Quote from: TheThirdManning on January 16, 2012, 03:58:10 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 16, 2012, 03:53:36 PM
Quote from: TheThirdManning on January 16, 2012, 03:41:49 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 16, 2012, 03:25:33 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2012, 02:03:10 PM
Quote from: Bill Haven on January 16, 2012, 07:52:09 AM
I was at DIT Westmeath yesterday.

Farcical situation where DIT's Paul Cunningham lay on the sideline with what must have been a pretty serious injury for a full 15-20 minutes before finally being carted away in an eight seater taxi, with the doors open because the stretcher couldn't fit fully inside.

Game itself was ok.

Callum McCormack very impressive for Westmeath despite being very isolated in a defensive formation and Harry Dawson a real handful for students with his shoot on sight from anywhere game plan.

Aidan O'Shea is quite the comical f**ker as well when you're close enough to the pitch to hear him.

Hysterical high-pitched overreactions every time a decision went against him. At one stage half the crowd was giggling when he let out the highest-pitched "AHHHHH REF!!!!" you've ever heard.

Not much to be taken from a Westmeath perspective given the team on display. Probably 1 or 2 first choice players at most lined out.

One of them, Michael Ennis played and was up and down the pitch all match. Great to see him looking so fit. A bit of leadership at the back is something that has been sorely lacking in recent years.

Spot on with all of that Bill, especially the bit about Aidan O'Shea, some whinger. Ref was spot on with the decisions he gave against him as well apart from the one where he was clean through, shouldn't have pulled him back but I'm glad he did as we got a good laugh out of him throwing the ball into the air and walking away with his hands still in the air for comedic effect.

It wasn't a bad match for the middle of January, it was tight enough until Tom Parsons came on, swung the game for DIT I thought. Callum McCormack ,Natchie and Paul Sharry were the pick of Westmeath men on show although a number of others did alright I suppose, Maguire, Sheridan and McDermott when he came on being some of them. Pitch held up well and its a good setup Kinnegad have there, no wonder they get to host so many challenge matches.

I'm not expecting much from the league, the winnable games are at the start, no Garrycastle players till at least the 18th Feb, no students playing with the colleges and a couple of injuries. Lets hope the U21s can lift the gloom again.
Those Dubs love their keepers to be roaring and swearing.

Our Senior keeper for the last 12 twelve years is some extrovert all right. If only someone could get him to stop talking.

Point taken but I am sure Cluxton is always shouting at his defence during games. You just don't hear him in Croke Park.

Maybe it's just me but I always found that Dublin keepers, right down to club level, were always louder than their country counterparts. Don't know why.

I think you're full of shi*.

I've been to near enough every Dublin game outside Croke Park with Cluxton in goal and I've never heard him shout or be overly vocal.

I still think you're full of shi*.

The DIT keeper is from Meath.

Jaysus heffo, you're gone very defensive since the Dubs won the All Ireland. I hope you're not going to be as tense all year!

I do think there's a grain of truth in what he is saying though, at least there was historically. It's not necessarily a bad thing at all by the way. Dublin goalies were always much more vocal in organising their defenses, etc. In my youth I always put it down to them playing soccer at a more organised level than us, as that is an important part of being a soccer goalie.

That said, I don't think there's any difference these days, most goalies love to shout and roar now, and Cluxton is nearly an exception if he doesn;t :)

Dublin folk in general are just loud.
It's their culture.

squire_in_navy_slacks

Seems that some of the country lads on here aspire to the oul american football................are the quarterbacks vocal on the park?????????????????? why cant a keeper be ???

We all know Dublin's number one stance on media sound bytes and verbals in general........................keeps himself to himself

The pot is a stirring here methinks.....................................any cream for the lilies, Id say ye are only creaming urself at the taught s of this sunday lads ?????  ;)

Quote from: thejuice on January 16, 2012, 12:41:04 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 15, 2012, 08:34:42 PM
Don't worry - we're their bogey team.

This isn't your typical bunch of students to be fair

http://www.dcugaa.ie/node/128

Over the years has been a great college for developing Roscommon senior players & continuing to do so.

Quote from: ross4life on January 16, 2012, 05:54:53 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 16, 2012, 12:41:04 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 15, 2012, 08:34:42 PM
Don't worry - we're their bogey team.

This isn't your typical bunch of students to be fair

http://www.dcugaa.ie/node/128
Over the years has been a great college for developing Roscommon senior players & continuing to do so.

It's only when you read that list do you realize how many of our county players are at DCU. It's certainly great to see so many talented Roscommon players getting the opportunity to play with the best players in the country.

