O'Byrne Cup & Bihatimber 2012

Started by thejuice, November 16, 2011, 05:00:04 PM

squire_in_navy_slacks

Our lads were delighted with this site  ;)

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 22, 2012, 06:19:33 PM
Half saw the match as the telly was on as I was doing bits and pieces.

Seemed the ref was very fussy but I saw the Connolly 'challenge' and thought it was a disgrace. WTF was he at?

I'm struggling to remember a worse incident on the field of play, a disgrace indeed.

Decent match for Jan, nice to see TG4 back on the sidelines. They are covering the McKenna Cup final on Saturday and the O'Byrne Cup final on Sunday next weekend, fair play to them.

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 23, 2012, 10:26:57 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 22, 2012, 06:19:33 PM
Half saw the match as the telly was on as I was doing bits and pieces.

Seemed the ref was very fussy but I saw the Connolly 'challenge' and thought it was a disgrace. WTF was he at?

I'm struggling to remember a worse incident on the field of play, a disgrace indeed.

Decent match for Jan, nice to see TG4 back on the sidelines. They are covering the McKenna Cup final on Saturday and the O'Byrne Cup final on Sunday next weekend, fair play to them.

Surprising that it received no coverage in any of the press reports.

Quote from: Declan on January 23, 2012, 08:51:49 AM
Here's a better picture

It's gas how everytime Connolly loses his balance there's an opposition player underneath him to break his fall.

Regardless of fitness, poor pitch and poor ref, I thought the Dubs were pretty awful. Our main tactic when we had the ball seemed to be the aimless hoof. Apart from Kev Mac and Paddy Andrews, who instead went the "run into a cul de sac" option, with very little end product. Cullen was our best man I thought.

Might be the jerseys or indeed the tv optics but I honestly thought that alot of the Dubs were carrying too much weight........... even allowing for the time of year. An aggrieved Kerry team  awaits in 2 weeks and I would fear the worst.

Kildare's ball skills and handling was very good imo irregardless of whether they were fitter or not.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 22, 2012, 10:40:21 PM
Just watched the match back there again. Peter Kelly was absolutely superb. Great to have him back. Kildare's defence will be as strong as there is out there.

Achilles heel will as always be the forwards. Hopefully Johnny will go some way towards solving that. I hope he is parked beside O'Connor inside on the 14 when he returns. No good to us playing half the game inside our own 45 as he ended up last year. Interesting to see if O'Flaherty and Conway can be accomodated in the same half-forward line - possibly deploy Leper as a half-back? Smith and Kavanagh should both be given every opportunity in the league to find some form and confidence. Dowling is a nice footballer but still has a good bit of filling out to do. Would like to see how Pádraig Fogarty gets on at this level. Tommy Moolick looks like more of a half-back/midfielder.
Jeez DH - are you mental ?
OCallaghan taken out of his whf position (now Dooher is retured OC along with Paul Galvin is the best in football in that position right now).
Part of the problem iimo is that OConnor isnt a scoring FF.
I'd rather see Doyle and Smith. Or if a free scoring FF can be found to allow Doyle out to CHF then better still.
I have also to be convinced that Early will be anything other than a cameo player for the last 15 mins - too many inj will surely blunt his effectiveness?
Can still do a job when coming on for last 15 or so though...
the kildare forwads CAN get better and be improved - they dont have to be the weak point of the side. I have an opinion on that which I wont post on here though.

Rumors that DCU are pulling out of the final, are teams that afraid of Kildare now  8)

On serious note if this is the case, all college teams should be banned from what is originally suppose to be an inter-county warm-up tournament..

Tax-dodging feckers....

Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 23, 2012, 03:53:08 PM
Rumors that DCU are pulling out of the final, are teams that afraid of Kildare now  8)

On serious note if this is the case, all college teams should be banned from what is originally suppose to be an inter-county warm-up tournament..

Tax-dodging feckers....

Well certainly DCU should. If you can't play in the final, you shouldn't enter the competition.

Quote from: AZOffaly on January 23, 2012, 03:54:18 PM

Tax-dodging feckers....

Well certainly DCU should. If you can't play in the final, you shouldn't enter the competition.

With the Sigerson Cup just around the corner college teams are more worried about that now, UCC played a weakened team v Tipp yesterday i'd say DCU will do the same v Kildare.

Quote from: ross4life on January 23, 2012, 04:21:02 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 23, 2012, 03:54:18 PM

Tax-dodging feckers....

With the Sigerson Cup just around the corner college teams are more about that now, UCC played a weakened team v Tipp yesterday i'd say DCU will do the same v Kildare.

They know the timetables, so they can't say they didn't realise it would be close to the Sigerson. Either enter it or don't, they were allowed enter as a favour to them.

Lone Shark

It's a fine line between doing what UCC did and resting all their main men, and simply ignoring the fixture altogether as rumour suggests DCU are considering. I personally think these competitions are much improved and are much more interesting for the presence of the college teams, and let's be fair here - it's not unheard of for county teams to make less than total effort either. Anyone remember Wexford vs DIT last year?

IF DCU are forced to play to a conclusion, they'll just put out the second stringers instead. And how do you legislate for that? Which is the lesser evil here - DCU fielding a second string side and lots of supporters paying €10 into a non-contest, or DCU pulling out altogether and Kildare being awarded the O'Byrne Cup, which in fairness, they have dominated?

What day is the O'Byrne Cup final fixed for? i see NUIG got the FBD final fixed for Friday night & i think that would suit both parties.