Rory MacIlroy - Member of the order of the British Empire.

Started by Trout, December 31, 2011, 12:00:43 PM

Quote from: stephenite on January 05, 2012, 10:33:01 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on January 05, 2012, 10:17:44 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 04, 2012, 05:31:05 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on January 04, 2012, 03:59:29 PM
I just don't think at 22 he has done enough to merit such recognition and this was a politically expedient choice by Cameron.
Are you having a laugh? He's achieved more at 22 than most people will in their whole lives! He's number 2 in the world in his sport. He has already won a Major, breaking several records in doing so.
Absolute ba**s. He is well paid for hitting a round white ball around a field. He hasn't saved a life and there are numerous examples of his immature and arrogant attitude. Yes he undoubtedly talented at golf but his financial rewards far exceed any contribution he may make to society. I'm not in favour of civic awards of this nature but if we have to have them then they should be based on something with more substance than the sporting exploits of a 22 year old. In addition the British system is politically controlled and motivated by expediency.

What examples of his immature and arrogant attitude?
Various tweets, his comments after Clarke won the Open about the weather and that about his friend?

Quote from: Applesisapples on January 05, 2012, 11:56:44 AM
I just don't think at 22 he has done enough to merit such recognition and this was a politically expedient choice by Cameron.
Are you having a laugh? He's achieved more at 22 than most people will in their whole lives! He's number 2 in the world in his sport. He has already won a Major, breaking several records in doing so.
Absolute ba**s. He is well paid for hitting a round white ball around a field. He hasn't saved a life and there are numerous examples of his immature and arrogant attitude. Yes he undoubtedly talented at golf but his financial rewards far exceed any contribution he may make to society. I'm not in favour of civic awards of this nature but if we have to have them then they should be based on something with more substance than the sporting exploits of a 22 year old. In addition the British system is politically controlled and motivated by expediency.

Various tweets, his comments after Clarke won the Open about the weather and that about his friend?

FFS he's 22, well we can't be all as mature as you  ::)

Quote from: Nally Stand on January 05, 2012, 11:32:46 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 05, 2012, 11:13:38 AM
Christ this stuff is depressing. Mediaeval prejudices and blind superstitions from the dark ages being presented as debating points in the second decade of the 21st century. When will it end? Will the great-grandchildren of the unbending dogmatists here still be applying sixteenth-century labels to each other on the gaaboard of 2112?

Probably.

Which countries will ye have handed Irish sovereignty to between now and then I wonder.

You should go back to the tv in your bedroom.

Quote from: thebigfella on January 05, 2012, 12:01:10 PM
Christ this stuff is depressing. Mediaeval prejudices and blind superstitions from the dark ages being presented as debating points in the second decade of the 21st century. When will it end? Will the great-grandchildren of the unbending dogmatists here still be applying sixteenth-century labels to each other on the gaaboard of 2112?

Probably.

Which countries will ye have handed Irish sovereignty to between now and then I wonder.

You should go back to the tv in your bedroom.

Ohh I must have hit a nerve!

Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 05, 2012, 07:26:28 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 04, 2012, 07:36:35 PM
The 6 Cos has no official flag (nor is it a State ) nowadays so that flag has no official standing.
'Flower of Scotland' isn't the official anthem of Scotland, but it does the job quite well because of its popularity with a majority of the people there.

Are 40% of the population of Scotland excluded by that song ?
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Tenuous at best.

I'll counter your proof of his alleged immaturity and arrogance with the (in my view) very impressive maturity he showed in his reaction to the implosion at Augusta and the way he bounced back to claim the next major at Congressional.

In my view it was inspirational and one of the reasons he was awarded this, I don't see the difference between a knighthood, OBE, MBE or the Irish independent sports star of the week. It's someone recognizing his efforts and abilities, shouldn't matter who the award comes from.

