no secretary.

We have no football board or sub committee that in a normal world would be leading these things.

We have clubs who don't care enough to go to the bother of sourcing or nominating anyone. We have many clubs (hurling) who actually don't give a toss.

I'd say fair play to Donal Murphy for being proactive.  Who is going to lead the appointment of the next incumbent??

I got to know Andy, and he gave this his all. Problem is that his all wasn't enough, (despite a horrendous injury list) and we all know every year it dosent get easier. Retirements won't help either.

Personally I've nothing against Andy taking a week or two to consider, and if necessary throwing his name back into the hat. But that shouldn't prevent county inviting clubs to forward alternatives, and on that basis, make the call based on who is he best man actually willing and available to take on the role.

At the end of the day Andys 3 year term is up, I'd let him put a case forward for his extension on what he would plan to do differently.

Take the Mark

Donal Murphy is going to what?

On what grounds should this blow in be appointing ANY manager? For him to bag himself a cosy wee spot on the sidelines cheerleading. Maybe I'm missing something here but was he not the treasurer a couple of years ago and replaced?

Happy to take blow in's to look after your teams but.....  ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

NatSoSaff

Sad to see Dermot depart the scene. A very good footballer and always seemed to carry a quiet but significant leadership style, alongside a bit of divilment when required.

Time moves on for all men however.

Bannside you are spot on there with the majority of that post. I also however have no idea why Donal Murphy has such influence in appointments. I noticed him in some sort of backroom capacity on the sideline this year alot as well. What is that about?

bannside

Lads hold on here a minute. When Donals tenure as treasurer was up  Andy asked him to remain with the footballers as liaison officer with County board, arranging friendlies, hotels ,  looked after appeals, organised venues, all the gear and equipment..I don't think he had any say at all on team squad or selection....

Don't get why some on here have the knives out. From what I see he has only ever had best intentions of Antrim at heart.

Lets see who picks up the slack next? Any suggestions???

Thats not a questuon who should be the next manager. Its a question asking who is going to get stuck in to make sure we have a credible list of candidates? Is that you?

NatSoSaff

It shouldn't be down to individuals to volunteer to seek out the next manager, the current board would need to show some leadership in that regard surely? If there is no sub-committee then set about appointing one. If McEntee's 3 year term is up, then go out to clubs for nomination as per previous processes. I certainly don't knock Donal for all he has contributed to the cause. From what I know of him and heard about him he's a great fella. I just took notice at a game (maybe Sligo at home earlier this year) that he seemed to be talking to players and giving instruction from the side-line which I thought odd.