Brian McGuigan and Phillip Jordan announce their retirement

Started by muppet, November 01, 2011, 08:57:24 PM

Quote from: fitzroyalty on November 06, 2011, 11:53:44 AM
1. I have yet to see anywhere on this thread, anyone insinuate that Armagh would have won the 03 AI had Marsden not been sent off, so stop peddling that shite.

Really?...

Quote from: eriugaMS on November 01, 2011, 11:31:09 PM
Feigning injury and hurt to get D Marsden sent off will only ever send out the message he was a cheat and perjursit (By action) and an insult of all that is good in our sport.  Yes it may have won him an AI medal but to do so by such mal-practice of all that is good in Gaa was and is a heresy to all proper supporters of the game.

:P

tyrone86

Balls. If you lift your hand you run the danger of walking. Doesn't matter if it's a club game or an All Ireland Final. Build a bridge lads.

Philly Jordan - the only Ulster member of the 4-3-2-1 club

4 All Stars
3 All Ireland Senior medals
2 All Ireland U21 medals
1 All Ireland Minor medal.

Absolute legend.

Quote from: tyrone86 on November 06, 2011, 01:34:14 PM
Balls. If you lift your hand you run the danger of walking. Doesn't matter if it's a club game or an All Ireland Final. Build a bridge lads.

4 All Stars
2 All Ireland U21 medals

Absolute legend.

Quote from: orangeman on November 06, 2011, 01:41:33 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on November 06, 2011, 01:34:14 PM

4 All Stars
2 All Ireland U21 medals

Absolute legend.

+ 1

33 seconds in - still flat out.

I don't really care what that number is but you might want to take those blinkers off when you watch that ::) Bad example!

Will be a big loss still is as good as is out there.

Unreal talent and career. Flying in 2008.

He did dive in 03-i was right behind it--in canel end a few rows back--couldnt beleive Marsden was sent off. Doesnt change fact Jordan was some whb

1. I have yet to see anywhere on this thread, anyone insinuate that Armagh would have won the 03 AI had Marsden not been sent off, so stop peddling that shite.

2. Jordan ran at Marsden like a man possessed. Marsden raised his hands, as anyone would in self-defence. He was NOT the aggressor, Jordan was. Jordan hits deck like he's been shot, and simulates injury for a while, rolling about in 'agony'. That is all FACT.

To do so in an AI final to get a player sent off, I stand by my original comment. The actions of a c*nt.

Lovely word to describe Jordan.  It seems that some Tyrone fans don't accept that Jordan was in the wrong and are almost as reluctant as Armagh fans in accepting Peter Canavan should not have been sent-off in the 2005 Ulster Final Replay in a game that Tyrone would have seen out comfortably had it not been for poor referee decisions (SON & PTG).  That lovely word you used to describe Jordan would be more relevant to Ciaran McKeever and his antics that day.

In my view, Jordan didn't cover himself in glory in the Marsden incident, Jordan ran at Marsden and threw himself to the ground and rolled around as if in agony.  What else was Marsden to do?  But that one incident should not define a player – he was pretty young then but he grew up and went on to have a great career and probably learnt a lot from the incident.   

Moortown Spuds

I remember Shane Sweeney saying in 2005 how before the Tyrone Armagh game (which big Joe lost Armagh according to Armagh fans) how the certain elements of the squad had explained to him how much it meant to beat the sh*te from across the county border. Being from Aghyaran he was so far away from the face of a rivalry which was explosive and divisive in the eastern areas of Tyrone. I remember reports of Jordan removing Armagh flags from his village prior to the 2002 AI  final. A dedicated Tyrone man who obviously hated all things orange, and it showed when he took the field. I'd say he'd be quite pleased for Armagh men to know him as a c*nt!

Does anyone else notice how Armagh fans always have an excuse. Paddy O'Rourke is sh*te, Mike McGurn gets paid too much, Joe Kernan took off Geezer, Joe Kernan had Monaghon backed, Peter McDonnell had a spy in his squad, the county board are all d*cks, Jordan dived, etc etc etc. Can Armagh fans not swallow a bick man up pill and admit that the better team had beaten them.

I'd suggest that only for that injury McGuigan would have become one of the all time greats of the game, and Tyrone could have had anything up to 6-7 All Irelands.