Newbridge Exile

Quote from: Applesisapples on January 05, 2012, 11:54:30 AM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 04, 2012, 07:31:25 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 04, 2012, 01:32:21 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on January 04, 2012, 09:39:02 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on January 01, 2012, 02:58:14 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 01, 2012, 01:15:03 PM
I agree. MacIlroy didn't sell this soul in this occassion, that happened some time ago.

In the world that Rory inhabits, this award is no sell out it is considered to be a highlight of his career. 

In our "shared future" it is a test for others to accept that this s a reality for Rory and no attempt to insult others.  The acceptance of diversity is the first test for us all and acceptance of the equality of existence of diverse views, ideas and beliefs is the second test.  Pass both and we are on our way to a shared future.
Problem is 90% at least don't want a shared future. McIlroy like Mr Armstrong has employed an Uncle Tom approach to get on in his chosen career, why I don't know, but the Business World is full of such people although most of them are of a generation where it was the only way to get on. To my mind this shared future only seems to mean accepting a British Dimension. Therefore when something as outrageous as an Irish Christmas Greeting is placed on Belfast City Hall we see really what a shared future is all about. Until there really is parity of aspiration/nationality/esteem etc people like McIlroy will always be seen as sellouts. The thing is he is a talent and he could have genuinely made a difference to mutual acceptance by being a little less obvious.
What a complete load of bollix. What you mean is that neither man is a lackey of the republican movement and has chosen to make their own decisions rather than swallow the deluded guff pumped out by the boys who are going to end partition and set Ireland free. (One of these days, that is. Just as soon as business up at Stormont allows  :D).
Sorry Myles I don't know which part of this Island you reside in, but the point I was making had nothing to do with partition, but parity of esteem. And I do believe that anyone acting in the way McIlroy has, wrapping the loyalist flag around him whilst people from his tradition have their native tongue described as gobbledygook do those of us seeking such  parity a disservice. It would appear that parity only works one way. I have no difficulty with him accepting the gong, nor Martin O'Neill, nor McCoy...personal choice. I just don't think at 22 he has done enough to merit such recognition and this was a politically expedient choice by Cameron. It aslso devalues it. By the by there is a former recipient of one of these up on charges of defrauding the school he ran. Makes you wonder who vets these?
It's not a 'loyalist' flag anymore than the Irish tricolour is a 'republican' flag. One is the flag of the 6 county state, the other is the flag of the 26 county state. Both flags have been adopted and trailed through the dirt by paramilitary groups, I agree, but that doesn't make the emblems exclusive to them. The fact that McIlroy feels comfortable waving the NI flag shouldn't be held against him. On the contrary, I think it shows he's mature enough not to allow himself to be backed into a sectarian cul de sac in which the only emblems deemed to be acceptable are those of ones own tribe.
Showing your ignorance there Myles it is actually the flag of the old Unionist dominated Stormont and has no official status.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulster_Banner

HiMucker

Quote from: stephenite on January 05, 2012, 12:19:31 PM

Tenuous at best.

I'll counter your proof of his alleged immaturity and arrogance with the (in my view) very impressive maturity he showed in his reaction to the implosion at Augusta and the way he bounced back to claim the next major at Congressional.

In my view it was inspirational and one of the reasons he was awarded this, I don't see the difference between a knighthood, OBE, MBE or the Irish independent sports star of the week. It's someone recognizing his efforts and abilities, shouldn't matter who the award comes from.
What about if the BNP want to honour his achievements with an award.  Or the Syrian regime?

Sure the Syrians can give him a medal, it would be just the same as an Indo sports award of the week (to the immature).
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Leo

Had the recent privilege of meeting the greatest goalkeeper of all time and ex-GAA player, Patrick Jennings MBE, from Newry, a proud Irishman.
Fierce tame altogether

Myles Na G.

