'reasoned and balanced piece'   ?

It was nothing but a rant!

By Donegal standards it was reasoned and balance.  :P

Sandy Hill

"Stercus accidit"

sheamy

The title also makes it sound like the whole of RTE had a go at Donegal. Katherine Thomas and Pat Kenny and the whole pile of them. It was 2-3 clowns who are best ignored in good times and bad. People in Donegal should pay no heed.

If most people are honest, they watched that game and went 'that was Shi-ite' (as Pat would say). Upon further reflection you realise you watched every second of it intently. I was in this position. I was disgusted at what had (hand) passed for football. Then I realised it was one of the few matches I had watched intently from start to finish all year. I had long left Kerry v Mayo when I saw the nature of the resistance. Brings an interesting question to mind about what counts as entertainment.

I still it's terrible for the game to be headed this way, and I probably would have been as big a tool as Brolly and co had someone interviewed me 2 mins after the game. However, thinking about it again, it deserves more credit. Certainly from anyone basing their argument on an 'entertainment' factor.

andoireabu

Quote from: blast05 on September 07, 2011, 09:27:34 AM
Ireland set up shop around the goals and they are heros.
Donegal do it and the get lambasted from every corner.

Andoireabu ..... you need to go back to maths class - area of half a circle with radius of 50m versus area of half a circle with radius of 35m.... 'pie times radius squared / 2' and all that
My counting is grand thanks.  I took it you meant 35*88 and 50*88 as you mentioned the width of the pitch, for this my sums stand.  As you meant a radius of 35 and 50 then the width of the pitch doesnt matter a sh1te and the new area to cover is more than 100% so your ~95% is still wrong.

(Pi(35^2))/2=1924.23
(Pi(50^2))/2=3926.99

Increase in area is 2002.76 so as a percentage of the original is 104%

Looks like it isn't me who needs the maths class after all.
Private Cowboy: Don't shit me, man!
Private Joker: I wouldn't shit you. You're my favorite turd!

cadence

Quote from: ross matt on September 06, 2011, 11:31:31 PM
Quote from: cadence on September 06, 2011, 06:30:02 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 06, 2011, 11:51:16 AM
Well put, cadence. For many people, if they're not supporting a team, sport is just about the spectacle. They want it to be, well, spectacular. In my opinion, they're wasting their money going to football matches or any regular sport if that's what they're after. They might as well go to the circus. Or better still, go to one of the many junk sports that are springing up to cater for this mentality.

If you're interested in who can jump the highest or do the fanciest tricks when under no pressure, surely you'd get much more enjoyment out of watching an acrobat or one of these lads with the jumping bikes than watching a football match and wishing nobody would tackle the star player so that he can score nice points or hit nice looking passes.

But if you're more interested in watching how people react to pressure or how a team responds to adversity or how a manager tries to counter an unexpected tactic by his opponent, then you'll enjoy a football match that has these elements no matter how low the score. And you'll certainly enjoy a 6-points-apiece draw ten times more than a ten point win for one side, unless it's for your own team.

i with you.... love the aspects of the game you talk about + the bare-faced tenacity and cheek of it to try and beat those who on paper you've no right (as some would see it) to be even lining up against. i just think that's really admirable.

+ i'd like to add that i don't want the skill aspect of football taken away. but i'd hate to see football just to be aesthetically pleasing on the eye. it would become like those meals in fancy restaurants with the finicking little swirls on the plate, lovely to look at, and even nice to consume, but you're left starving, unfulfilled and disappointed by the whole affair. football is so much more than the high field, the pick up, etc, much and all as these are great aspects of the game. i wish we hadda learned our lessons sooner!

Congrats. Of all the pathetic feeble justifications of "Visionary Jim"'s pig ugly tactics your post beats the lot.

well, i'm not sure that it does, but thanks all the same. i think it's a pity that you've closed your heart to this side of the game. i think if you were more open that it could be a very enriching and rewarding experience for you. instead of going on a downer about it, you could be enraptured. it opens up a whole new world. and i read somewhere, can't remember where, that it's better for your health that way too. i thought it was good advice anyway when i read it. 

OverThePostsAWide

Quote from: andoireabu on September 07, 2011, 07:06:16 PM

Andoireabu ..... you need to go back to maths class - area of half a circle with radius of 50m versus area of half a circle with radius of 35m.... 'pie times radius squared / 2' and all that
My counting is grand thanks.  I took it you meant 35*88 and 50*88 as you mentioned the width of the pitch, for this my sums stand. As you meant a radius of 35 and 50 then the width of the pitch doesnt matter a sh1te and the new area to cover is more than 100% so your ~95% is still wrong.

(Pi(35^2))/2=1924.23
(Pi(50^2))/2=3926.99

andoireabu stop digging - you're showing St Pat's Maghera up  ;D

No amount of indignant puff will fit a semi-circle of diameter 100m onto a pitch which is only 88m wide...

