US Open 2011 16th-19th June at Congressional Country Club

Started by Groucho, June 09, 2011, 12:07:55 PM

Quote from: heganboy on June 21, 2011, 03:06:27 AM
If ever you get to play Ardglass golf course, there's a fair chance you'll see Gerry Kelly propping up the bar afterwards.

Ardglass would put the fear of God into you. beautiful and terrible golf course all at the same time.

And fair enough was chatting to Mr Kelly in the bar after the last time I played!

I'm not great at golf but managed to play Arglass once, and par'd the hardest hole on the course. Fcuked every other one up but sure......

Great course and the food afterwards was great also. I think you can see Gerry's house from the course
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Jesus lads I been reading last couple of days contributions, a few on here have really embarressed themselves!!!

From down here looking up it seems that Rory is New Irish a liberal young man not swayed by an political persuasion. Refeshing to see to be honest, a young man looking forward not back.

Groucho

Lads we should be celebrating....end of story....I enjoyed McIlroy's win as much as McDowell's and Harrington's (x3)

Couldn't care less what his background is or who he supports..... we don't have to pigeon hole people.

As for Ardglass....very fond memories of a good course, great people, goos stout and great sea food 8)

I like to see the fairways more narrow, then everyone would have to play from the rough, not just me

Courtesy of HoganStand.

US Open Champion Rory McIlroyNew US Open Champion Rory McIlroy has a strong GAA background.

His uncle Mickey McDonald was a star attacker for Armagh from 1982 to 1987.

From the St. Pauls club in Lurgan, Mickey usually lined out at left half and left full forward.

During this period, Armagh were rated amongst the top teams in the country and were warm favourites for the NFL title in 1983.

The Orchard County had edged out Meath on a 2-8 to 1-7 scoreline in the semi-finals, the opportunist McDonald finishing with a tally of 1-2.

Unfortunately for the men in Saffron, old rivals Down surprised everybody by virtue of a 1-8 to 0-8 final victory, with Mickey McDonald notching one of the Armagh points.

During that League run McDonald struck 1-1 in a famous victory over Kerry in his native Lurgan, while his brace of goals edged Armagh to a 3-4 to 0-9 victory over Mayo.

The St. Pauls club was formed in 1971 to cater for a growing GAA population in Lurgan, also the home of famed Clan na Gael, the first Armagh team to win Ulster Club honours.

Mickey McDonald emerged as a star attacker amongst a host of successful St. Pauls' underage teams and first came to national prominence as a key member of a very talented Armagh minor team, who eventually went under to future All-Ireland champions Down following a replay in 1977.

So, as they say in that part of Armagh, 'Rory just didn't pick it up off the bushes'! That sporting ability and accuracy was always in his genes.

Congratulations Rory.

Quote from: Orior on June 21, 2011, 12:32:32 AM
Quote from: Eire2010 on June 21, 2011, 12:21:59 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 21, 2011, 12:06:27 AM
Some of the talk on this thread is embarrassing.

From what I know of him, McIloy is a likable, down to earth, all round nice guy. He appears to like nothing better than coming home and hanging out with his mates in the Belfast spots any other 22 year old would go to. Who gives a toss about his politics or allegiance?

Sligonian, I remember you had a problem with Marty Clarke writing NI for "Northern Ireland" on his arm during his Collingwood tenure so forgive me if I, or anybody else, cares a damn what you think.

Is that a catholic plus or a protestant plus?
That is a ridiculou series of posts mbarrasing stuff, i never once mentioned anything negative regarding mcilroys nationality or religion have come on here looking to be offended and spout yer moral police rubbish that fits in nicely with yere egos, i said i think hes a dick from stuff hes said in the past, I dont have to like to him just because ye or puckoon say so. Ye really need to look at yereselves and read my posts properly, do i really have to bump my post up again... i cant see the releavance on marty clarke and i cant remember what i said tbh, but just goes to show how bitter some of ye are to remember something i siad 3/4 yrs ago..

+1 Fair play to Clarke some sessions ahead , congrats to rory, i still think hes a bit of dick but what he did over the last weekend was phenonmenal, i thought he'd blow it but credit where its due it showed some balls to win after only 17 days since Augusta, Its great to see the older players rallying round him too wanting to share his triumph.

When i saw the Tri colour being thrown i cringed tbh, its an Irish thing once theres international success we try claim him/her if theres a doubt of nationality. Let him be who he wants to be.
bumped,maybe when yourreplying to my posts you could quote it in future, i dont have to defend anything i said, just the usual reposts saying i something completely different without quote.

Congratulation to young Rory. I don't care who you played for or what community you align yourself too. You did yourself proud and your family. That's all that is important, especially after collapsing in Augusta a short period ago. You showed yourself to be a true champion, to look for your failings and come back in such a fantastic fashion.

Isn't it any wonder people here and fighting over who "owns" you? ;)

The BBC are now claiming you as their's now too ;)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-13838432

Rory McIlroy - its like the scene from Braveheart where the Lords argue over where his allegiences lie after his first battle victory over the English.

