Tyrone - Is this the end?

Started by Orangemac, August 07, 2011, 10:55:21 PM

That last paragraph is nonsense. Offer his support to his neighbours? How do you who he's supporting? Where did he say he wasn't hoping Donegal win? Why can he not give his opinion on decisions?

You're missing the point re Roscommon. He's saying Tyrone fans had unrealistic expectations this year and some thought beating Roscommon was a sign they were All Ireland material again all of a sudden. Don't be so sensitive.

Reading between the lines it will be hard for him to get over his bitterness. Not missing the point "what have they done?" maybe he should have used the word recently! if something like that was said by a poster here or elsewhere i would totally ignore it but it was said by a former All-Star that played in that era when Roscommon were fairly decent & BTW Tyrone fans had unrealistic expectations before they played Roscommon.

snippets

Coney, mc kenna harte are 3 outstanding talents
this bus aint gonna drive itself.

To be fair though, what the f**k have roscommon won??

they won a minor final a few years back. They are still celebrating it, god love them.
The bar for "sucesss" is very low in Roscommon.

Any time we think of celebrating that Minor win ... the sight of Kerrymen crying always comes back to make us feel guilty.

As for Trileac... i'd say they're fairly loaded down with honours up your way alright ;)
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 26, 2011, 08:46:35 PM
they won a minor final a few years back. They are still celebrating it, god love them.
The bar for "sucesss" is very low in Roscommon.

'Tis a sad sad day when Sheehy fishes for victims from another county on a Tyrone thread. Have we slipped that far Mike?

Quote from: ONeill on August 25, 2011, 11:47:16 PM
I know you're not meant to say certain things now in case you offend the sensitive, but there's a lot of merit in what he said. He didn't mean any disrespect to Roscommon - he was just saying some people got carried away after that game and beating Roscommon doesn't make you an All-Ireland contender. Beating Tyrone now doesn't make you an All-Ireland contender either.

The Tyrone talent - Tyrone seemed to be producing players (good footballers with excellent basic skills) who knew how to play a system from U16. But there didn't seem to be any outstanding talents along the lines of a Stephen O'Neill or Brian McGuigan - players who can win you All-Irelands.

Tyrone were due a beating I agree and also the point about Donegal is also true.

I wouldnt take offence to the comment about Roscommon. I think its clear he meant in recent times and not referring to the Earley/McManus/Keegan etc years. Tyrone have won 3 AI seniors and multiple underage titles in the last decade in a half so compared to that we've won nothing.

That being said McGuigan senior often comes across as a bitter old windbag. I clearly remember him as a truly exceptional player. That Ulster final performance was probably the best individual one ever. He is similar to Spillane in that vein. Another legend of the game who's legacy will now to be remembered as a cranky ould man.

Pity they couldnt have the class when retired to be like a Jack O'Se or Dermot Earley (RIP) or even Peter Canavan who when they do have something to say its either positive or if its criticism its constructive and intelligent.

Yeah Mike Sheehy. Our bar isnt as high as yours. Who's is? But our day will come.
Hope it stays fine for ya. Probably wont for much longer though.

Seeing as we are on a Tyrone thread unfortunately your bar for success is a little tarnished choking against them 3 times though isnt it? In either puke football or class football when they were at their peak and ye at ye'ers ye couldnt match them. You really should set your bar higher Mike.

Quote from: ross matt on August 26, 2011, 09:24:36 PM

Seeing as we are on a Tyrone thread unfortunately your bar for success is a little tarnished choking against them 3 times though isnt it? .

Wouldnt mind if we choked 3 times against somone and won the All Irl each year after Matt. :)

Still tá ár lá ag teacht le cúnamh Dé. 8)
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on August 26, 2011, 10:29:44 PM
Quote from: ross matt on August 26, 2011, 09:24:36 PM

Seeing as we are on a Tyrone thread unfortunately your bar for success is a little tarnished choking against them 3 times though isnt it? .

Wouldnt mind if we choked 3 times against somone and won the All Irl each year after Matt. :)

Still tá ár lá ag teacht le cúnamh Dé. 8)

They only won it coz we let them Rossie.  ;D ;D

Hard to know about talent making it through to Senior level. Coney seems to be on the right track. Will hopefully stay injury free and be given a regular spot next year. We need someone who can shoot from distance.

Ronan O'Neill seems like an outstanding prospect. Have not seen much of him in club football so don't know if he is near getting a senior county run.

Mattie Donnelly certainly has the size now and a considerable amount of skill nwoild expect him to feature in 2012.

What about Grugan and Harry Og? Will they skip u21 in 2012 and go straight to senior?

I think Tyrone had a big part to play in the debacle of a game that unfolded today. Is this type of football the true legacy that they leave behind ?

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 29, 2011, 12:41:02 AM
I think Tyrone had a big part to play in the debacle of a game that unfolded today. Is this type of football the true legacy that they leave behind ?

That's more like it!

Good man Mike.
Like myself, yer getting back to yourself.

Just listened to 3 auxillary ladies here in the hospital nattering about the match. Class stuff
Giving out stink about Donegal and their dirty tactics all day. Then yer man diving as if he was punched in the face. Its hilarious listening to "older" ladies discussing the ins and outs of GAA football

The auld birds know their football