All-Ireland Senior Football final - Kerry v Dublin 18/09/2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 22, 2011, 06:06:06 PM

Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 15, 2011, 11:08:42 AM
Captain Scarlet, did you not know your are not allow criticise anything to do with Kerry football only eulogise...

I see you took your head out of the dubs arses long enough to get that dig in.

brown noser

I'm just bringing that Ulster tribal nonsense to Leinster....

Just looking forward to a good game and with no contentious issues.

Best of luck to both teams.

I don't believe that there's any way in the world that the Dubs will go man-to-man, or toe-to-toe with Kerry, in this one.

Their overarching, over-aching, over-obsessive, totally overwhelming priority, especially in the first half, will be to prevent the Kingdom from racking up anything like a cricket score, and Pat Gilroy is more than prepared to sacrifice the footballing aesthetics on that particular altar (contain your wretching Spillane, remember the 'startled earwigs'!). Ergo, expect more of a Donegal than Dublin from Dublin initially, and on the assumption that Kerry have been somewhat contained by half-time (< 3 points ahead), the Dubs might, just might, loosen the shackles in the second half and explore their more expansive tendencies.

In summary, it might not be pretty but the Dubs won't care!

Quoteit might not be pretty but the Dubs won't care!

If we win by 2 point to 1 i'd take it ;)

The Hill is Blue

There's a strange atmosphere in Dublin in advance of Sunday's game. Most supporters, I believe, are very relaxed. We realise that our team will be coming up against one of the greatest teams of all time and that the experts are spot-on in predicting a clear-cut win for the Kingdom. All this means that we have no unrealistic expectations, and provided that the lads are not hammered and if they keep fighting to the end we'll be proud of them no matter what the final result.

So we're all very relaxed – it's so like the build-up to the 1974 All Ireland Semi-Final when the Dubs came up against the greatest Cork football team of all time.........   ;)
I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8

Quote from: Declan on September 16, 2011, 01:52:02 PM
Quoteit might not be pretty but the Dubs won't care!

If we win by 2 point to 1 i'd take it ;)

If you win by 1 point to zero you'd take it!  ;)

Here's to a good final. Cant believe how much the Dubs have been written off in the last few weeks. I'm sticking with my prediction that they'll have too much overall pace and power for a Kerry side that still has some great players but also has weaknesses.

The way they had to dig themselves out of trouble mentally to make the final will also stand to the Dubs. Gilroy has cut out all the hype and circus normally surrounding them. I love watching Declan O'Sullivan, Tomas O'Se and the Gooch but this time round I'd like to see the Brogan Bros, Cluxton and Cullen win their first AI senior medal.

Go on ya boy ye

Quote from: ross matt on September 16, 2011, 02:30:35 PM
Here's to a good final. Cant believe how much the Dubs have been written off in the last few weeks. I'm sticking with my prediction that they'll have too much overall pace and power for a Kerry side that still has some great players but also has weaknesses.

The way they had to dig themselves out of trouble mentally to make the final will also stand to the Dubs. Gilroy has cut out all the hype and circus normally surrounding them. I love watching Declan O'Sullivan, Tomas O'Se and the Gooch but this time round I'd like to see the Brogan Bros, Cluxton and Cullen win their first AI senior medal.

For once on here, an honest speak from an honest man.

Come on the Dubs.  A toast to the the Dubs.  "May we keep the wolves in the hills and the women in our beds".

Alive alive ohho!!

cadence

agree with some comments in this thread. got a feeling that dublin are going to make breaking them down very tough. i'm not expecting it to be an open game, more hard fought than anything.

Dublin by at least 3, not sure wether to back them to win by 1-3 at 7/2 or 4-6pts.  I shit you not, Dubs are certs IMO.  A tramping match round MF and Kerry's HB area and the  Kerry attacks will get cut of at source, Kerry's MF and defence will be shown up for the what they are - very very ordinary, a team that has been carried by it's forwards all year.  Off course if Dublin fill the pants it'll be up for grabs, but I think Gilroy has known what hes been at from the very start and I dont see any reason why they wont have an appropriate gameplan and they have the players to execute it.

The prebout weigh in / trash talking now winding down.

I think that the Dubs will win on Sunday and comprehensively enough at the end. I believe that we had our "St Brendan's Cup/ Gaelic Park" moment in Killarney in the spring of 2010. Will go on a limb and say Dubs to win by 5plus. Cyberderision awaits I am sure.
Am a firm believer that the end comes very quickly and harshly to great teams........... amazed to see Kerry playing players who were not deemed good enough some years ago. 2 warhorses on the bench also.
Hope ladyluck smiles belatedly on us on Sunday and maybe one of our shots goes into the net off the post and not 30 yards upfield.

Regardless of result our two teams have done us proud this year.

Btw, my predictions this year have been hopeless.

Am torn between Connolly and Declan O'S as my bets for motm. Both around 10/1.

Hope fellow Dub and Kerry posters here enjoy the day.

I also think Dublin will win.

Mayo had four clear goal chances V Kerry, My guess is that Dublin will be a bit more clinical in their finishing. Not a Revelation, but the Kerry fullback line is very suspect. Mayo could have scored 3-10, they still would have got beaten, but I believe Dublin's forwards are a bigger threat than Mayo's.

Surprise of the day could be O Gara starting if Flynn is hurt. O Gara's robust style could bother Kerry's fullback, in addition, he does not have the finesse to be an impact sub. Expect Alan Brogan to play wing half or center half if Flynn is out.

Would be somewhat worried about Dublin corner backs, The dummy that was sold by Colm Mcfadden in the s/f has to be worrying, if that happens sunday, Dublin will be picking the ball out of the net.

I believe Declan o Sullivan has been injured most of the year, other than the 1st half V Cork, he has been a bit player, just does not seem himself, little or no covering back, some very lazy tackling.

Limerick never physically touched Kerry, Mayo did and it threw them off their game, expect more of the same on Sunday.

When Kerry won the All-Ireland two years ago, the had Dara O Se, Kinelley, Tommy Walsh and Galvin and Tommy Griffin(ii think) starting, You can not replace those five. I have felt that Kerry's midfield is venerable all year, How a guy who could not get his place corner forward is now starting midfielder has to be a concern. The only decent midfield he came up against was Cork and look what happened in the second half of that game.

Looking forward to being there and hoping for a good game, flying out tonight.

Ciarrai_thuaidh

ttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=av3dN5hTiUk&feature=relat ed

26 years after a Kerry team with a lot of mileage on the clock met a supposedly hungrier, fitter team from the capital, we are back here again. One thing that struck me in the above clip (apart from the unnecessarily short shorts the players wore!) is the similarities between then and now. Kerry, like then, have a big target man at full forward. They have an ageing backline that people have written off as over the hill/exploitable, they are facing into their 8th final in 10 years (85 team facing into their 9th in 11 years).
Less than 48 hours to go before these 2 old rivals join battle again, I am nervous, excited, but pretty confident. We have the experience, we have the hunger, we have the Gooch. We are the Kingdom. Roll on 3.30 Sunday!
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...