Steve Jobs RIP

Started by seafoid, October 06, 2011, 09:23:52 AM

Quote from: muppet on October 06, 2011, 11:42:19 PM
If Jobs was still here and announced that tomorrow Apple would be launching the iCar. Would you:

a) ignore it;
b) research it with an open mind;
c) find out how to book one immediately;

In the 1990s it was alway a). From 200o to 2006 I became a b). Now I am probably closer to c).

d) Wait until the second version and even then wait for others to try it out first.

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 06, 2011, 11:55:57 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 06, 2011, 11:42:19 PM
If Jobs was still here and announced that tomorrow Apple would be launching the iCar. Would you:

a) ignore it;
b) research it with an open mind;
c) find out how to book one immediately;

In the 1990s it was alway a). From 200o to 2006 I became a b). Now I am probably closer to c).

d) Wait until the second version and even then wait for others to try it out first.

That would be a b) then.

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 06, 2011, 08:41:24 PM
You're obviously a technically minded person, and this is something that people like you don't always understand
Oh Christ!

I've just had a deja vu of 1,000 meetings with marketing types.

QuotePeople buy benefits, not features.

Where's that bucket.

Quote from: Hardy on October 07, 2011, 12:57:18 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 06, 2011, 08:41:24 PM
You're obviously a technically minded person, and this is something that people like you don't always understand
Oh Christ!

I've just had a deja vu of 1,000 meetings with marketing types.

QuotePeople buy benefits, not features.

Where's that bucket.

Its called 'trash' by us non-technically minded people. You wouldn't understand.  ;D

Quote from: muppet on October 07, 2011, 01:12:41 AM
Its called 'trash' by us non-technically minded people.

Are you saying yanks aren't technically minded? Racialist!  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMz_RQuTBlI

Seriously, though, Fionntamhnach, those comments annoyed me too and they weren't even directed at me.

Anyway, due respect to the dead, but since I doubt his family will be looking in here, I feel able to say the Jobs hysteria is reaching Diana Spencer proportions now. Today's Examiner has an editorial describing Jobs as "one of the greatest, if not the greatest hero of the age". The disturbing thing is they may be right. The heroes of other ages were explorers, scientists, writers, soldiers and astronauts. It's probably appropriate that the greatest hero of the communications age is a salesman.

The Irish Times does WTF very well 

He made massive demands on his staff to meet the goals he set them, but was said to be fiercely loyal to those who he felt delivered for the Apple corporation. Staff who he felt lacked loyalty, or talked to the media, were dismissed on the spot.

US president Barack Obama said: "there may be no greater tribute to Steves success than the fact that much of the world learned of his passing on a device he invented".

This led me to thinking about the person who invented the coffin -it must have been incredible when he or she was buried in the device they had invented. 

Interesting piece here - http://www.wired.com/epicenter/2011/10/steve-jobs-disability/

QuoteIt's probably appropriate that the greatest hero of the communications age is a salesman.

Nicely put - particularly given what's happening across the world these days

Quote from: ONeill on October 06, 2011, 11:03:08 PM
It's odd the way some people choose to deride those who use Apple products.

I use both. I use a Macbook and a standard Compaq laptop. At work it's a similar story. I also own an iPhone and use my wife's Blackberry as well as another crappyish Nokia. For simplicity of use I find Apple products appealing. It's just a personal choice. I know the likes of Photoshop or basic Word should not really differ over both platforms yet for some reason I prefer using both on the Macbook. Keyboard? Visual appeal? I don't know. It just does it for me.

And vice versa. I find it amusing the zealots on both sides. At the end of the day, who gives a shite? If it is easy to use, has cool features and looks good, I'll use it no matter if it says Apple, Dell, Blackberry or Nokia on it. Who cares? It's the information you are using it for that's important at the end of the day. All of these are just tools to create/view it.

Jesus lads will yiz calm down?  I'm not trying to lower the tone of the conversation at all. Someone posted something about "marketing types" and a "bucket" which I could have taken personally since technically I work in a marketing department but I'm not going to blow a gasket over a comment on an internet message board.

All I said was people proficient in engineering don't always understand marketing, marketing types don't always understand engineering, and I'm seeing hints of it in this discussion. This is the kind of thing people in silicon valley talk openly about all the time because the place is built on understanding the extent and the limits of other peoples' skills. If you interpreted that as some sort of deeply hurtful personal insult then that's not what I intended and I apologize, but I don't apologize for making the observation about how Jobs was able to bridge the usual gap between the two world views and that's what got him such good results. Is that fair enough?

I think I'm going to sue the government of the United States. I spent 4 full years over there, and for some reason I still *don't* know everything.

Excellent, AZ. For once, ROFLMAO is almost justified.