For a couple of seasons in the mid-noughties he was the most complete centre half-forward I've seen, including Greg Blaney. There's been Mournemen hanged for ushering statements like this, but if I was to give a video to any young player to show them how Gaelic Football should be played, it would follow McGuigan around for 70 minutes of the 2005 AI Final.

In Canavan, O'Neill and Mulligan, Tyrone were blessed with great inside forwards at this time, but their job was just that little bit easier because they knew that they'd get the service they wanted. I've regularly compared McGuigan to Kieran McDonald as the opposite ends of a spectrum for a CHF. McGuigan patiently played football and then produced the ball an inside forward would want to receive, when they should receive it. McDonald continually forced the issue by playing those 80 yard curlers, which although gorgeous to look at, most of the time isolated forwards into a foot race away from goal.

Jordan was, obviously, an outstandingly good and well-rounded wing-back for over a decade, and would comfortably make any team of the noughties. One of those players who made a career out of making the right decision time and time again.

Gourley was a useful player. As a career corner back who played for the most part at the highest level against the best teams, I can't think of any instances where he got ruined or even badly found out. There aren't mant corner backs who you can say that about. We'd love to unearth a few for Down football, that's for sure.

Quote from: thewobbler on November 07, 2011, 10:42:54 AM
I'd suggest that only for that injury McGuigan would have become one of the all time greats of the game, and Tyrone could have had anything up to 6-7 All Irelands.

For a couple of seasons in the mid-noughties he was the most complete centre half-forward I've seen, including Greg Blaney. There's been Mournemen hanged for ushering statements like this, but if I was to give a video to any young player to show them how Gaelic Football should be played, it would follow McGuigan around for 70 minutes of the 2005 AI Final.

In Canavan, O'Neill and Mulligan, Tyrone were blessed with great inside forwards at this time, but their job was just that little bit easier because they knew that they'd get the service they wanted. I've regularly compared McGuigan to Kieran McDonald as the opposite ends of a spectrum for a CHF. McGuigan patiently played football and then produced the ball an inside forward would want to receive, when they should receive it.

Yep - he was almost in the Trevor Giles class.

Good luck to the lads in their retirement.

haveaharp

Quote from: Moortown Spuds on November 07, 2011, 10:12:30 AM
I remember Shane Sweeney saying in 2005 how before the Tyrone Armagh game (which big Joe lost Armagh according to Armagh fans) how the certain elements of the squad had explained to him how much it meant to beat the sh*te from across the county border. Being from Aghyaran he was so far away from the face of a rivalry which was explosive and divisive in the eastern areas of Tyrone. I remember reports of Jordan removing Armagh flags from his village prior to the 2002 AI  final. A dedicated Tyrone man who obviously hated all things orange, and it showed when he took the field. I'd say he'd be quite pleased for Armagh men to know him as a c*nt!

Does anyone else notice how Armagh fans always have an excuse. Paddy O'Rourke is sh*te, Mike McGurn gets paid too much, Joe Kernan took off Geezer, Joe Kernan had Monaghon backed, Peter McDonnell had a spy in his squad, the county board are all d*cks, Jordan dived, etc etc etc. Can Armagh fans not swallow a bick man up pill and admit that the better team had beaten them.

Arguably the worst fisherman on the board. :D

Radda bout yeee

Quote from: rrhf on November 05, 2011, 11:44:23 AM
By the way Orchardman I have raised my fist on the football field - just three times, whilst looking up at Dooher and Canavan in the hogan stand.

Cringe!

Radda bout yeee

Quote from: thewobbler on November 07, 2011, 10:42:54 AM

Couldn't agree more!

McGuigan was a good player, but he was nowhere near the player Greg Blaney was.

Ciaran McKeever was a c**t for what he did in the 2005 replay?? So what did that make McMenamin given what he did to John McEntee that day?

PJ was a good player but what he did in 2003 final will always overshadow anything he did on a football pitch.

Tyrone fans here are saying Armagh fans should get over 2003 and the Jordan/Marsden incident. And if the ball was on the other foot? A disgusting act which cost your team an all Ireland title? Would you let it go? No, you most certainly wouldn't!

Really II?...

Quote from: BennyCake on November 07, 2011, 11:20:26 AM
Tyrone fans here are saying Armagh fans should get over 2003 and the Jordan/Marsden incident. And if the ball was on the other foot? A disgusting act which cost your team an all Ireland title? Would you let it go? No, you most certainly wouldn't!

:P