I remember Cathal Cregg talking about how being at DCU removed the mystique about players from bigger counties and gave him a sense that there's very little between players, that sentiment spreading further can only be a good thing.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 13, 2012, 04:03:08 PM
I know of two Kildare players that are struggling for work at the moment. There was absolutely no truth in the Johnson rumours and I'm sure this is one is equally as fictional. The Maktoums aren't the patrons of Kildare football anymore...

Tut tut

Kildare and Seanie doing all they can to make it happen. Plenty of money still in them flourbags...

Quote from: AZOffaly on January 16, 2012, 04:46:30 PM
Jaysus heffo, you're gone very defensive since the Dubs won the All Ireland. I hope you're not going to be as tense all year!

I do think there's a grain of truth in what he is saying though, at least there was historically. It's not necessarily a bad thing at all by the way. Dublin goalies were always much more vocal in organising their defenses, etc. In my youth I always put it down to them playing soccer at a more organised level than us, as that is an important part of being a soccer goalie.

That said, I don't think there's any difference these days, most goalies love to shout and roar now, and Cluxton is nearly an exception if he doesn;t :)

Just rattled over the combination of having to travel to that kip on Sunday and gobsh*tes like that clown posting raimis.

Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2012, 08:13:29 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 16, 2012, 04:46:30 PM

Just rattled over the combination of having to travel to that kip on Sunday and gobsh*tes like that clown posting raimis.
It'd have ya scratching yer head alright when a Meath keeper being loud in a game is put forward as evidence that Dublin keepers are the loudest! And worse were that others agreed with him. Imagine the pure sheeite they'd come up with if there ever had been a Dublin keeper who was a headbanger like Davy Fitz or Cake Curran???

Quote from: Hound on January 17, 2012, 07:03:08 AM
I know of two Kildare players that are struggling for work at the moment. There was absolutely no truth in the Johnson rumours and I'm sure this is one is equally as fictional. The Maktoums aren't the patrons of Kildare football anymore...

Tut tut

Kildare and Seanie doing all they can to make it happen. Plenty of money still in them flourbags...

Kildare are doing nowt. If lads like Johnson want to ply their trade in the ultra competitive Kildare county championship, nobody will stand in his way.

Quote from: heffo on January 13, 2012, 03:36:31 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 13, 2012, 03:30:44 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 13, 2012, 02:58:30 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 13, 2012, 02:34:56 PM

Davy Byrne & McCarthy were impressive last week.

Making a comeback is he, a bit old to be challenging Cluxton, Dublin's Thierry Henry!!!
I'd expect to see Supple getting games before the Championship. I believe he was promised game time to keep him away from the high flying Lillys

What's this about Heffo? Has by-passed me...

Different guy, same club. Davy Byrne the keeper moved to Rathoath about ten years ago.

Supple was approached by Kildare offering him a decent job etc if he'd move - he's working as a porter at the mo as he has no leaving cert (or is in process of getting it).

Sure that's silly season stuff, file that away in the Declan Browne section along with Seanie Johnson. Doubt Kildare could compete financially these day with Brigids never mind Waterford City or Dublin Province
There was absolutely no truth in the Johnson rumours and I'm sure this is one is equally as fictional.

Kildare did not under any circumstances approach Seanie Johnson or Shane Supple.

Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2012, 09:27:50 AM
Quote from: heffo on January 13, 2012, 03:36:31 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 13, 2012, 03:30:44 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 13, 2012, 02:58:30 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 13, 2012, 02:34:56 PM

Davy Byrne & McCarthy were impressive last week.

Making a comeback is he, a bit old to be challenging Cluxton, Dublin's Thierry Henry!!!
I'd expect to see Supple getting games before the Championship. I believe he was promised game time to keep him away from the high flying Lillys

What's this about Heffo? Has by-passed me...

Different guy, same club. Davy Byrne the keeper moved to Rathoath about ten years ago.

Supple was approached by Kildare offering him a decent job etc if he'd move - he's working as a porter at the mo as he has no leaving cert (or is in process of getting it).

Sure that's silly season stuff, file that away in the Declan Browne section along with Seanie Johnson. Doubt Kildare could compete financially these day with Brigids never mind Waterford City or Dublin Province
There was absolutely no truth in the Johnson rumours and I'm sure this is one is equally as fictional.

Kildare did not under any circumstances approach Seanie Johnson or Shane Supple.

I talked to two members of the Kildare panel and according to them no approach was made from Kildare to Johnston whatsoever. If the lad is living in Straffan and wants to declare for a Kildare club then fair enough but I don't believe that any approach was made by the Kildare management or the county board or on their behalf.

squire_in_navy_slacks

Geezer scratching his bag already on this one.......................................