Quote from: ziggysego on June 21, 2011, 02:23:15 PM
Isn't it any wonder people here and fighting over who "owns" you? ;)

Success has many parents but failure is an orphan. Sure didn't we all see the dour, stubborn Prod / feckless, lazy Taig [delete as applicable] in him at Augusta?

Have always liked Rory, a few of my friends are big into their golf and would have played against him before he made it big, unfortunately being from Lurgan their golf aspirations were hindered by a certain tonic wine...

Besides the point, if I have to have one criticism of Rory, it has to be that God-awful hairpiece! He's lucky he has his millions for he wouldn't pull otherwise!

Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 20, 2011, 12:29:36 PM
Why would people want to know where he stands before joining his fan club?
Thats tosh. I couldnt care less if he were catholic, protestant, black, yella, jewish, hindu whatever the fcuk...he is an excellent golfer and comes across as a well-mannered decent guy. He is a good role model for young kids and aspiring golfers. Why do we need to bring politics, flags, religion and bullshit into this discussion.
ehh he did.compare him to Barry McGuigan

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 21, 2011, 01:18:52 PM

From what I know of him, McIloy is a likable, down to earth, all round nice guy. He appears to like nothing better than coming home and hanging out with his mates in the Belfast spots any other 22 year old would go to. Who gives a toss about his politics or allegiance?

Sligonian, I remember you had a problem with Marty Clarke writing NI for "Northern Ireland" on his arm during his Collingwood tenure so forgive me if I, or anybody else, cares a damn what you think.

That is a ridiculou series of posts mbarrasing stuff, i never once mentioned anything negative regarding mcilroys nationality or religion have come on here looking to be offended and spout yer moral police rubbish that fits in nicely with yere egos, i said i think hes a dick from stuff hes said in the past, I dont have to like to him just because ye or puckoon say so. Ye really need to look at yereselves and read my posts properly, do i really have to bump my post up again... i cant see the releavance on marty clarke and i cant remember what i said tbh, but just goes to show how bitter some of ye are to remember something i siad 3/4 yrs ago..

+1 Fair play to Clarke some sessions ahead , congrats to rory, i still think hes a bit of dick but what he did over the last weekend was phenonmenal, i thought he'd blow it but credit where its due it showed some balls to win after only 17 days since Augusta, Its great to see the older players rallying round him too wanting to share his triumph.

When i saw the Tri colour being thrown i cringed tbh, its an Irish thing once theres international success we try claim him/her if theres a doubt of nationality. Let him be who he wants to be.
bumped,maybe when yourreplying to my posts you could quote it in future, i dont have to defend anything i said, just the usual reposts saying i something completely different without quote.
You seem to be having this issue on a lot of threads though.....

Glensman

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 21, 2011, 12:54:57 PM
Courtesy of HoganStand.

US Open Champion Rory McIlroyNew US Open Champion Rory McIlroy has a strong GAA background.

His uncle Mickey McDonald was a star attacker for Armagh from 1982 to 1987.

From the St. Pauls club in Lurgan, Mickey usually lined out at left half and left full forward.

During this period, Armagh were rated amongst the top teams in the country and were warm favourites for the NFL title in 1983.

The Orchard County had edged out Meath on a 2-8 to 1-7 scoreline in the semi-finals, the opportunist McDonald finishing with a tally of 1-2.

Unfortunately for the men in Saffron, old rivals Down surprised everybody by virtue of a 1-8 to 0-8 final victory, with Mickey McDonald notching one of the Armagh points.

During that League run McDonald struck 1-1 in a famous victory over Kerry in his native Lurgan, while his brace of goals edged Armagh to a 3-4 to 0-9 victory over Mayo.

The St. Pauls club was formed in 1971 to cater for a growing GAA population in Lurgan, also the home of famed Clan na Gael, the first Armagh team to win Ulster Club honours.

Mickey McDonald emerged as a star attacker amongst a host of successful St. Pauls' underage teams and first came to national prominence as a key member of a very talented Armagh minor team, who eventually went under to future All-Ireland champions Down following a replay in 1977.

So, as they say in that part of Armagh, 'Rory just didn't pick it up off the bushes'! That sporting ability and accuracy was always in his genes.

Congratulations Rory.

Completely disgusted by this - Armagh don't play in Saffron.

I saw the flag bouncing off his shoulder on Sunday night (which I presume he didn't see or it was removed by a security man) and I just knew this would make a discussion for some eejits.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 21, 2011, 01:18:52 PM

I'm not going to go and search for a post that is a couple of years old, but I specifically know you expressed the fact you were "disappointed" that Clarke wrote "NI" on his arm as you assumed it meant the Norn Iron Saccer team.

The relevance is, as pointed out above, this isn't the first time you've expressed such narrow minded opinions on one of our country's top young stars based on their allegiances.