All-Ireland SFC Quarter Final Mayo v Cork

Started by RedandGreenSniper, July 24, 2011, 04:26:17 PM

Fine win by Mayo great to see the under dog win & leave pundits with egg on there face.

Just back in now, fantastic win for Mayo. Hopefully we can show the same steel against Kerry. Thought Trev and Andy were great today, but it was terrific performace all over the pitch. The man marking and the hits put in by Mayo were as good as the class football played today. Cork were not bad, Mayo just didn't allow them to look good. That penalty was a disaster, a free out in my opinion. I will keep quite on the turnover to allow the second Cork goal, water under the bridge and all that. I thought the ref. was very liberal in handing out yellows to Mayo and shy enough when it came to handing them out to the Cork lads.

Well done lads.

Did us proud.

Fantastic. I love the GAA.

Delighted for Mayo, and all the Mayo lads on here, and delighted for Connacht football as a whole. We laugh at the Mayo lads for their collective neuroses, but they regularly get days like this, which a lot of counties would kill for. (My own included).

Delighted that the win went to the team that rolled up their sleeves and battled for every single ball. They wiped Cork out in the area where Cork are strongest and they should build statues to the two O'Sheas in Breaffy.

I hope they don't crash to earth against Kerry, but it certainly is a two fingers to every pundit and prognosticator, myself included. Well done to ye lads, 100% deserved, and 100% the better team on the day.

Fair play to the Mayo fans as well.
They made the crowd sound twice as big as it was.

what a performance by the lads today absolutely brilliant and even better that i had a few quid on them as well . don't know where to start great peformance all over the pitch plus we played a lovely brand of football lots of kickpassing and early balls into the forwards plus we hit hard and fair and really rattled the cork players. Off for a few pints now to talk some football  ;) 

Football is 80% in the head and mayo  believed today. Fair fucks to them.

Chimley

I wonder will Pat upgrade Connacht from Junk status?

Sheedy

thats 1 way for cork to avoid being beaten by the kingdom in the semis again. ;)

Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 31, 2011, 06:54:53 PM
Football is 80% in the head and mayo  believed today. Fair f**ks to them.

No wonder Kerry people have such big heads.

blast05

Quote from: Chimley on July 31, 2011, 07:09:00 PM
I wonder will Pat upgrade Connacht from Junk status?
Who gives a shit
I thought we would be in contention with 10 to go but never dreamed we had the mental fortitude to seal the deal.
Kerry lads are all on with the fake talk on the train here ... saying it will be a tough semi but thinking different.

Quote from: mckieran on July 31, 2011, 05:41:02 PM
? Mayo didnt do anything to suggest in Connacht that they were capable of putting in such a performance.

They bet us didnt they?
The hoors played well today but Cork were not good to say the least.
1-3 to 0-1 up and lost by 4 on the scoreboard but really deserved to lose by much more.
Still the MWR bucks burst every gut today and are well desreving of their success. Hopefuly that wasn't their All Ireland as the last thing Ireland needs is feckin Kerry sauntering to another title.

And of course Andy Moran ( Ballagh , Co Roscommon) was man of match. ;D
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Cosmo Kramer

Quote from: AZOffaly on July 31, 2011, 06:43:29 PM
Fantastic. I love the GAA.

Delighted for Mayo, and all the Mayo lads on here, and delighted for Connacht football as a whole. We laugh at the Mayo lads for their collective neuroses, but they regularly get days like this, which a lot of counties would kill for. (My own included).

Delighted that the win went to the team that rolled up their sleeves and battled for every single ball. They wiped Cork out in the area where Cork are strongest and they should build statues to the two O'Sheas in Breaffy.

I hope they don't crash to earth against Kerry, but it certainly is a two fingers to every pundit and prognosticator, myself included. Well done to ye lads, 100% deserved, and 100% the better team on the day.

Cheers AZ, two fingers up to a whole lot of clueless dickheads in the media today indeed. A win for Connacht football as well as for Mayo, hope we get some respect from now on. Still no expectations for the semi, all we ask is that they give their all and leave the field with no regrets. The is the beginning of a new era for us, it will take a while for this team to peak.

I travel a fair bit to watch Mayo play and sitting in Dublin Airport as I am right now, I know that it's days like today that make it worth every bit of the effort. So thanks to the team, management and everybody involved for their effort and performance in Croke Park today.

How many people at the start of the year would have believed you if you said that Mayo would beat Cork twice in 2011?

An Gaeilgoir

In Kinnegad on the way home. Well done to James Horan and his team. The players have shown us all what they are about. The chest is well out this evening! Unreal!