All-Ireland SFC Quarter Final Mayo v Cork

Started by RedandGreenSniper, July 24, 2011, 04:26:17 PM

Capt Pat

A big win for Mayo. They are beginning to see the results of some of the minor teams they had in the last few years bringing progress at senior level. Aidan OSe and O'Connor could be there for the next 10 -12 years for them.

bcarrier

Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 31, 2011, 05:30:38 PM
Because Cork can't help acting the knackers when they are being beaten. Sneaky lot with the fists.

true

NP 76

Great performance from Mayo outstanding all over the field . Miskella deserved it always at that sneaky hitting off the ball . O Leary not as effective when he picks up an early yellow . Well done Mayo

FL/MAYO

Well done Mayo, they fought for everything I couldn't ask for more

Typical Mayo, honest, hard work, committed display and edge a thriller against the favourites. All they have to do now is flop against Kerry.

mckieran

An excellent display by Mayo in fairness.

I thought TV3 really under estimated the performance of Trevor Mortimer. From what I could gather, it was him that was marking Paddy Kelly. I dont think I ever saw Kelly have such a quiet game. Mortimer got on the ball time & time again and set up a lot of Mayo attacks. He rarely wasted any ball he had. While Moran was excellent, Mortimer would have been my MOTM.

This whole "Nobody gave us a chance" argument from Mayo is a bit annoying. Many people suggested Mayo could put in a good performance today. Everybody predicted Cork but why shouldnt they? Mayo didnt do anything to suggest in Connacht that they were capable of putting in such a performance.

As impressive as Mayo were today, I can't see them beating Kerry at all.

Quote from: mckieran on July 31, 2011, 05:41:02 PM
An excellent display by Mayo in fairness.

I thought TV3 really under estimated the performance of Trevor Mortimer. From what I could gather, it was him that was marking Paddy Kelly. I dont think I ever saw Kelly have such a quiet game. Mortimer got on the ball time & time again and set up a lot of Mayo attacks. He rarely wasted any ball he had. While Moran was excellent, Mortimer would have been my MOTM.

This whole "Nobody gave us a chance" argument from Mayo is a bit annoying. Many people suggested Mayo could put in a good performance today. Everybody predicted Cork but why shouldnt they? Mayo didnt do anything to suggest in Connacht that they were capable of putting in such a performance.

As impressive as Mayo were today, I can't see them beating Kerry at all.

I dont think kerry should be mentioned really. That was a great performance by Mayo today. Should have won by a lot more.

PadraicHenryPearse

Never thought i would be happy for a Mayo win. TV3 pundits are fairly shite. This was a great game of football, Ref i thought was brilliant let alot go, it was a hard game and when Mayo put it up to Cork physically and they won. Cork weren't bad just Mayo didn't let them play their game and never tired.

All this neagtive stuff about connacht football should be put to bed. Conditions for the Mayo-Galway and Mayo-Ros game were terrible and were just to to be won there was never going to be great football at them. Great game of actual football yesterday for 50-60 minutes from Ros and today from Mayo. Good luck against Kerry

Well done Mayo, played some lovely football.
Take the field with the same attitude against Kerry and you're in with a shout.

haze

Fair play to Mayo. Great performance overall but defence deserves a special mention. Paddy Kelly was never marked as well. Moran is some outlet- never hides in any game

Standard of football might not be as high as the Tyrone/Kerry and lesser extent Armagh era of 2002-2008 but this levelling off in standards has reintroduced an element of surprise. Great for the neutrals

Quote from: Jinxy on July 31, 2011, 05:53:02 PM
Well done Mayo, played some lovely football.
Take the field with the same attitude against Kerry and you're in with a shout.

Jinxy, as you say they were showing the 'Love'.

Donkeys don't win Derbys. We had Cork sussed our years ago. Well done  mayo great day in Croker

Well done to mayo. They played with great intensity and totally deserved the win. Cork looked clueless in the 2nd half. Hopefully mayo won't do their usual and lie down against Kerry.