Blast05 was only slightly off in his figures but his method was sound. You, on the other hand, still don't seem to have fully grasped the concept even after being slapped about the head ::)

The area of a semi-circle of radius 50m has indeed an increase of 104% on one of radius 35m. Blast05 said 100%.

But the area of a semi-circle of radius 50m on a 88m wide pitch has a "half segment" cut off from each side (extending 23.75m out linearly from the goalline). The total area lost in this case is 192.44m^2 so the remaining area is 3734.56m^2 which is a 94% increase on the 35m semi-circle area of 1924.23m^2. Blast05 said 95%  :P

Think cutting a piece of pie...

...humble pie  ;D

The original point was well made blast05 - increasing the shooting range from 35m to 50m almost doubles the defensive area within that range and as a result would almost half the number of Donegal men to the square metre*

*I propose this as a new defensive unit of measurement as the Tyrone one is getting old and out of date.

sheamy

Jesus lads, would you leave the maths offa here. Noone beats John Brennan at this game:

"If ten players get over 50 per cent on the opposition ten players, then...You're never going to get 15 players playing at 100 per cent.  If I could get 20 players at 80 per cent, if I can get 1600 per cent, we'll beat anybody.  I'm not a mathematician, but I like working things out.  That has been my belief and it has worked down the years with me.  You'll never get 15 100 per cents, but if you can get 20 at 80 per cent, you'll beat anybody."

Before 2002 we had no need for numbers or percentages in gaelic football.
Something else we can thank our northern friends for.

sheamy

Quote from: Jinxy on September 08, 2011, 03:15:24 PM
Jinxy, has Mike Sheehy stolen your password?

Aye, ye free staters could do with learning a bit about numbers.

eg -1000000000000000 EUR is bad on a bank account.

andoireabu

Quote from: OverThePostsAWide on September 08, 2011, 02:52:45 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on September 07, 2011, 07:06:16 PM

My counting is grand thanks.  I took it you meant 35*88 and 50*88 as you mentioned the width of the pitch, for this my sums stand. As you meant a radius of 35 and 50 then the width of the pitch doesnt matter a sh1te and the new area to cover is more than 100% so your ~95% is still wrong.

(Pi(35^2))/2=1924.23
(Pi(50^2))/2=3926.99

andoireabu stop digging - you're showing St Pat's Maghera up  ;D

No amount of indignant puff will fit a semi-circle of diameter 100m onto a pitch which is only 88m wide...

Blast05 was only slightly off in his figures but his method was sound. You, on the other hand, still don't seem to have fully grasped the concept even after being slapped about the head ::)

The area of a semi-circle of radius 50m has indeed an increase of 104% on one of radius 35m. Blast05 said 100%.

But the area of a semi-circle of radius 50m on a 88m wide pitch has a "half segment" cut off from each side (extending 23.75m out linearly from the goalline). The total area lost in this case is 192.44m^2 so the remaining area is 3734.56m^2 which is a 94% increase on the 35m semi-circle area of 1924.23m^2. Blast05 said 95%  :P

Think cutting a piece of pie...

...humble pie  ;D

The original point was well made blast05 - increasing the shooting range from 35m to 50m almost doubles the defensive area within that range and as a result would almost half the number of Donegal men to the square metre*

*I propose this as a new defensive unit of measurement as the Tyrone one is getting old and out of date.
Fair enough i'll put the spade down. See my mistake now.
Private Cowboy: Don't shit me, man!
Private Joker: I wouldn't shit you. You're my favorite turd!

as it was a wet day, scores from distance were not easy to get.
Would like to see how these teams get on with the Donegal Iron Curtain defense when its a dry day and they have an opportunity to kick for a point from anywhere from 40 yards out...
I'd expect these teams would land a few more than 6 or 7 points - meaning donegal would have to come out to attack like they did v Kildare.
they can play when they have to. They were just not made play last day out !
If they had they could have won. A view held by many, inc a former Dublin AI winning manager!

Quote from: sheamy on September 08, 2011, 03:17:55 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 08, 2011, 03:15:24 PM
Jinxy, has Mike Sheehy stolen your password?

Aye, ye free staters could do with learning a bit about numbers.

eg -1000000000000000 EUR is bad on a bank account.

Given its origins I am now rechristening "puke football" to be "nordieball" (or "britball" when I really want to wind ye up). I may also refer to the Dublin variant as "west-britball"

Notice has been served

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 08, 2011, 08:11:16 PM
Given its origins I am now rechristening "puke football" to be "nordieball" (or "britball" when I really want to wind ye up). I may also refer to the Dublin variant as "west-britball"

Notice has been served

You're getting off lightly this evening Sheehy (so far), and I just love your unhinged wind-ups!  :D

I heard McFadden drove the team bus home from Dublin the day of the match and the rest of the team all sat at the back.........