Quote from: Rossfan on January 05, 2012, 12:10:42 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 05, 2012, 07:26:28 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 04, 2012, 07:36:35 PM
The 6 Cos has no official flag (nor is it a State ) nowadays so that flag has no official standing.
'Flower of Scotland' isn't the official anthem of Scotland, but it does the job quite well because of its popularity with a majority of the people there.

Are 40% of the population of Scotland excluded by that song ?
Don't know about percentages involved, but it's by no means everyone's choice of song:
http://www.scotsman.com/news/letters/letter_song_for_scotland_1_2035027
http://www.upi.com/Odd_News/2012/01/02/Bagpiper-calls-for-new-Scottish-anthem/UPI-75441325540091/?spt=hs&or=on
http://www.scotsman.com/news/letters/chorus_for_change_1_2033822

Why do you assume that the NI flag excludes 40% of the population? Oh, right, you've done a sectarian headcount and drawn conclusions from that. Hope you subtracted Rory McIlroy's name from the 'excluded' list.

Myles Na G.

I agree. MacIlroy didn't sell this soul in this occassion, that happened some time ago.

In the world that Rory inhabits, this award is no sell out it is considered to be a highlight of his career. 

In our "shared future" it is a test for others to accept that this s a reality for Rory and no attempt to insult others.  The acceptance of diversity is the first test for us all and acceptance of the equality of existence of diverse views, ideas and beliefs is the second test.  Pass both and we are on our way to a shared future.
Problem is 90% at least don't want a shared future. McIlroy like Mr Armstrong has employed an Uncle Tom approach to get on in his chosen career, why I don't know, but the Business World is full of such people although most of them are of a generation where it was the only way to get on. To my mind this shared future only seems to mean accepting a British Dimension. Therefore when something as outrageous as an Irish Christmas Greeting is placed on Belfast City Hall we see really what a shared future is all about. Until there really is parity of aspiration/nationality/esteem etc people like McIlroy will always be seen as sellouts. The thing is he is a talent and he could have genuinely made a difference to mutual acceptance by being a little less obvious.
What a complete load of bollix. What you mean is that neither man is a lackey of the republican movement and has chosen to make their own decisions rather than swallow the deluded guff pumped out by the boys who are going to end partition and set Ireland free. (One of these days, that is. Just as soon as business up at Stormont allows  :D).
Sorry Myles I don't know which part of this Island you reside in, but the point I was making had nothing to do with partition, but parity of esteem. And I do believe that anyone acting in the way McIlroy has, wrapping the loyalist flag around him whilst people from his tradition have their native tongue described as gobbledygook do those of us seeking such  parity a disservice. It would appear that parity only works one way. I have no difficulty with him accepting the gong, nor Martin O'Neill, nor McCoy...personal choice. I just don't think at 22 he has done enough to merit such recognition and this was a politically expedient choice by Cameron. It aslso devalues it. By the by there is a former recipient of one of these up on charges of defrauding the school he ran. Makes you wonder who vets these?
It's not a 'loyalist' flag anymore than the Irish tricolour is a 'republican' flag. One is the flag of the 6 county state, the other is the flag of the 26 county state. Both flags have been adopted and trailed through the dirt by paramilitary groups, I agree, but that doesn't make the emblems exclusive to them. The fact that McIlroy feels comfortable waving the NI flag shouldn't be held against him. On the contrary, I think it shows he's mature enough not to allow himself to be backed into a sectarian cul de sac in which the only emblems deemed to be acceptable are those of ones own tribe.
Showing your ignorance there Myles it is actually the flag of the old Unionist dominated Stormont and has no official status.
This point has already been raised by another poster and I've replied to his post. Do keep up.  ;)

Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 05, 2012, 01:08:05 PM

This point has already been raised by another poster and I've replied to his post. Do keep up.  ;)
I would'nt call that an answer more an evasion.

Probably.

How very apropos, coming from a drum-banger for "Brits Out (unless we get our spawgs under the table of power)".

There will be a short pause while we refer this matter to HQ ...  ::)