All-Ireland Senior Football final - Kerry v Dublin 18/09/2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 22, 2011, 06:06:06 PM

Open to correction but Diarmuid Connolly's dad is from Kilkenny, teaches in Ard Scoil Ris on Griffith Avenue (hell of a commute from Leitrim) and played football for them. 

I suppose we won't get answer to this until the Dublin contingent surface.

Quote from: rrhf on September 19, 2011, 11:06:39 AM
Strange argument muppet.  Just as it isnt anything thats peculiar to Donegal, despite what the Nualas argue, a team can freeze and become coservative and not get the ball in. Donegal did it in the semi and Kerry did it in the final.  Same result.  Dublin the braver team with more composure going forward won.  Because Pat Spillane promotes lazy analysis which does influence the mindset of even the most sensible watcher Im gonna leave this game with this thought...  "Kerry dont win tight ai finals." where the opposition work hard and dont bow down.   Discuss..

That is the point. Any team can find themselves playing negatively due to circumstances, freezing as you put it is one example, one or two players losing the heads, we have all seen it on the field.

However retreating 13 players into your half for an opposition kickout and conceding possession, is obviously a strategy, not something that evolved on the day.

Was a cracking finish, and great to see Dublin lift it.

After brennans dig, O Sullivan wasnt at the races, gave ball away for goal, and despite getting back was too f**ked to put in tackle. McManaman took about 9 steps for the goal - ref favoured Dublin overall I thought. Cant imagine it'd be easy to have blown it, given that the ball would have been in the net before most would have heard the whistle, and I know there are often overcarrying incidents, but there were no mitigating circumstances here (man hanging off him etc).

Kerry haven't now beaten a team from Ulster or Leinster in an All-Ireland final since 1986.

Quote from: rrhf on September 19, 2011, 10:05:13 AM
Kerry but they dont do defensive well and I think that might be the last of them for a generation. 

Wishful thinking there me boy.
Them wounded " worst kind of effin animals " will be back upsetting a lot of us mere mortals in a year or two again.  :'(
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Denn Forever on September 19, 2011, 11:08:08 AM
Open to correction but Diarmuid Connolly's dad is from Kilkenny, teaches in Ard Scoil Ris on Griffith Avenue (hell of a commute from Leitrim) and played football for them. 

I suppose we won't get answer to this until the Dublin contingent surface.

Diarmuid's dad is very much a Kilkenny man. Yes he's a teacher as well. His mother is from Kerry I believe. He was no relations in Leitrim. Diarmuid was born in Dublin.

His brother played for Leitrim because those counties can have 3-4 players from other counties playing for them. Vincents had 3 players who played for leitrim at hurling but dont have any anymore.

Quote from: Aaron Boone on September 19, 2011, 12:08:25 PM
A Kerry win in 2012 would end a 3-year famine.
I can see the replay montage of defeats to Down and Dublin already, complete with voice over from Jacko describing the hurt a Kerry person feels when they loose a match.....oh and he'd be sipping tea by the Lakes of Killarney as well obviously.....

Thanks for the congrats fellas. Just an incredible day. Commiserations to the Kerry fans here.

Hard to put into words yet. Worst hangover of my life but well worth it.

We were lucky to a degree. Kerry had the game won and they handed it to us. But I think sheer willpower got us over the line. We couldn't afford to lose yesterday again.

People have no idea what this will do for GAA in general and especially in Dublin. I know people aren't our biggest fans at times but the capital city needs to winning these now and again to keep GAA in the spotlight.

The great thing is at least 15 other counties could replicate Dublin. Dublin have very few superstars playing for them. Just sheer effort got us 90% of the way.

How did they decide on Merrion Square for the homecoming? Was never mentioned in passing.

Quote from: INDIANA on September 19, 2011, 12:17:32 PM
People have no idea what this will do for GAA in general and especially in Dublin. I know people aren't our biggest fans at times but the capital city needs to winning these now and again to keep GAA in the spotlight.

I'm relishing the pain that the Hot Press brigade must be feeling as the culchies (as they would see GAA types) take over 'their' city tonight. Take Sam down every lane and alley! ;D

Listen ya eejits, Kerry were 4 points up and tried to hold onto possession to frustrate Dublin and close out the match. That is not "negative" mass defence. It is something that comes from experience and many of the best teams in a range of sports do it. What happened is that Kerry made an error in a pass got turned over and a brilliant goal was scored. This injected Dublin with some extra life and the rest we know. If Kerry had not made that mistake we all know they would have won and people on here would be going on about how professional they were to run down the clock. It was a fantastic game and I'm just glad Donegal weren't there to spoil it.

Will the Meath men  ion here admit that Cluxtons celebrations supercede Kevin Foleys as the best celebrations ever witnessed on a Gaelic Field?

sheamy

Some way to win a game! Real snatch and grab stuff. Brilliant for the dubs and the neutrals. Totally devasting for Kerry as they had it sown up and were 'coasting' in the words of Marc O'Se.

My one reservation is that this now sends a signal to about ten other counties. Pack 10-12 men in defence and you're in with a chance. That's not taking away from Dublin who can also attack at lighting speed with good kick passes. Just the way the game is going. Kerry ain't much different to be honest. Anyway, that's for another discussion.

Congrats to Tipp minors as well. Nice to see well conceived plans at underage paying off. Here's hoping they continue it through into u21 and senior. I think they will. Kerry might have two teams to play in Munster then.

I heard coppers was still rocking this morning with Damien Dempsey leading the charge. Sounds like deadly craic!

Tell Screen- the monkeys are doing fine. I imagine it will be quite some time before he re-surfaces.